We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thomas Edison National Historical Park

Thomas Edison National Historical Park
Main Street & Lakeside Avenue, West Orange, NJ 07052
(973) 736 0550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in West Orange
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Morristown, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“So Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is newly renovated and part of the National Park Service, so the quality is great. Our family spent about 2.5 hours here and would have spent more time if the weather was a little better, (it was a really cold and windy day, so walking between buildings was a bit more than we were up for). We watched an educational video which was really informative and gave us a good overview of Edison's amazing intellect and fantastic 'inventor' mindset. We attended a Park Ranger led tour of Edison's chemical laboratory, and then we toured another building that housed Edison's Library, his recording studio for the phonograph and a wonderfully preserved machine shop. The Park Rangers were very helpful and were pleased to answer questions. One really interesting fact that we heard from a Ranger, was that there was a single lightbulb in a statue, that worked from 1899 until 1995! It lasted almost 100 years! When the bulb burned out, they put in a replacement bulb, but it burned out as soon as they turned it on. So, rather than risk burning through all of Thomas Edison's original bulbs, they replaced the burnt out bulb with a replica. Next time that we go, we will talk to more rangers and hopefully get a bit more information about the movie studio and how it works.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    40
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“An interesting and educational afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My kids and I really enjoyed walking around Edison's lab (especially the storage room), seeing the first motion picture studio, and then driving the short distance to the tour of his Glenmont Estate as well. My kids liked that the laboratory/workshop tour was self-guiding and using the scanner on my smartphone to get additional information at the various exhibits. The Junior Ranger booklet helped keep them interested as well. I don't see us returning every year, but it is certainly worth a visit, regardless of your age.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Education Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The kids loved to see all the shops where Thomas Edison worked and created. The staff gave fantastic presentations and tried to involve the children in it. Our kids had a blast and walked away with a piece of History. Join the Junior Ranger Program for your children and they will walk away with so much more....

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Good for adults and childen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were impressed with all the new exhibits and liked the self guiding tour concept so you can spend as much time as you like at the things that interest you. Activities for the kids make this a great place for all ages to visit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Interesting day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

A fantastic walk around Edison labs. Quite a museum feel and to see the history and what Edison did....words can't say. My kids enjoyed it as well. Well worth the trip....great for kids in scout programs to earn some patches as well. Fun day. Love traveling new jersey for these great gems.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas Edison National Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Thomas Edison National Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thomas Edison National Historical Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.