We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service was great; good stay, despite issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   220 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6179 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking Promotion
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Customer service was great; good stay, despite issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is the 2nd time that my husband and I have stayed at this hotel, when we visited Philly. Overall, it is a good hotel with spacious, clean rooms and an excellent hotel staff. The location of the hotel is excellent and there are plenty of nice amenities that keep us coming back: on-site valet parking with in-out privileges for $34/nt, breakfast buffet at the Tavern 17 bar right off the lobby, free wi-fi and comfortable Sleep Number beds.

While we did not bring any pets, this is apparently a pet-friendly hotel until 4/30/13. They have a dedicated pet floor, charge a one-time $50 fee + an additional $10/nt clean-up fee. (Just thought I'd include this info, in case there are other travelers who might need to know this.)

In any case, we had a good stay, but there were a couple of issues to note. We came to this hotel for a 1 night stay, while attending a wedding. While this was not the preferred hotel of the wedding couple, we broke from the pack and gladly stayed here. When we first arrived, we were in such a rush that we dropped off our luggage off to the side of the room and didn't come back until past midnight. Weary from the eventful night, we were getting ready for bed, when a small roach crawled from one of the folds of the bed. My husband was startled by it and I attempted to kill it by whacking it with a sticky lint roller. I wasn't successful and the thing was still wriggling to get free of the roller, when I walked down to the lobby to show the front desk staff what greeted us in our room. Donald Hughes, the night manager, was very professional handling the situation, moved us to a fresh, upgraded room and gave us a voucher for complimentary breakfast. At that, I was satisfied and left to get some rest.

Four hours later, we were abruptly woken from our sleep by strobe lights and a talking fire alarm instructing us to evacuate the building. At 4:15am and disoriented by the sudden emergency, we fumbled in the dark for our shoes and proper street clothes. Then, walked down 7 floors of stairs with other hotel guests in varying degrees of undress (one lady didn't was barefoot and without a coat) into the cold. Another male guest was describing that this was the 2nd time he's had to evacuate this hotel due to a fire alarm, and that the last time was due to some cooking in the kitchen that set off the alarm system.

The fire truck came shortly after we made our way to the front of the hotel. The busboy directed us to congregate in the hotel lobby, since it was cold (temps in the 30s) and as I mentioned earlier, there were guests that weren't dressed for the weather. After 10 mins, the firemen left - false alarm - and we were allowed back onto the floors to our rooms. The next morning, we were greeted by a cordial letter from the General Manager, Joanne Cunningham, apologizing for the "unfortunate and unpreventable incident".

I don't blame the hotel for this happening, but between the roach and the evacuation in the middle of the night, I cannot honestly say that our last stay made our top 10. We would still probably come back to this hotel, because things happen and they clearly do try to keep their guests as satisfied as possible. They have one of the most professional and kind hotel staffs that we've encountered in our travels.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germaine m, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for the great score! Enjoy your upcoming week. And we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    417
    143
    52
    39
See reviews for
179
352
81
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nts and the RW was outstanding. Rooms clean, spacious, good wifi and comfy beds. Food was good, bar reasonable and breakfast superb. Would stay again even if Philly isn't quite as polished as other east coast cities. The Prine Rib was just outside the price range so it should be an option to discount meals for residents.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germaine m, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
I want to apologize for the hot water issue you experienced at this hotel. Thank you for the great score! Enjoy your upcoming week. And we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed at this Property on many trips and the people and location make this very special. They are in the process of a 19 Million dollar renovation, you can see the new rooms on the 6th floor and they look awesome. I will base this review on what is to come as the present Hotel is a 3 ++ star at best. Bad Inedible food in tavern 17 and room service. There are 320 Hotel rooms and a newer condo attached. You would not know about the 160 condos exist by the Hotel name. The Rittenhouse isa better example of what a Hotel Condo and aptly named the Rittenhouse Hotel and Condo...There should be with a real dedicated condo entrance and ac Concierge who is working for the condo. I do not believe surprisingly that the Hotel has a concierge. The Bell staff is awesome, The other outside leased restaurant is the Prime Rib and it is
is very old world (and Old Crowd) and great at bit pricey. They will not deliver to room for some reason...You have to pick up. The coffee shop is ok and friendly but same bad hotel food. IMHO ,I think the Union has something to do with this as the food is badly mediocre in catering as well. There is no spa , no pool, and a basement Hair salon with no handicap or stroller access (they are very nice) and no manicurist nor spa. The gym is supposed to be updated as is the business center. The Hotel prices are very cheap (ie a Value Hotel) for Rittenhouse but I am sure with Blu the will increase. The club level is nice but it is no Ritz Carlton. The Elevators are slow and confusing. But Location, Location, Location. I am hopeful Blu will be Better and implode that Tavern 17.....The only empty Bar on St Patricks Day.....That speaks volumes to the points above and the clear and inherent problems. But I can not stress enough besides the obvious physical need for a redo , they have strong management and leadership in place and a committed and dedicated staff who excels in every area. Steve, one of the head doorman went as so far to call
the four seasons on a past visit and arrange delivery to my room of a bag that I left in their restaurant. He and Jim and Justin and Bert are awesome and the best Bell Staff I have ever used in or around the area. They know everything about the city. Good Luck with Blu....We will be back soon. Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is the 3rd time I have stayed at the Raddison Warwick hotel in Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia. Alway a lovely older hotel with the feel of old world charm. It is currently being renovated and the name changed to Raddison Blu, part of the European branch of radisson hotels. This is still a classy old style hotel that with the coming upgrades to the rooms will soon emerge as a real great place to stay in Philly. You can't beat the location, however, I fear the prices will also reflect the changes. Definately worth the visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germaine m, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the great score! Enjoy your upcoming week. And we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I cannot express how PERFECT the location of this hotel is. We booked on hotwire, so we were VERY pleased with how close it was to everything. Great shopping around the corner, close enough to the sites. Room was actually quite nice. The rugs were a little worn, but not a big deal. The in house restaurant was really good as well. Really, no complaints!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germaine m, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the great score! Enjoy your upcoming week. And we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Radisson Plaza-Warwick Hotel has a nice lobby and very friendly staff. My group also loved the location. It was convenient for walking to great restaurants and shopping in the Rittenhouse Square area. The rooms our group had were quite spacious, but showed signs of wear. It was clean, but a lot of the furniture was scratched up. Also, the bathroom didn't have a vent and there wasn't a mini fridge for keeping our party snacks & drinks cold. No blackout curtains in the room -- just sheers that didn't close all of the way! We tried the coffee bar for breakfast, and the coffee, food, and staff were all great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Perfect location, just off of Ritenhouse Square, near some really fun restaurants such as Devon Grill and Parc. Also, the Coffee Bar located in the Hotel has one of the best breakfasts. Rooms are spacious and clean. This is an older hotel, and they have done a great job keeping it up to date. Best part of all, it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germaine m, Front Office Manager at Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you for the great score! Enjoy your upcoming week. And we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia

Address: 220 South 17th St, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated. Stylish. Uniquely Philadelphia. Listed on the National Registry of Historic Places, the Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel is where history meets innovation and culture. This hotel is high on design and style and located in Philadelphia's most prestigious address, Rittenhouse Square. This luxury center city Philadelphia hotel is in the epicenter of boutique shopping, entertainment and many of Philadelphia's award winning restaurants. The stunning illumination and architecture in the lobby, graceful fireplaces and comfy seating areas complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hotel Philadelphia
Radisson Plaza Philadelphia
Radisson Philadelphia
Warwick Philadelphia
Philadelphia Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.