We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always an enjoyable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Rittenhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Rittenhouse Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Always an enjoyable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My husband and I had another great stay at the Rittenhouse. We have stayed here before (our children have too, although not this time) and never been disappointed. The location is superb. Each and every staff member was professional, but also very friendly, efficient and helpful from the time we arrived to the time we left. Our room was immaculately clean, spacious, and quiet...overlooking the square. After oysters at the Oyster house, we had a really delicious meal at Estia ( Sean, the concierge recommended it and we thank him profusely!). This is a very warm and welcoming hotel, and of course we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear lovelondon4,

We truly appreciate your taking the time to tell others of your Rittenhouse experience. It is really gratifying to hear how much you enjoyed your visit. I will be sure to relay your comments to Sean our Concierge and the rest of our team, who I am sure will be encouraged by your remarks.

Please join us again soon!

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    96
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
134
194
27
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been a frequent visitor to the Four Seasons in Philadelphia for many years. But, it's tired decor got me thinking about trying something new. My family checked into a small suite at the Rittenhouse on a recent Saturday and while the room size was terrific, the decor was not exactly what one would have expected or hoped for. The bathroom, marble and tile, was in a scheme of browns which was not terribly chic nor contemporary. The bedroom was not stylish or updated either. But, we had a comfortable stay and a good rest and the location was fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for trying The Rittenhouse after staying elsewhere on previous visits. Our service and location are certainly our main points of difference and we are currently refreshing all guest rooms with a much more contemporary look and feel. Please note that this work will be complete by year end.

It is our sincere hope that you will continue to make us your Philadelphia home. You can expect continuous improvement from us now and well into the future.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a wonderful place for "home base" when you are out and about exploring Philadelphia all day! After a long day of taking in the historic sights of Philly, my family and I really appreciated the luxury provided by the Rittenhouse. The staff was pleasant and helpful at all times. My son was thrilled to be able to pick out a toy from the treasure chest, especially after seeing a Pirate exhibit earlier that day! Complimentary car service took us to a nearby restaurant for a family style dinner and brought us back to the Hotel too. It was so nice not having to walk or drive.
The room was sumptuous, spacious and beautifully decorated.

We had a delicious breakfast at Lacroix restaurant. My son said his eggs were perfect. That's a big compliment coming from a picky eater.

I definitely recommend the Rittenhouse for business or pleasure, whether you're looking for a nice romantic getaway or a nice family friendly place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
"Home base" is a great way to describe our property. We are so happy to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful time. Please come back and visit us again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I signed up to TripAdvisor just to post this review.

From Wikipedia: "Hotels seeking to join The Leading Hotels of the World must apply for admission. To be considered for inclusion, a hotel must be in the luxury category. Inspection reports based on hundreds of criteria are subsequently filed with the Executive Committee, whose members then vote for acceptance or rejection."

One stay at The Rittenhouse Hotel and it's abundantly clear how they not only made the cut, but undoubtedley continue to exceed the criteria in every way.

Located directly opposite the also highly-rated, renowned public Rittenhouse Square Park, The Rittenhouse is a beautiful, elegant establishment that perfectly and uncannily blends extravagance and homeliness.

My family of four, together with my parents, travelled on an East Coast tour staying in multiple Starwood hotels but this was by far the highlight. The Rittenhouse were extremely accommodating and welcoming, as well as being completely understanding and receptive of our needs. We were given adjoining rooms - something not one other hotel in a week of travelling through five cities could manage - special welcome gifts for the kids, and special welcome champagne for the adults. Every, and I mean EVERY staff member treated us with genuine respect, charm and professionalism - not to mention the fact that they all addressed us BY NAME upon every entry and exit. Special mention goes to guest services member Perry who made us all feel like royalty returning home immediately upon arrival, and to Michelle, the freakishly talented mixologist who concocted the best, by far, Whiskey Sour I've ever sampled in my life - fittingly known as 'The RH', their signature cocktail - in the chic surrounds of The Library Bar.

My only complaint? That we stayed only one night. But in that twenty-four hours, with the help of charming general manager Reginald Archambault and his brilliant staff, we had an incredibly relaxing, rewarding and memorable introduction to the City of Brotherly Love.

It's money well spent to experience a stay at a hotel of this calibre. Six stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Kenn M,

Your kind words are very much appreciated. I will be sure to share them with our entire team who will be greatly encouraged by your remarks.

Please join us again sometime soon when you are able to stay for more than one night.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Perhaps the best hotel stay we have ever had. We expected a lot from the Rittenhouse given its reputation, but it exceeded all of our expectations. The arrival process was efficient and courteous; we were out of our car and in our room with our luggage within ten minutes. The room overlooked Rittenhouse Square and was extremely comfortable and quiet. The concierge arranged for "untimed" tickets to the Barnes. Departure was every bit as courteous and efficient as our arrival.

Excellent dining was within walking distance, and we had a very nice breakfast at Lacroix.

Overall, a great hotel with great staff in a great area of Philadelphia. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Phil K,

Exceeding expectations is our highest mission and it sounds as if we were successful in our efforts in your experience. Thank you for taking the time to let others know about the Rittenhouse.

Please consider us your Philadelphia home away from home!

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Was in town for a weekend wedding. We could not have stayed in a better location. Staff were super friendly, making a point of remembering our names. Check-in was seamless and as they had the space we received a room upgrade. Room was spotless, bed firm and there were plenty of pillows. All in all it was a fine experience and well worth another stay when we next visit Philly.

Room Tip: Ask to face the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Fantastic news regarding your impression of the Rittenhouse!

We truly appreciate your choosing us as your residence while you were in town. Please let us know if there is any other way to make you more comfortable on future visits.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I take each of my three sons to Philly for their 5th b-day and know the city well. As a native PA gal and frequent quest to Philly - my third son got short changed (stayed at Ritz and 4 seaons with other 2). Upon arrival - there was a wedding reception taking over lobby - I had no direction as to where to check in or help (I had not been there since renovation). Second, despite informing hotel of special occasion at booking and confirmation- my son did not get te VIP kid treatment alluded to in other reviews. The concierge was patronizing and seemed annoyed at my son. Perhaps he did not know we too paid the 300 a night fee? On the positive - great room!

Room Tip: Face the park!
See more room tips
Green Features: they have a cute duck to indicate to staff to recycle sheets - nice touch
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G Keith W, Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear 800Alex800:

I hope your son recived all the amenities, the robe, the slippers, popcorn, coloring map and the "Good Night Philadelphia" book that we sent to him for his birthday. Our young guests are very important to us and putting a smile on thier face is what hospitality is all about.

We hope he enjoyed his birthday and his birthday gifts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star and AAA Five Diamond award winning Rittenhouse Hotel (25 years consecutively) is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Our Sunday Brunch is rated #1 in Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rittenhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.