We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Orange, NJ Okay place to stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Wilshire Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
1000 Stash Hotel Rewards bonus points with your stay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
GreenLeadersGold level
SCOTTSDALE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“West Orange, NJ Okay place to stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Property is clean, some floors are under renovation. Room was clean and spacious, the HVAC is noisy and turns on and off. Wireless internet is non existent on the 3rd floor. The front staff was curt and rude and not helpful. The restaurant attached is very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear April A,
Thank you kindly for posting your review on TripAdvisor. It is much appreciated. I'm sorry you had issues with the internet while you were here. We did reset the router once we saw this posting and I apologize that you were having issues with the wifi. Had we known while you were here we could have done it immediately to resolve that sections wifi issue. If you will be kind enough to reach out to me to discuss the matter of your dissatisfaction in detail I will extend a free night to you in the future to show you that whatever the issue was - this is not the norm for us at The Wilshire Grand Hotel and we will earn that "perfect score" with you.
Gratefully,
Ed Reagoso, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    70
    24
    14
    16
See reviews for
89
61
23
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

ZRG Partners had their 2014 Global Summit at The Wilshire Grand Hotel this month and I wanted to take an opportunity to let the staff there know that they did a great job making our event a success. Jac'Lynn Johnson, my Convention Services Manager was a huge help to me in the organization and execution of our program. She worked tirelessly beside me throughout the event. Thank you Jac! You were awesome! Her banquet staff, Alan, Harold, Elba and Hermann were always on top of our food and beverage service. Thanks to each of you. I really appreciate your hard work. The chef's menus were delicious and I received many positive comments on the food. Thank you Chef! Also, the folks at the front desk did a great job in checking in our guests. Thank you to Cheri and Brian. A special thanks goes out to Bill Andreorio, my Director of Sales. He was instrumental in our contract negotiations to book our program and I appreciate all of his patience with me.

The hotel itself is a beautiful venue for any wedding, convention, etc. The ballrooms are beautifully decorated with chandeliers, tasteful carpet and spacious. The guestrooms are spacious and very comfortable.

Thanks all for a great event.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Marym4841,
We really appreciate your comments. By now it's no secret that we measure our success via our TripAdvisor ratings. We have been # 1 in West Orange since February 2008 and have held the Certificate of Excellence with TripAdvisor since 2010. I will be sure to thank and reward each team member noted in your review as I always do and I thank you for taking the time to post this fantastic review!
Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campton, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I stayed here for one night and found this to be a really great hotel. My room was huge and clean (spotless). The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Nice little touches were everywhere, from the way they folded the towels to water bottles left in the room. A fridge and microwave in the room is always helpful when I travel. The staff members were pleasant and the breakfast offered plenty of choices (though no gluten-free bread of any kind).
The only drawback for me was that they have a late check-in (3:00 p.m.) and my workshop began at 3:00, so I wasn't able to freshen up after having driven six hours.
In any case, I'd highly recommend this hotel.

Green Features: There were nice-looking, clean recycling containers in the rooms.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear WhiteMountainsF,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Your time is much appreciated. No one has ever asked for gluten free items except for on a few special occasions when we knew in advance of the guests arrival. We can and will always accommodate our guests needs when we know in advance and any one with special requirements is welcome to call me personally prior to their stay and make me aware of their needs. Now that you (and many others) know this about us, I hope to begin getting more calls so I can fulfill special requests such as this. My direct line is 862-252-8440. I thank you for alerting me to this and for letting us know how we performed.

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We really enjoyed our one-night stay. The staff were welcoming, and the room was very clean, attractive and comfortable. Nice shower, and handy to have refrigerator and microwave in room. The complementary cookies and beverages in the lobby were a nice touch. Breakfast was great - a good selection of pastries, hot and cold drinks, cereals, hot dishes, fruit, etc. Thank you!

Green Features: They take the trouble to be "green' -- good to see.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Kermitbrit,

Thank you so much for your wonderful words. We depend on our guests real opinions and TripAdvisor verifies every one of them that gets posted to insure there are no phony ones unlike many others. Simply google it and you will see there are no others like TripAdvisor. This is why we LOVE TripAdvisor! We've been # 1 in West Orange since February 2008 thanks to guests like you that post reviews because you want everyone to know how we performed!

Thank you so very much and if it's not too late, Have a GREAT and PROSPEROUS 2014!

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

looks like a done up holiday inn. rooms are nice, free breakfast in the morning. Kinda has like an old school look in the rooms...like your grandma house or something. big modern bathroom though......

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Jeff T,

Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I'm not really sure what to say about the "done up Holiday Inn" comment other than I unfortunately, disagree with you. I believe that was a compliment but I'm not really sure? My grandmas house certainly didn't look like our guestrooms but I guess that's subjective. Your description "old school" can be interpreted many ways as well. If you mean "classic" as in not chrome, glass, or modern then I agree. We have a traditional classic design and feel focusing on comfort. I do appreciate that you liked our big bathroom and our free breakfast. If you would kindly reach out to me to discuss your actual experience I would truly appreciate it. Best in 2014 to you and your family!
Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenolden, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

After a long, fun filled day in NYC with the kids and grandchildren, and a mere 33 minute drive to the Wilshire Grand- our family had made another great Christmas memory. We are always a late check in and the staff couldn't be more accommodating. Hot Cappucino, coffee, hot chocolate were ready for our cold, tired crew and then we went to our gorgeous, immaculate rooms. The hotel also had 3 weddings last weekend so excitement was in the air. Breakfast was great as well. Always a pleasure!!
See you in 2014!!!

Regina La Grossa and family

Room Tip: No bad rooms- stayed several times-
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Regina L,

You're always so very kind and gracious. We love having you and your family here around the holidays. I am just so sorry I missed you due to my being on vacation. Yes, I missed you this year but I'm so happy you had such a great time. The city of New York is so beautiful this time of year - and how shrewd are you to stay with us for so much less than one might pay to be at a city hotel. Hope to see you soon! Best to you and the family of course! Happy New Year!!

Your friend, Ed Reagoso, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Exceeded our expectations and then some staff was above and beyond helpful!!! I ran into issues booking online, called and was taken care of super fast stayed in the king jacuzzi with the pampered in pink package the room was clean spacious the presentation of flowers champaign and chocolate only let the way for the delicious dinner and relaxing rest of the evening. Every one on the staff from check in to check out was pleasant as well as helpful will be back soon just because of the service given by all. A+++ thank you for a beautiful evening
Marcel

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Willstay,

Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review. We've been rated # 1 in West Orange since February 2008 and we wear that patch proudly being an independently owned and operated boutique hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly prior to or after reserving your next stay so I may have the opportunity to upgrade you to one of our fine suites at no extra charge for becoming a BIG FAN!

Happy New Year!

Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wilshire Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Address: 350 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilshire Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Wilshire Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Grand West Orange
Hotel Wilshire Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wilshire Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.