We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff to go with expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Gettysburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1280 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff to go with expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I can always expect the same quality experience at Hampton regardless of location. What I appreciated at this location was the friendliness of the manager, attendants, and breakfast server. They all appeared eager to assist in any way possible. With the king size room also came a bar counter/sink, fridge and microwave. The room was cozy and well decorated. The only issue I have with Hampton is the noise from hard closing doors. The noise created by the latching in the hall reverbates into our quiet room. With the fire code standards, I understand that the door into the room must have a crack underneath, thus allowing sound to enter, but other hotels overcome the noise in different ways, i.e. designing a foyer to absorb the noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. There is a stop light along York Rd (Rt. 30). So when cars wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our trip was for pleasure in the Gettysburg area. This hotel was a good value for a family of 4 as it included breakfast in the morning. We were visituing the Liberty ski area and the drive was about 20 minutes to the slopes. You would need transportation to visit the historic Gettysburg areas as well as the surrounding towns. The hotel is close to restaurants and some shopping.
The room we booked had been renovated, but the lobby and main floor areas were still under some constructiuon. This did not adversely affect our stay. Parking lot is only in back of the building and it got full while we were there. Breakfast was good and provided a variety for everyone. This seemed smaller and not quite as nice as other Hamptons but it was clean and friendly and served us well.

Room Tip: We were a bit crowded in the two double room, I would suggest the queen bed rooms for more than two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison_B855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This Hampton inn is well kept, clean, great staff and rooms with comfortable beds.It is not in the historical part of town so it you want to walk around at night you will have to drive downtown. But it's located across from the outlet mall on rt 30, right off of rt 15, wich is very convenient The parking lot is in the back, so you come though the back of the hotel not the front.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crittenden,virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hampton inn is well kept, clean, with comfortable beds. It is not in the historical part of town so it you want to walk around at night you will have to drive downtown. It's located across from a shopping center on rt 30, right off of rt 15.The parking lot is in the back, so you come though the back of the hotel not the front.

Room Tip: there is really nothing to look at in this area so really does not matter about a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

About two months ago we reserved the suite with fireplace for a holiday treat and anniversary get away. We were about an hour away when we received a phone call from the Hampton telling us that they were under construction to renovate the breakfast room - the construction had just been approved the day before which was the excuse for the late call - and there would be a lot of noise. We were given the choice of getting a downgraded room at Hilton Gardens or a reduced rate on the suite. I seriously love Hampton Inns. We had a wonderful time the year before and loved the suite. One of the main reasons we choose the Hampton was because we loved this room. Perhaps I could have understood better if they had given us advance notice, but two hours before we were to check in and on the road to our destination seems unforgivable. We had rearranged work schedules and gone to a lot of trouble to plan this trip, something Hampton management did not seem to care about. I am so disappointed because I really love the Hampton but this experience has me totally disillusioned. We choose to return home but we will pursue this further.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank janlud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GettysburgGM, Manager at Hampton Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by our renovations and for the short notice you were given. We hope you will not let this experience tarnish your opinion of us and that you will consider staying with us again so we may show you the quality service and accommodations you expect from us the next time you plan a getaway. We appreciate your input and look forward to seeing you back.

Thank you,
Tim Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
150 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Gettysburg Hampton Inn is a solid, well-run, clean, comfortable hotel - as good as you get in the Hampton chain The rooms are large. The bed was very solid and comfy. Everything worked in the bathroom. We had a reasonable price. The breakfast is above average for this sort of hotel, with plenty of fresh fruit. The staff were friendly and helpful.
My only reservation is that it's next to a shopping center on a major route (though the hotel manages to be quiet). You can walk to a Walmart, to a pharmacy, and some chain restaurants. But that's probably not what you came to Gettysburg for. If driving everywhere doesn't bother you, then it's no problem. The battlefriend is just a 10 minute drive away. But central Gettysburg is a pleasant 19th century town, and other hotels allow you to stroll around from your hotel.
On the other hand, Hampton Inn is right where Rtes. 15 and 30 meet, so it's convenient on arrival and departure. Your call.
(One minor gripe: the exercise room just has three cardio machines. No weights. And don't expect a real pool: it's too small to swim laps.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcopolo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, IN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Bed was great. Room was clean. Good TV. Good service. Breakfast was OK.

Overall, the hotel was very good.

We were placed in the ground floor "family suite". Major issues.... exercise room is next door. Treadmill... at 6:00 AM sounded like and elephant stampede. I wanted to sleep... but couldn't since the elephant wanted to exercise. Maybe the front desk could have warned us or placed us on a different floor.

The bathroom door hinge needed oil... of course we found this out in the middle of the night when the rest of the family made trips to the potty. 4 potty trips... and we were all woke up 4 times.

Room Tip: Don't choose the family suite on first floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaSub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,922 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
#10 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#4 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Address: 1280 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing