We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Rittenhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Rittenhouse Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Indulgence Spa Pack
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersSilver level
10002
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed in what I believe is a regular guest room and we couldn't have asked for more. We were here via Amex FHR and the hotel was beautiful, the room was great and the service was top notch.

Pro: The room was very large with an adjoining living room, separated bathroom with soaking tub and separated shower. The hotel was absolutely gorgeous, we spent about 45 minutes or so just rummaging around the different parts of the hotel and taking pictures and soaking it in; its a cool place. the location was good for use as we were about a 10 minute walk to Broad street with many Restaurant/bar options along the way. The pool was large allowing us to play and actually do laps for both pleasure and exercise. It had an adjoining gym, locker rooms and use of a Steam room and Sauna. there is also a huge spa and salon but we didn't use it. We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant lacroix and the food was fantastic, best meal we at over our week long trip. We ordered French Onion soup, Ceasar Salad, Grilled Salmon and Chicken breast with cheesecake for dessert...we all practically licked our plates. They also offered us a ride to a in city destination via the hotel car which was a gorgeous jaguar instead of wasting extra money on a cab.

Cons: The pool was slightly murky, not dirty but could have used a cleaning. Other than that, we absolutely loved it. If you love hotels and have a chance, try The RittenHouse and see for yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Your feedback is truly appreciated! In regards to our pool, please note that we will undergo a complete renovation of this area this fall and will ensure the maintenance program is up to date until that time.

Please join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    89
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
125
174
26
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

From the moment you drive up until you get into your room the service is 5 star. They cannot do enough for you, beyond my expectations.
The room was very comfortable, quiet and when we needed something from housekeeping it was delivered in less than 5 minutes. The hotel location is perfect, close to all the sights, nightlife and restaurants.
I would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Brian,

It is wonderful to hear that you had such a positive experience. Please be sure to return next year when our new spa and salon will be renovated.

Safe travels,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This place is over the top. You cannot have a better experience in Philadelphia. The hotel itself is gorgeous. The location is the best in the city. Absolutely beautiful and a memorable stay. The best feature of this hotel is the staff! Everyone was wonderful. From the door staff to the bell staff to the bar staff...they are true ambassadors of the City of Brotherly Love.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking Rittenhouse Square.
See more room tips
Green Features: We used the frog! If you don't know what we mean, you haven't stayed there.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear C G,

We truly appreciate your kind words regarding your visit to The Rittenhouse. Please consider us your Philadelphia address and do not hesitate to let us know how we may better serve you in the future.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

What a nice hotel...the location was great, the staff super nice and overall a winning experience...we had a 1br suite which was lovely but if I have to be honest, the two negatives would be the outdated bathroom and its tiny, tiny shower. also, the loud sound of the a/c...if the shower was any smaller...well lets just say don't drop the soap, because there is not enough room to bend down and pick it up. Air sounds like a mini twister every time it turns on..that was a bummer, especially for a light sleeper..that's the age of the hotel showing its wrinkles....doorman, who dresses more like a janitor, was very helpful. Just don't judge a book by its cover.....would I return, maybe....

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear slipmahonee,

Firstly, we truly do hope you return because all of your observations are excellent and are being addressed. We believe as you do that our location is rivaled only by our service and attention to detail. Therefore you should note that all guest rooms and hallways are undergoing a refurbishment that will be completed this fall. You will certainly find the bathrooms and air conditioning systems much more to your liking on your next visit.

New uniforms are in the works as well. As I said, your points are very well taken. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may assist with future bookings or anything at all.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked our stay through LHW and hotel staff contacted me almost immediately confirming my preferences, name of the child, etc. We arrived from Washington, DC and were greeted by a friendly bell guy who not only opened a taxis doors, introduced himself and was smiling, but also took our luggage immediately and settled everything with a taxi driver. Finally some sort of the traditional hospitality which we completely missed in any other hotel during our whole trip. I am afraid all other "named themselves" luxury hotels are either hiring their staff coming from countries where have very limited knowledge of hospitality and were being rude is part of the local culture (this is my own opinion on why we had so many issues, problems and misunderstandings in other so called luxury hotels). This hotel does not pretend to be Four Seasons nor it markets itself as some luxury brand. People simply know what are they doing. This is a success of any business and I sincere hope this hotel will benefit from it.

We were not upgraded but girl at the reception did look into it and tried. Hotel was full but it is sometimes enough to see that someone actually cares.

Bell staff was very professional (as it should be). The guy guided us to the elevator, explained where is what in the hotel, gave a short description of hotel's area, gave a full detailed description of everything in our room.

Room was big enough, we got a sofa prepared for a kid immediately, milk and cookies were delivered by a smiley girl.

It was a great arrival experience.

In room dining was great, food was delicious, prompt delivery with attention to details.

Great swimming pool which we used several times due to a very hot weather.

Housekeeping was excellent, no hair was found anywhere :)

The only negative moment was a fact that our room was next to some air-condition room or some technical room and it was extremely noisy at nights.

The whole stay was just perfect. I regret that I changed my initial booking as I wanted to stay longer in NYC where we moved from Philadelphia (more about our terrible experience in NYC in my review of the Langham Place). The city is amazing, one of my favorite in the US. But it would not be so if we did not have such a great stay at Rittenhouse.

We will be back for sure and I would strongly recommend this hotel to all my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Euroedmous,

Every so often a reviewer speaks so eloquently about The Rittenhouse that I truly do not have anything to add. This is one of those times.

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. I look can not wait to share your review with our entire team, who I am sure will be greatly encouraged by your remarks.

We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Everything is walkable from the Rittenhouse. Service is great, and the room was beautifully appointed, and large!

I did get a massage in the spa. Although the service itself was great, the spa could stand some work. Maybe because the locker room is shared with the gym, everything was pretty worn. Would probably not do the spa thing again.

Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Please do try our spa again next year after we complete our total renovation of the spa, salon, pool and locker rooms. I am sure that you will find your experience much more in keeping with what you experienced elsewhere in the hotel.

Thank you for taking the time t tell others about The Rittenhouse. We hope to see you again soon.


Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I had another great stay at the Rittenhouse. We have stayed here before (our children have too, although not this time) and never been disappointed. The location is superb. Each and every staff member was professional, but also very friendly, efficient and helpful from the time we arrived to the time we left. Our room was immaculately clean, spacious, and quiet...overlooking the square. After oysters at the Oyster house, we had a really delicious meal at Estia ( Sean, the concierge recommended it and we thank him profusely!). This is a very warm and welcoming hotel, and of course we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear lovelondon4,

We truly appreciate your taking the time to tell others of your Rittenhouse experience. It is really gratifying to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. I will be sure to relay your comments to Sean our Concierge and the rest of our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks.

Please join us again soon!

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five Diamond Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel (24 years consecutively) is rated one of the top hotels in the World as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or the city. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Our Sunday Brunch is rated #1 in Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rittenhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.