We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are Seton Hall parents and could not have had a better stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Northfield Avenue, West Orange, NJ 07052   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We are Seton Hall parents and could not have had a better stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

This past weekend was Parents Weekend at Seton Hall. Turtle Brook Inn was on the list of recommended hotels in the area, so we decided to give it a try. For a very reasonable cost, we got comfortable rooms, great beds and pillows (always important to us), WiFi, computer access in the lobby, great breakfast in the morning (included). The management and staff was extremely helpful, giving us advice on area attractions, restaurants, and offering directions. We plan to make this our spot when we visit our son at Seton Hall. Connecticut Seton Hall parents.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    18
    12
    12
See reviews for
41
14
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010 via mobile

My mates (friends)  and I stayed at the Best Western Turtle Brook Inn Hotel for the weekend. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff in reception. Our room was very clean and nice and warm. Lots of choices for breakfast and again lovely staff. The location of the hotel is perfect we will certainly be going back. Well done.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

we booked a block of rooms for my daughter's wedding party. the owners of the hotel were so kind and helpful. the hotel was immaculate and the rooms were lovely and roomy. they upgraded my daughter and her husband to the bridal suite which was huge. the owners spent a lot of time with us and helped us with our planning. i would highly recommend this hotel for any wedding group. their prices are so reasonable, there is shuttle service available to transport you to your venue, and breakfast is included in the price of the room. their location is very convenient to many of the wedding venues in the area. you can't go wrong with this Best Western hotel. it's great!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

This hotel is apparently owned by a husband and wife duo. Avoid the husband, if you do not wish to associate with a mentally unstable personality.

We checked in as part of a youth sports team/group and was told upon check-in by the wife manager that "they live on premises and monitor the property 24/7, so our team couldn't get away with anything during our stay". Being an Elite Team with very strict guidelines when traveling (curfew's, hotel conduct rules, etc.) and never having had a problem when traveling with the team, I was caught off guard that a hotel manager would come straight out and give me this warning immediately at check-in, so I just brushed off her warning.

Also while we were checking in at the hotel's front desk, the hotel managers had a dog openly running around and playing in the lobby. It was evident that this dog was a regular on premises, due to the posh dog bed visibly displayed in the manager's office directly located in the lobby. At this point, we did not realize that there were "no dogs allowed" on the property (especially since we had just seen and played with one in the front lobby!) While we were out unloading our vehicle in the parking lot, the male manager (apparently the husband of the management duo) was watching our every move on his cameras (on his computer from his Lobby office) and realized we had brought two (very miniature) toy-sized dogs with us (who, by the way, are 100% crate-trained). The male Manager came *out of the hotel to the parking lot*, approached us where we were unpacking our vehicle, and showed us immediately that he was incapable of discussing the matter of "no dogs allowed on premises" with us in a professional manner - Instead, his tone, verbage and behavior escalated to the point where his mental stability became very questionable, to the point of unstable and obsessive. We chose not to engage this type of behavior in conversation by way of ignoring him, so he finally walked away from us in the parking lot and went back inside the hotel. We finished unpacking then went to his office a few minutes later to attempt to speak to him on a professional/diplomatic level - politely knocking on his door and requesting to speak with him. To which, he continued to act terribly rude and borderline unstable, despite our best attempts to hold a diplomatic conversation with him. He asked us to leave his office, which we promptly (and quietly did). Upon us leaving his office, the male manager got up from his desk and directly followed us out of his office (as we were displeased, though peacefully walking away) and approached us (literally getting up in my husband's face) outside the office door and said, "I don't understand. What? Do you want to fight about this?". To which my husband responded, "What? Why are you asking me if I want to fight? I didn't bring that up." I was so appalled this male manager would literally come up to (and approach!) a Guest and ask "if they wanted to fight?". Seriously, who does that nowadays?

Upon check-out the next morning, we found that our credit card had been charged an additional $250 pet fee. When we asked about this additional charge, we were told (by the male manager) that he added the additional fee because he "saw our dogs come in to our room, though never saw the dogs leave". (side note: the crate-trained dogs stayed in their crate - in the CAR overnight - no big deal). So he charged us this extra $250 fee, why? We requested that this absurd fee be refunded, so after more of his dramatics, he said he refund the fee. According to my credit card statement - *This additional $250 fee has YET to be refunded*.

