We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, somewhat grim location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Gettysburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1280 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Gettysburg
paris
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, somewhat grim location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Gettysburg Hampton Inn is a solid, well-run, clean, comfortable hotel - as good as you get in the Hampton chain The rooms are large. The bed was very solid and comfy. Everything worked in the bathroom. We had a reasonable price. The breakfast is above average for this sort of hotel, with plenty of fresh fruit. The staff were friendly and helpful.
My only reservation is that it's next to a shopping center on a major route (though the hotel manages to be quiet). You can walk to a Walmart, to a pharmacy, and some chain restaurants. But that's probably not what you came to Gettysburg for. If driving everywhere doesn't bother you, then it's no problem. The battlefriend is just a 10 minute drive away. But central Gettysburg is a pleasant 19th century town, and other hotels allow you to stroll around from your hotel.
On the other hand, Hampton Inn is right where Rtes. 15 and 30 meet, so it's convenient on arrival and departure. Your call.
(One minor gripe: the exercise room just has three cardio machines. No weights. And don't expect a real pool: it's too small to swim laps.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    88
    38
    16
    9
See reviews for
120
92
17
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, IN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Bed was great. Room was clean. Good TV. Good service. Breakfast was OK.

Overall, the hotel was very good.

We were placed in the ground floor "family suite". Major issues.... exercise room is next door. Treadmill... at 6:00 AM sounded like and elephant stampede. I wanted to sleep... but couldn't since the elephant wanted to exercise. Maybe the front desk could have warned us or placed us on a different floor.

The bathroom door hinge needed oil... of course we found this out in the middle of the night when the rest of the family made trips to the potty. 4 potty trips... and we were all woke up 4 times.

Room Tip: Don't choose the family suite on first floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I have been travelling to Gettysburg, PA since 1975, and consequently have stayed at a number of motels. This one has now become our favorite. It is impeccably clean and well maintained. The staff, from the desk people, to the maids and breakfast attendants, are personable, efficient and very competent. The bed was the most comfortable motel bed in which we have ever slept, and the pillows were comfortable as well. The rooms have little extra amenities, such as a hook outside the shower, for hanging towels, or whatever. Plenty of towels are provided, and the room itself has a closet (with doors), refrigerator, microwave and flat screen TV. There is also a computer desk area with WIFI and desk chair.

Breakfast was one of the best we have ever had- scrambled egss, egg, cheese and bacon bagels, hot oatmeal already prepared, make your own waffles, danishes, bagels, toast, fresh fruit (as in cut up for a salad), yogurt, dry cereals, 4 juices and coffee. The breakfast attendant was continuously wiping off the tables, making sure everything was well supplied and asking guests if they were finding what they wanted.

There is also an indoor pool at this motel. Parking is free on the premises in a lot directly behind the motel. There are four floors with sufficient elevators. Check-in and Check-out were a breeze.

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trappe, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

While visiting Gettysburg we reserved two rooms at the Hampton Inn in Gettsburg Pa. The Rooms were very spacious, extremely clean and comfortable. The Breakfast Bar was really good and the food was good. This was a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here before, and again, we were very happy with our accommodations this time around. The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. There were plenty of towels in the bathroom, and the room has an excellent set-up for PC's and other electronics. The staff was friendly and helpful; the lady at the Front Desk obviously knew the area and gave us a great local recommendation for dinner. We highly recommend staying here if you're visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The rooms were so clean and the bed was amazingly comfortable! When I return to Gettysburg I will absolutely look at staying here again! I liked that it was right off the highway and an easy ride to down town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkridge, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed at the Hampton with some friends for a wedding in October. This location was one of the last places to have space available for the weekend we needed. This said we were not sure what to expect. We were greated by a very warm and friendly front desk recentionist who knew who we were without us having to tell her. The wedding was at 3:00pm so we asked for early check-in which they accomodated with no problems. Mary at the front desk was very informative giving us tips on places to visit, places to eat and even driving options to the Links at Gettysburg for the wedding. With no taxis or buses in the area, they went as far as to offer to pick us up from the wedding venue if we needed it. Breakfast the next morning of omletes, bacon, waffles, bagels, etc, etc.. was warm and delicious. Most importantly the room was so unbelievably clean, sheets were fresh and crisp, the bathroom bright, every inch felt clean and ready for us when we walked in. All in all a great visit and I will be staying there on my next visit to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Address: 1280 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#13 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.