We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“president weekend trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Gettysburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1280 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2x Points
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Johnson City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“president weekend trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This Hampton inn is well kept, clean, great staff and rooms with comfortable beds.It is not in the historical part of town so it you want to walk around at night you will have to drive downtown. But it's located across from the outlet mall on rt 30, right off of rt 15, wich is very convenient The parking lot is in the back, so you come though the back of the hotel not the front.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    130
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
197
128
22
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
crittenden,virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hampton inn is well kept, clean, with comfortable beds. It is not in the historical part of town so it you want to walk around at night you will have to drive downtown. It's located across from a shopping center on rt 30, right off of rt 15.The parking lot is in the back, so you come though the back of the hotel not the front.

Room Tip: there is really nothing to look at in this area so really does not matter about a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

About two months ago we reserved the suite with fireplace for a holiday treat and anniversary get away. We were about an hour away when we received a phone call from the Hampton telling us that they were under construction to renovate the breakfast room - the construction had just been approved the day before which was the excuse for the late call - and there would be a lot of noise. We were given the choice of getting a downgraded room at Hilton Gardens or a reduced rate on the suite. I seriously love Hampton Inns. We had a wonderful time the year before and loved the suite. One of the main reasons we choose the Hampton was because we loved this room. Perhaps I could have understood better if they had given us advance notice, but two hours before we were to check in and on the road to our destination seems unforgivable. We had rearranged work schedules and gone to a lot of trouble to plan this trip, something Hampton management did not seem to care about. I am so disappointed because I really love the Hampton but this experience has me totally disillusioned. We choose to return home but we will pursue this further.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GettysburgGM, Manager at Hampton Inn Gettysburg, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by our renovations and for the short notice you were given. We hope you will not let this experience tarnish your opinion of us and that you will consider staying with us again so we may show you the quality service and accommodations you expect from us the next time you plan a getaway. We appreciate your input and look forward to seeing you back.

Thank you,
Tim Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
141 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Gettysburg Hampton Inn is a solid, well-run, clean, comfortable hotel - as good as you get in the Hampton chain The rooms are large. The bed was very solid and comfy. Everything worked in the bathroom. We had a reasonable price. The breakfast is above average for this sort of hotel, with plenty of fresh fruit. The staff were friendly and helpful.
My only reservation is that it's next to a shopping center on a major route (though the hotel manages to be quiet). You can walk to a Walmart, to a pharmacy, and some chain restaurants. But that's probably not what you came to Gettysburg for. If driving everywhere doesn't bother you, then it's no problem. The battlefriend is just a 10 minute drive away. But central Gettysburg is a pleasant 19th century town, and other hotels allow you to stroll around from your hotel.
On the other hand, Hampton Inn is right where Rtes. 15 and 30 meet, so it's convenient on arrival and departure. Your call.
(One minor gripe: the exercise room just has three cardio machines. No weights. And don't expect a real pool: it's too small to swim laps.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, IN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Bed was great. Room was clean. Good TV. Good service. Breakfast was OK.

Overall, the hotel was very good.

We were placed in the ground floor "family suite". Major issues.... exercise room is next door. Treadmill... at 6:00 AM sounded like and elephant stampede. I wanted to sleep... but couldn't since the elephant wanted to exercise. Maybe the front desk could have warned us or placed us on a different floor.

The bathroom door hinge needed oil... of course we found this out in the middle of the night when the rest of the family made trips to the potty. 4 potty trips... and we were all woke up 4 times.

Room Tip: Don't choose the family suite on first floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I have been travelling to Gettysburg, PA since 1975, and consequently have stayed at a number of motels. This one has now become our favorite. It is impeccably clean and well maintained. The staff, from the desk people, to the maids and breakfast attendants, are personable, efficient and very competent. The bed was the most comfortable motel bed in which we have ever slept, and the pillows were comfortable as well. The rooms have little extra amenities, such as a hook outside the shower, for hanging towels, or whatever. Plenty of towels are provided, and the room itself has a closet (with doors), refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV. There is also a computer desk area with WIFI and desk chair.

Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had- scrambled egss, egg, cheese and bacon bagels, hot oatmeal already prepared, make your own waffles, danishes, bagels, toast, fresh fruit (as in cut up for a salad), yogurt, dry cereals, 4 juices and coffee. The breakfast attendant was continuously wiping off the tables, making sure everything was well supplied and asking guests if they were finding what they wanted.

There is also an indoor pool at this motel. Parking is free on the premises in a lot directly behind the motel. There are four floors with sufficient elevators. Check-in and Check-out were a breeze.

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trappe, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

While visiting Gettysburg we reserved two rooms at the Hampton Inn in Gettsburg Pa. The Rooms were very spacious, extremely clean and comfortable. The Breakfast Bar was really good and the food was good. This was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#9 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
Hilton Garden Inn Gettysburg
#8 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#6 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
#17 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#4 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Address: 1280 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.