This hotel also clearly has signs posted stating: No smoking.
Upon checking in to our room, we went to our room which smelled terribly of smoke (obviously from someone having recently and/or just smoked in the room). The room was so bad, that one of my family members who is allergic to smoke ended up having to take asthma medication. We did our best to "air out the room" by opening the sliding glass door, though to minimal avail. If you have asthma and/or don't want a room that smells of fresh smoke, we would recommend you consider staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these West Orange hotels

NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

We had a wonderful experience with this hotel. Service was outstanding! We were made to feel welcome, check-in was a breeze(the cookie was a nice touch), and the staff went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. I have to mention a special note to the fact that when we left something after check out, they called me and arranged to have it mailed to my home. They did not have to do it, but they did, and I'm thankful.

The room and the bathroom was reasonably sized and it had no frills but it was clean and orderly. We had two double beds with a desk, small refrigerator, coffeemaker, hairdryer in the bathroom and even an iron/ironing board. The bed was comfortable and clean. There was free Wi-Fi in the room which was helpful in my catching up on emails. They had free breakfast which was more than decent and included waffles, bagels, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, etc. The free parking was a treat and this was convenient for us.

I would definitely stay here again whenever I'm in the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

I stayed here before when it was not affiliated with Best Western. Was glad to see it has been nicely renovated with tasteful modern classic furniture in the rooms, spotless bathrooms with granite counters, refrigerators, and really comfortable beds. The service was pleasant (they even give you a cookie when you check it), and there are nice perks like the morning breakfast and free internet in the lobby (a little slow but it works). I think there is wi-fi in the rooms but I'm not totally sure. They were also accommodating about giving us a quieter location (would recommend a second floor room facing away from the street.) My only quibble is that the building itself has a bit of a mildewy odor (pre-dating the renovation) which can't be helped. Overall a nice value and good place to stay if you're in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Excellent choice. buffet breakfast. coffee/tea, bagles,facilities on tap 24/7.as well as coffee maker in room. Room spacious with 2 double beds. Open plan breakfast room leading from reception which can also be used as a kitchen at night with a microwave available. Internet station(2 computers) available at no extra charge which was a bonus to us. Staff very friendly & courteous and none more so than the proprietors Brian & Paula who went out of their way to help two Irish guys. We stayed 5 days and have to say
our business was quite stressful but this hotel was so laid back we really didn't notice.
NewYork express bus stops right outside for a 40 min ride to the "Big Apple" if you don't wish to be in the middle of the ' hustle&bustle ' (unfortunately we didn't get to sample it on this occasion). For those who have kids,the hotel is located directly across the road from a zoo. All in all we had a terrific stay and it was the first time in all the hotels we've stayed in that we got a "hug " from the owner on departure !

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn

Address: 555 Northfield Avenue, West Orange, NJ 07052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 17 miles from New York City and close to all the exciting West Orange attractions, the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn offers friendly customer service, exceptional amenities and affordable rates for visitors staying in West Orange, New Jersey. Staying at this charming West Orange, New Jersey hotel means that you'll receive excellent customer service, cozy accommodations and affordable rates, in addition to easy access to key area attractions. The Turtle Back Zoo, Edison National Historic, South Mountain Recreation Complex, Codey Arena, St. Barnabas Hospital, Manor Restaurant, Prudential Center and New Meadowlands Stadium are all just a short drive away. Guests also have the option of taking a short day trip into New York City, just 17 miles away, to visit world famous sites. Seton Hall and Rutgers University are also close by the hotel, which makes the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn the perfect place to stay while visiting students or exploring campuses. Guests of the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn will find that each recently renovated guest room comes complete with all the comforts of home, including pillow top mattresses, cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Other amenities at this West Orange hotel also include a fitness center, complimentary continental breakfast each morning, guest laundry and an on-site coffee shop. Corporate guests traveling to the BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn will also appreciate the convenience of this West Orange hotel's business services and close proximity to area businesses, including Merck, Prudential, ADP and AT&T. Ready for an unforgettable and fun-filled vacation in West Orange, New Jersey? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Turtle Brook Hotel West Orange
Best Western West Orange
West Orange Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Turtle Brook Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.