We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreal value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Wilshire Grand Hotel to your Saves list
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
GreenLeadersGold level
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unreal value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Checked in for a 1 night stay before going to Manhatten. Room was clean, spacious, and gorgeous. One of the best hotels I have stayed at and the value put it over the top. If your looking for a nice hotel close to the city try this over the overpriced, tiny manhatten hotels.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Geoff M,

Thanks so much for posting your terrific review on TripAdvisor. We feel the same way about the value of our product and we're just delighted to see it memorialized by our guests. We also have free shuttle service to South Orange & Montclair Train Stations when scheduled in advance with our front office. This is a quick and cheap way to get to Manhattan from the hotel. Please drop by and say hello on your next trip so I may thank you in person for becoming a "Big Fan."

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    70
    24
    14
    16
See reviews for
89
61
23
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went there for a wedding & spent the night. the place was beautiful the food out of this world. The staff was great. The breakfast the next morning was unreal eggs, waffles that you make for yourself bagels muffins oatmeal fruits coffee you name it they had it.I would recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Esther M,

Thank you so much for the terrific review that you posted. I know this may sound overused but we truly do appreciate anyone that stayed with us taking the time to post their review on TripAdvisor. We use these reviews in daily meetings as well as for training and we will continue to strive to be the very best in the area. Thank you so much for participating in our review process and acknowledging our effort!
Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Wilshire twice now in the last three months while on business in the NJ area. The hotel is excellent, the staff professional and personable. I highly recommend you consider the Wilshire. Jack from Texas

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Jack G,
On your next trip please stop by and introduce yourself. I would appreciate the opportunity to thank you personally for the terrific review you posted on TripAdvisor. We happen to think TripAdvisor is the best! Every guest stay is verified so you can always guarantee that their reviews are by real guests that stayed at your hotel. Your time is much appreciated and we anxiously wait to serve you again!

Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel is very appealing with spacious clean rooms with free WI FI, a very accomodating staff and a great restaurant on site. An added benefit is the free hot/cold breakfast as well as the extended happy hour(s) that provides free drinks and appetizers.

The only drawbacks are the small fitness center and no swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Brian G,
Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate you being part of our service measurement and rating process. We take each and every TripAdvisor Review to heart and speaking for my staff and I, we are truly delighted to see you have joined us. We anxiously await serving you again. Yes, I'm sorry we have no pool. A tip for future however, we do offer complimentary passes Monday through Friday to our local JCC that features some of the greatest wellness & fitness facilities in the area including an Olympic size pool! Just inquire at our front desk on your next trip!
Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stay several times a year. The staff is courteous and efficient. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. Close to major highways and roads. The restaurant at the hotel is excellent, and have eaten there often. It is also convenient to several excellent restaurants. Strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Kelbasikid,

Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor! Great TripAdvisor guests like yourself have voted us # 1 choice for lodging in West Orange since February 2008. We always appreciate the time it takes to submit these reviews and we thank you very much for participating personally in our review process!

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were at the hotel for 7 nights. My husband and I were there to celebrate a wedding at the hotel. We could not have asked for better service. Breakfast is sufficient. The Italian restaurant at the hotel is superb. Our only problem was that we opted not to rent a car so getting to and fro the train station was a challenge. However I would definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Linda B,

Thank you for posting your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Getting to & from South Orange Train Station can be a bit of a challenge. Tip for the future, set up your trip(s) in advance with our front desk and as long as we have advance notice we will schedule a driver accordingly providing the trips are after 7 a.m. and before 11 p.m. My staff and I do take great pride in our reputation and we very much appreciate your taking the time out of your busy day to post your TripAdvisor Review!

Sincerely,
Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip and could not have asked for anything more. The hotel and rooms are very clean and have everything you need, the guests are treated to a lovely abundant breakfast each morning by a very accommodating staff. The restaurant attached to the hotel is also excellent ...what a find! It was wonderful to be treated so nicely by a staff who knows the meaning of customer service!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
service1, General Manager at The Wilshire Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear BMR180,

Thank you very much for this glorious review. My team and I take every review to heart and we are thrilled to see it memorialized whenever we come across a raving fan's posting! We have been Rated # 1 in West Orange since February of 2008 and we will continue to strive to do our very best. Thank you for acknowledging our effort & success! Please contact me directly for a "BIG FAN Suite Upgrade" Certificate for your next stay with us!

Sincerely,

Ed Reagoso - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wilshire Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilshire Grand Hotel

Address: 350 Pleasant Valley Way, West Orange, NJ 07052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilshire Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Wilshire Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilshire Grand West Orange
Hotel Wilshire Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wilshire Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.