We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring your noise canceling machine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn West Orange

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn West Orange to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn West Orange
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   107 Prospect Avenue, West Orange, NJ 07052   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in West Orange
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bring your noise canceling machine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

For suburban N.J., it's a good place to stay. The rooms and public areas are clean and well appointed. The staff is friendly and helpful. The complementary breakfasts are plentiful. Compared to other nearby extended stay hotel accommodations, this is one of the better ones.

The only real problem is the poor acoustics, which is the fault of the original developer for being so cheap with the chosen construction methods. The gap below the doors to the room and the poor insulation value in the walls result in hearing every voice and every door open and close in the hallway, as well as alarm clocks, voices, furniture drawers opening and closing, running water, etc. from the adjacent rooms. The owners of this property, with their affiliation with Marriott, should upgrade these conditions. Only then would it deserve an excellent rating. Until that time, bring your noise canceling machine and ambien.

Room Tip: Second or third floor is a must, preferably in the rear of the building away from most of the traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    48
    8
    5
    7
See reviews for
53
30
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed here for a family event in Montclair. It didn't feel residence inn-like. We drove up and it looks like an event venue (in a good way). Staff was great, room was clean and large enough for four of us to share (at least for a weekend)-- all right, we could have used a second bathroom! comfortable lobby and dining area, nice atmosphere. Breakfast was included and just fine. Definitely more than I expected to find!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The property is very pretty, but I will never go back.

The good points

The hotel is very pretty and is next door to a country club and the Manor.

The kitchen staff was very friendly.

The pool was clean.

My room was clean when I arrived.

The bad points

They need better soundproofing in the rooms. If you were in the kitchen or living area you could hear everything going on in the hallway.

Like all Residence Inn's they offer breakfast every morning, but it isn't all that wonderful, although they do have real plates and metal spoons and forks.

They only give you dinner Mon-Wed most Residence Inn's give you dinner on Thursday night as well.

They don't have a shuttle bus. Most Residence Inn's and hotels have shuttles.

They have a bar on site. With a bar on site there were frequently people drinking in the common area including at meal times.

They don't have a large outdoor area. No place to get any outdoor exercise or for children to play. They have a small gym on site.

They have a fake playroom for children off of the laundry room. It was smaller than my closet at home.

Things specific to me.

I stayed in a room right by the bar and across from the meeting rooms. Most of the time it wasn't a problem, but on several occasions it was a problem. I had to deal with the loud noises coming from the meetings/parties in the meeting rooms. I had to deal with people who knocked on my door instead of the meeting room door. I had to deal with the people hanging out in front of my door talking loudly. They were sold out and couldn't move me for two nights as they were sold out. I declined and I searched for a new hotel.

I had a do not disturb sign on my door that was ignored. Maintenance staff came into my room and made a small repair, even though I had a sign on my door that stated that I didn't want to be disturbed.

I was double billed for one night. After 3 phone calls and a week later the issue still isn't fully resolved. I have spent more than 4 hours trying to fix the problem that they created and I still don't have a straight bill or things corrected with Marriott Rewards!

If you do stay there my suggestion is to not stay on the first floor near the meeting rooms or bar. For more than 200 a night for a 2 bedroom suite I expected and deserved a lot more.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor near the meeting rooms/bar unless you like to go to the bar or are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were lucky to find a room at this hotel during the stretch of time that our electricity was out following Hurricane Sandy. The hotel was completely booked, but all services were provided. The complimentary breakfast did seem a bit crowded, but there were plenty of seats available in a room opposite the breakfast area. It is a very old-fashioned building on the outside, but the inside is expansive and feels like a golf course club house. The indoor pool is clean and doesn't smell too much of chlorine. Hotel staff was incredibly friendly. I wish I got his name, but a staff member insisted on opening the doors for me on every floor of the stairwell I was climbing because my hands were so full of items taken from my house and brought to the hotel. Keep in mind that this is a pet-friendly property. You could hear dogs bark and see them all over the hallways, lobby, and parking lot. The front desk staff was very polite when asked to please contact a nearby room about a loud dog. The hotel is great for babies because they provided a pack-and-play crib, sheet, and blanket at no extra charge. Laundry services were available to do on your own or have it done for you. Dinner is complimentary three days per week, but we missed it due to timing. There is a nice bar on the lower level, and I saw many people sitting there and chatting with the bartender. There is plenty of parking. A Whole Foods and a K-Mart are located a short walk away, as well as other stores. A movie theater and a Macy's are a short drive down the road. Several restaurants are nearby.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the interior courtyard and there might be less noise from the parking lot, although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Let's face it. Most RI properties follow a standard cookie-cutter layout. Not so with this location. And what a pleasant surprise. Everything about this location, from the lobby to the "Hearth Room" and rooms, takes it head and shoulders above the rest. I was very pleasantly surprised and would stay here again if I my travels take be back.

Very conveniently located in between West Orange and Montclair. Plenty of shopping and restaurant opportunities to be found nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We needed a place to stay because we had no power due to Sandy and Holly, the sales manager, welcomed us with open arms and great smile. It was extremely hard to get rooms anywhere in the state but Holky came through and got us a room for 4 days. Just enough until our power came back. Room was great and an amazing breakfast was included. They also allow pets so we were able to bring our dog. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I travel. A lot. And I've stayed at many a Residence Inn. This one truly takes the cake!

Most hotels of this brand are pretty standard. You know you'll get a living area, a kitchen, a free breakfast.

But this one goes above and beyond. It's in a beautiful, old (in an antique way) building that actually has more of an upscale feel to is. The rooms are larger than most peer hotels, and the kitchen had an actual OVEN, but just a stovetop. The workout room has more variety than most and actually overlooks the pool. And the pool is higher quality than your standard Residence Inn.

But where this place really excels is in the details. An exceptionally helpful and warm front desk staff. An evening happy hour that's a REAL dinner, not the usual chef boyardee quality (BBQ night consisted of pulled pork on toasted buns, corn on the cob, a caprese salad, and real cheesecake dessert. Shazam.). A TRAY to bring down to breakfast and dinner so that you don't have to do the usual balancing act trying to carry your food back to your room. And REAL goblet wine glasses, not those muddled hotel versions. You can tell where my priorities are.

A final word on location. When I think of the Oranges in NJ, I think of what I typically pass on the Garden State Parkway - needless to say I was skeptical. The area, however, is very nice. There's a movie theatre, a panera, a Macy's, and a wholefoods just down the road. The hotel itself is bordered by a gorgeous old manor on one side, and a golf course on the other. Everything a business traveler could want.

My ONLY complaint? The rooms are kind of dark, they don't have enough lighting. Compared with the myriad of pros? I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn West Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn West Orange

Address: 107 Prospect Avenue, West Orange, NJ 07052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in West Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn West Orange 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Residence Inn West Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn West Orange Hotel West Orange
West Orange Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn West Orange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.