We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something for everyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Back Zoo

Turtle Back Zoo
560 Northfield Avenue, West Orange, NJ 07052
973-731-5800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence 2014
07921
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Something for everyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I brought my grandson and the zoo was so clean with many changes since my children were younger. It was well layed out and much to do.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    116
    13
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lived in this place when my kids were young. Get the pass, you will end up visiting often. Perfect for getting the kids out of the house for a walk in a pretty good urban zoo. Don't forget to feed the animals!!!!! or ride on the little train. Star Tavern is 10 minutes from here so you can finish off the day.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Paterson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Bring the Family and Enjoy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

For a zoo that was about to close a few years ago..this place is wonderful and has grown into a first class zoo. They not only brought it back to life - they are creating a wonderful place for a family to go and enjoy being outdoors. There is a mini-golf next door, a tree top adventure (for the adventureous) and not to mention - in my opinion - a wonderful animal collection in nice size enclosures. You realy get up close and personal with the animals. Bring a picnic lunch, eat inside or outside. Christmas time brings the Light show. The Reptile building is quite nice, right now there is a Komodo Dragon on exibit. In a few months, sometime spring or summer of 2013 they are bringing back a Sea Lion Exhibit. I am looking forward to this and just having fun with my kids at this zoo. Gibbons, Wolves and Alligators...oh my !!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Zoo with Christmas lights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Wow, a surprise new years eve wrong turn lead us here, and it was a great find. During the holidays, the turtle back zoo opens its doors at night o a wonderful holiday light display...plus it's free. A great walk around the zoo. Enjoy a few animals still out at night, while enjoying the display. A nice one hour walk with family. A great, relaxing stroll.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Christmas lights at the zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We enjoyed visiting the zoo with our adult children, spouses and grandchildren ages 2 & 4 for the holiday lights/decorations, which was available at no charge in the evening hours. The fresh outdoor air, fun light designs, carousel (min. charge) and animals obscured in the shadows made for a fun way to spend a few hours with family. With an almost full moon, the wolves were very active and fun to see close up.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Back Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Turtle Back Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Back Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.