We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McLoone's Boathouse

McLoone's Boathouse
9 Cherry Lane, West Orange, NJ 07052
(862) 252-7108
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
McLoone's Boathouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 87 Restaurants in West Orange
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Northfield Ave
Transit: NJ Transit 73
Description: Located within the South Mountain Recreation Complex, McLoone's Boathouse sits on the banks of the reservoir, showcasing spectacular views to our customers. McLoone's Boathouse features seating for 240 inside, with an additional 80 to 100 outside (FIRST COME, FIRST SERVE BASIS ONLY),as well as semi-private dining area that is perfect to host your next party, corporate function or other special event. Please know that reservations will only guarntee inside seating in our main dining rooms and does not include outside dining. Thank you!
West Orange, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Pricey, but well worthy it. Food was delicious, everyone in our party of five enjoyed the food and drinks. Staffs are nice and the atmosphere are awesome. Visited in October so wasn't able to sit outside, but I think it would be lovely during the summer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    61
    75
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Such potential but gross food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Live right near the restaurant and have given it many many chances. Food is bad. Sometimes comes out cold instead of hot, like it hasn't been microwaved enough to cook it through. Yes - microwaved and not freshly cooked . Flavor is lacking and there hasn't been one memorable meal. Everyone I have eaten there with has had the same complaints. Although the food is not good, the Drinks are solid. They make a great Bloody Mary and the outdoor area takes you away and for a few hours you can pretend you are on vacation and not in NJ. Just don't come hungry. Eat elsewhere so you won't be disappointed, but then come for a nice ambiance and lovely cocktails.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Enticeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have been here several times and never been disappointed. The décor is most inviting, the service is very good and the repast is top drawer. The menu is varied so there is something for everyone. There is a view of the lake and outdoor seating in season. This is a gem, don't miss it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston NJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I had to write this review even 6 months after my family ate here because it was sooo bad. This is possibly one of the worst restaurants/dinners at a somewhat (at least they proclaim to be) upscale restaurant, both in terms of service and food. We tried McCloone's since it is so close to our home and we had never been there. It was a mistake and a waste of good money.

We came on a Sunday night and it was pretty much empty. Yet, they sat us in the back after rearranging a table and some chairs, which was done, I assume, to accommodate a server's section. The entire night, the wait staff was going in and out of the room with the swinging doors next to our table, which was irritating. Other staff were leaving by the exit door also next to our table. It was a cold night so every few minutes we had a cool draft.

The staff was unsophisticated and just plain terrible, and the food was worse. He gave us some menu suggestions in the tone of what you might expect from as server at a popular chain restaurant. The restaurant was essentially empty and yet he was no where to be found throughout the night, unless he was bringing us food/drinks. It then took forever for our food to come. I had the crab cakes which were cold to luke warm when they arrived and were not particularly flavorful. My husband had the the ahi tuna which was the grade of an upscale chain restaurant at best. My other daughter had something that was not properly cooked (I cannot recall which dish) and had to be sent back. After asking for a manager about the food and service, we were given complimentary dessert which were also terrible.

On top of the poor service and food, McCloone is way over-priced even assuming the food was somewhat good. The ONLY redeeming aspect is the ambience which is warm with a lot of woodwork, fireplace and a rustic feel.

Looking forward to a new restaurant opening in the space -- soon!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a beautiful restaurant in an excellent location. Large stone fireplaces, heavy wood beams, and a spectacular view are highlights in this large restaurant. It is located between South Mountain Reservation and the Essex County South Mountain Recreation Complex (Turtle Back Zoo, Codey Arena, and Safari Mini-Golf). Behind the restaurant is a scenic lake (actually an unused resevoir) that now has rental boats available. The setting is picturesque. There is outdoor seating in good weather, and large windows for better views indoors. I have eaten there several times, most recently for an excellent Sunday brunch. Even though this restaurant is fairly large, reservations are definitely recommended for peak times (like Sunday brunch). During the brunch, there is a live jazz band playing... they are good, but depending where you are sitting you may not be able to see or hear them. The food selection is very good, featuring an array of seafood. You should easilly be able to fill your plate with delicious selections to your taste. The regular menu is pretty good too. In general, the food I've had there was good to very good; but there is room for improvement (especially for the price). The prices are above average, so the value isn't always there. The brunch has enough unlimited choices to make it a better value for the price ($35/person). Staff have been polite, but service has been average to a little slow. In general, this is a very good restaurant that could easilly be a great restaurant with a little more attention to the kitchen and pricing. Still, recommended (especially for the Sunday brunch or special occasions).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McLoone's Boathouse also viewed

 
West Orange, NJ
 

Been to McLoone's Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McLoone's Boathouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.