We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good example” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Gettysburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1280 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #9 of 29 hotels in Gettysburg
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good example”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a good example of how a "cheaper" chain hotel can offer high quality service, amenities and cleanliness. The rooms are nicely appointed, very comfortable beds and pillows and everything was spotless and clean.
The price was high for a Hampton even with a AAA discount, but this was in Gettysburg at the height of the tourist season, but the efficiency and friendliness of the staff and the comfort made it worth it.
If you are a tourist,you can access all the sites around Gettysburg very easily. Shops are close by for basic needs with your basic chain food places across the
street.
The front of the hotel is right on an intersection so if you like quiet choose a room facing the back of the hotel. Be prepared to haul your bags through the hotel since, for some reason, the parking is at the back of the hotel.
I recommend this as a good place to stay in this area

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    65
    34
    14
    9
See reviews for
94
73
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I have stayed in several places in Gettysburg. This is one of the nicer ones. Rooms were clean and neet. The staff was great! Right off Route 15. If you do not want to deal with the traffic in town this is a great place to stay, close to all the attractions,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Friendly staff and very comfortable rooms. Cocktail lounge is just off the lobby. Entire experience was good from check in to check out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have stayed at Hampton Inns many times. The rooms at this location were larger and decorated in a more modern and pleasing manner. Plenty of room to move around. A nice desk area with wardrobe, draw down blinds. Microwave/sink/reefer area, a large bathroom. The check-in process was without problem.

The included breakfast was good and plentiful, although the seating area was small. The exercise room could use some small weights.

We will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We only got to spend one night at the Hampton Inn Gettysburg, as this was a last second, spontaneous trip to see Gettysburg National Park. Upon arriving, the staff was friendly and the hotel was clean with plenty of parking. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable.

In the morning, a free breakfast was available, which was a nice bonus that we weren't even aware of as we booked this from the car while driving there. We'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Gettysburg. There may be some cheaper options out there, but from passing them on the road, they looked a bit undesirable, so it's worth it to pay the extra for this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

When possible we stay at Hampton Inns because of the comfortable beds, well appointed rooms and friendly staff. However, we were very disappointed with this Hampton Inn. I need to add we are members of Hilton Honors that allows us to have on file our room preferences in their reservation system. All times prior to this stay our preferences have been fulfilled. Our preference is simple, a quiet room away from the elevator and road traffic. Not an unreasonable request. Reservations for this stay was made a week in advance. We checked in by 3:00. At check-in the friendly hostess said if we are not completely satisfied with our room to let her know. I said as long as it is a quiet room we will be satisfied. We were put in room 300, end unit but facing the very busy Route 30--the 4 lane main road leading to downtown Gettysburg. The Inn is on the corner of a 4 way intersection, so we got to hear all the traffic stop and take off. As soon as we realized this, we called the front desk and expressed our dissatisfaction. Nothing could be done because the hotel was full. It is a Saturday night, there was basketball and baseball tournaments going on plus Gettysburg is a popular tourist stop. We had no choice to change rooms or hotels. As a consolation, $13.00 was deducted from the bill....give me a break. I would not recommend this specific HI if you want a good night's sleep due to all the road noise. Just down the road less than 1/4 of a mile on the left, set way back from the 4 lane road is a Hilton Garden Inn. I would recommend staying there instead of this Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: Unable to give a tip because the hotel won't honor your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cherry hill nj
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and I had a very plesent stay at this chain hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful and the area clean.
We had a great weekend

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gettysburg

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hampton Inn
Address: 1280 York Road, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#9 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gettysburg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Gettysburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.