We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and spacious room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1280 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #6 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and spacious room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at this Hampton for two nights while we visited the Gettysburg area. Stayed on fourth floor in a King bedroom using our Hilton Honors points so not sure what the actually rack rate would be. Room was very large and roomy with a large flat panel TV for evening relaxation, a wet bar having refrig and microwave; clean bath with plenty of towels. We were at the end of the hall away from elevators which put us over-looking the highway. A little traffic noise early Mon AM due to trucks but Tues AM was much quieter. Since the area is developing, perhaps some large equipment was being moved around that first morning. Hampton puts vending in its own "room" on the floor and the elevators made little noise. Of course, we were traveling during late September and there were few families, so the hallways were very quiet. However, how our bed was situated in relationship to the room door, I doubt we would hear much anyway. All the hotel staff we came in contact with were very friendly and gracious 'hosts' during our stay. Hampton breakfast offers hot & cold items along with very fresh fruit; it was very good. Hotel was only a short drive to Gettysburg National Military Park, downtown Gettysburg (if you want to park and walk around to visit shops and restaurants). There is a Ruby Tuesdays restaurant across the road from the hotel; food and service were very good. Walmart and a few other chain stores nearby in case you need any supplies. Hotel has an indoor pool and small whirlpool surrounded by glass on the backside of hotel; we didn't use it but walked past as it can be seen from the parking lot. Looked like a place where a family could unwind after a day of touring. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are traveling as a couple or as a family.

Room Tip: Upper floor (only 4 floors at this hotel), not overlooking the highway may be the most quiet if traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    82
    36
    14
    9
See reviews for
114
87
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My wife and I had come up to spend a few days in Gettysburg and my hotel of choice was booked solid. I have never stayed in a Hampton Inn but my wife does so on a regular basis as a preference. We stayed four nights and it was a wonderful, wonderful experience. Room was very nice and very clean and the free breakfast was wonderful. The staff are second to none...the lady who works the front desk during the day was extremely helpful, friendly and customer oriented...a true pleasure. This will be the hotel I will stay at my next trip up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I'm a Hampton Inn loyalist. I'm usually never disappointed by the rooms, the comfortable bed, or the breakfast. It's a five minute drive to historic downtown where you can easily find parking. and it's usually affordable unless there's an event in town - that's when the prices get ridiculously high, beyond $200 a room. I know rooms are scarce in town when there's a re-enactment, but you've got to be kidding me. It's a Hampton Inn, not the Ritz Carlton. But the plus side is the very friendly and informative staff. I've stayed here up to ten times, and they always say "welcome back." That's service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Hampton Inns generally do not disappoint and are wonderful traveling hotels. The staff in Gettysburg was especially nice, the room well appointed (we like the ones with mini fridges). Very clean, quiet and easy to find.

Room Tip: This Hampton Inn is one of the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

After watching 4 of my son's soccer game at a recent tournament, it was nice to come home to this room. It is decorated very nicely and contemporarily. The breakfast in the morning exceeded my expectations. There were the usual cereals, pastries, make your own waffles, but they also had eggs and a creative egg, ham and cheese topped bagel. My son ate very well that morning.
My only complaint was that it wasn't very sound proof. I could hear everyone in the hallway and I could even hear someone's alarm go off in the morning. I am not a light sleeper, either.
Still, I would choose Hampton Inn again for the next time I travel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked two nights at this Hampton Inn to visit Gettysburg. We have stayed at Hamptons regularly but this one is certainly the noisiest. Initially we were given a room on the first floor with the road junction on one side and the ice machine on the other. We asked if we could move to a quieter room and we were moved to one at the back of the hotel NEXT TO THE ELEVATOR, unfortunately I think that this was deliberate. We don't normally ask to move rooms because of this and certainly feel that we suffered because of it.

The air conditioning unit was very noisy so we turned it off, unfortunately there was still a lound humming in the room, I don't know whether this was due to the elevator or someone else's air conditioning unit. Our room also overlooked a roof with more air conditioning units on it so it could have been any of these things. The noise was similar to a workman with a pneumatic drill, the room actually felt like it was vibrating. This completely ruined our stay.

Unless you are a heavy sleeper I wouldn't recommend it, which is a real shame as the lady on reception (not the person who gave us the room next to the elevator) was lovely.

Room Tip: Choosing another hotel seems to be the only option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I took my family on a vacation to Gettysburg at the end of July. Monday-Saturday. The staff was wonderful - nothing but good things to say about the staff of the entire hotel. The pool was great as well. Our room, however, was not what I was expecting. I have booked rooms before, and typically like to stay at Hampton's because you're almost always guaranteed a good night's sleep. The beds were great. However, for what I paid ($150/night), I was expecting a room with a kitchenette area, table, loveseat and chair, dresser, and workstation (in addition to tv, nightstand, bathroom, etc). What I got, however, was a "station" of sorts that housed a mini-fridge, microwave, and had two drawers about the size of those in a nightstand. For a room with two beds? Plus, there were no chairs / loveseat / coffee table, and the only chair in the room was the one for the workstation. The room was clean and nice,but it just wasn't worth $150/night. Maybe $110, but not $150.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask about room amenities before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Address: 1280 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
#10 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gettysburg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.