We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay at the Rittenhouse!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Rittenhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Rittenhouse Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Outstanding stay at the Rittenhouse!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at The Rittenhouse Hotel in early October, and the hotel has immediately become THE destination for all of my future visits to Philadelphia. First, the location is absolutely ideal for business or leisure (or both!) - Rittenhouse Square is a perfect launching pad for anywhere in the city. Second, the service and staff were nothing short of exceptional (the GM Reginald and concierge Frank were quick to tailor my stay in any way needed). Third, Lacroix and Library Bar are foodie destinations by themselves (Papi's cocktails at Library Bar I'd argue are some of the best in the city), and last but not least, the rooms were luxurious, spacious and a perfect retreat from a busy day in the city. One Note: new Spa under construction.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Location is our most noted attribute but team members such as Frank at Concierge and Papi in the Library Bar truly make all the difference. We look forward to welcoming you back in the months to come. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to tailor your future stays.

Thank you so much for your kind words and recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    96
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
134
195
27
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Easy trip from airport, uniformly friendly and prompt, professional service. Library Bar is small, intimate and a great way to start or end the evening. Two high end restaurants on premises - Lacroix - a decidedly upscale menu with unusual fares and Smith and Wollensky's - a great steak house. The are numerous, less expensive coffee houses, cafés and restaurants within 3 blocks or closer.

Rooms are a good size for inner city and nicely furnished. Nothing special. Great bathrooms. Room Service and Housekeeping were outstanding. No coffee makers in room. Have to call room service. Pool and Fitness being renovated will be ready in a few months. Have stayed here before, would not hesitate to stay again or recommend to you. Not cheap, but what good hotel in large Northeast city is?

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Tony,

We appreciate your candid, no nonsense take on our hotel. Thank you for your return business.

As you noted, we will be continuously upgrading and fine tuning our offerings in the months and years ahead. Hope to see you when you next return to Philadelphia.

Best regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Perfect hotel, terrific location. Superb white glove service with a smile. We were here one wonderful night while visiting our freshman at UPenn and could not have been happier. Booked through American Express Platinum and received an upgrade to an extremely spacious and comfortable suite, among other benefits. Ample closet space, robes and slippers. Very nice bathroom with tub and separate glassed-in shower, plus makeup mirror and counter right outside the bathroom was a real convenience. We have found our hotel in Philadelphia for the next four years--at least!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We are happy to add you to our Penn Parent family and look forward to hosting you in the coming years. Please let us know if there is any way we may personalize your stay by way of amenities or transportation to and from campus. Your review and recommendation is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My friends and I stayed here during the Made in America music festival! We felt so comfortable and at home in this hotel. Perks galore!! Not to mention the perfect location for walking home after partying. Excellent service from beginning to end

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Kay,

Whether in town for a concert, shopping, dining or sight seeing, we agree that you can not beat our location. In addition, we truly try to provide personalized service to every guest on each visit.

Thank you so much for recommending us to others and don't wait for the next Made in America show to pay another visit.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weatherly, pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed at "The Rittenhouse" this past weekend while in town for a wedding. Wonderful experience. The staff was very friendly, the amenities were extremely decadent and the accommodations were luxurious. I cannot wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Lorri,

We can't wait to have you back...We truly appreciate your endorsement of our most prominent point of difference, service.

Many thanks,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Rittenhouse Hotel is lovely. The main floors are beautiful with a jewel box of a bar tucked away in the back. La Croix is superb (although I was only there for a cocktail and for breakfast the next day). The room was nice, but needs a bit of a facelift (which I understand is in progress). We had a nice upgrade to a larger room and it had a fabulous view. The staff was very nice and cheerful! They made you feel at home!

Room Tip: ask for a view of the Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Ms. Walker,

Senior contributors to TripAdvisor often have the most perceptive insights to what sets us apart from others. We are very proud of our Library Bar and new offerings throughout the property. Coming soon this spring will be a new health club, spa and salon. One thing that does not change is the quality of service from our dedicated. They truly enjoy looking after you and it shows. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with others.

Best regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've stayed at the Rittenhouse twice in recent months -- once for business (a quick one-night trip) and once for pleasure (special birthday celebration for my wife) and the hotel stood out on both occasions for the quality of their service throughout and prime location.

I've stayed at several of the other top-end hotels in Philly (including the Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons) a few times and while the rooms at all three fall roughly into the same category of luxurious, comfortable, but not particularly modern, the Rittenhouse manages to stand head and shoulders above through all the "little things" they do right. For example, the new Library Bar noted that it was my wife's birthday and brought a special amenity (a little cake styled as a Tiffany box) despite the fact we were just having one round of pre dinner drinks. Dinner at Lacroix on my business trip was also thoroughly enjoyable, with a great setting overlooking Rittenhouse Square, warm, friendly service, good food and lots of extras. The fitness centre is a touch dated (to be renovated soon), but does offer a full range of equipment in a bright setting (and is better than the basement gym in the Ritz or the Four Seasons).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Clyde,

it is a pleasure to read your impressions of the Rittenhouse Our team here truly tries to make every interaction as personal and welcoming as possible. Thank you so much for recognizing our efforts. We look forward to seeing you again whenever you are in the neighborhood.

Best regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star and AAA Five Diamond award winning Rittenhouse Hotel (25 years consecutively) is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Our Sunday Brunch is rated #1 in Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rittenhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.