We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but tired and needs renovating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Rittenhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rittenhouse Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but tired and needs renovating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at The Rittenhouse when travelling to Philadelphia to see the Barnes. We were upgraded to a suite [thru Amex Fine Hotels program]. Rooms were spacious and light, but in need of renovation. Bathrooms especially need to be redone. It is possible that some rooms were renovated recently and perhaps we should have asked for one. The hallway outside our room needed vacuuming for the 24 hours we were there. Staff was very pleasant but impersonal.
I would definitely recommend if the hotel is renovated.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Bouchet,

Thank you for visiting and we hope to see you again when our guest room refresh is completed this fall. You are correct in that we have added five new spectacular Park Suites to the hotel and will re-do all guest rooms this summer.

Please come back to see all that we have to offer and do not hesitate to contact me directly if I may be of any assistance.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    86
    28
    10
    6
See reviews for
114
151
25
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have attempted to stay at the finest hotels in many places on the planet (many of which we have not reviewed). The Rittenhouse Hotel in Philadelphia, PA is among the best.

We booked the hotel through the American Express Fine Hotels and Resorts program. We like to use this service because there is usually a room upgrade at hotels that are part of this program.

Upon arrival we were greeted by David, the doorman, who ushered us to the front desk. He remembered our names for our entire visit. He escorted us to Gida, at the front desk, who also remembered our names for our entire trip (this personal touch was repeated throughout many hotel employees). We were upgraded to a newly created suite on the 3rd floor and we were the first clients to ever stay in our room. Gida introduced us to Luciana, who acted as a personal concierge and escorted us to our room. Luciana spent as much time as was needed to talk to us about the hotel, Philadelphia, and any other questions we had.

The hotel is highest end. All staff are professionally dressed and formal. The hotel is clean. Room service is responsive. Valet and doormen are helpful.

Rittenhouse Square is an amazing place. An eclectic mix of people and a great atmosphere to explore.

We plan on staying at the Rittenhouse hotel again. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Work2vaca,

It sounds as if you had a wonderful time thanks in no small part to Gida, David, Lucia and the rest of our team. Thank you very much for taking the time to post your experience for others to see. It is greatly appreciated.

See you again when you visit Philadelphia!

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I thought this hotel was nice but not amazing.

Pro's
Warm service team
Spacious Rooms
Excellent location

Cons
Dated
My room could have been a little cleaner (a few things left on the floor by a former guest)
Pricey- for what you spend, you expect the Ritz

Because this hotel is very pricey, I perhaps had higher expectations. Don't get me wrong, it's nice, but I've had the pleasure of staying in much nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear mountainview29,

We certainly recognize the need to upgrade throughout the property and are doing just that. For example, all guest rooms and hallways will be refreshed this summer followed by a complete renovation of our spa and fitness facilities.

Cleanliness is extremely important. We will urgently follow up on your other observations and hope you make us your Philadelphia hotel of choice when your travel bring you back. We are confident you will see marked improvements upon your return.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stay here 3-4 times per year and have never been disappointed. First the rooms are all large, much larger than you might expect. Even the superior rooms are large with great flat screen TV's and huge bathrooms with separate tubs and showers.

Since my last visit they have opened a new Library Bar on the first floor. I enjoyed a complementary glass of sparkling wine as there way of introducing this new feature. The bar is tiny but with a great sitting area adjacent.

Service is outstanding from check in to check out. They have also provided free wireless and wired internet in all rooms. Parking is a pricey $40 per night, but you are in the city center. Try this hotel and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Please forgive our late reply as your review was posted to a nearby bed & breakfast accommodation in error. Regardless, we are proud to have you as our guest and will continue to upgrade our amenities. In addition to the Library Bar and Afternoon Tea we will be opening a newly renovated spa, salon and health club early next year.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon!

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia & St. Croix
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I recently enjoyed a Friday afternoon with the girls having Tea at the Rittenhouse Hotel. It was absolutely delightful from the ambiance of the room, to the piano music, flowing champagne, unique selection of teas, sandwiches and desserts everything was perfect and the service was impecable! We can't wait to return..... next time it will be a spa and tea excursion!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Whether for tea, brunch, cocktails in the Library Bar or any overnight visit, we hope you continue to enjoy The Rittenhouse. We are excited to announce a complete renovation of our spa and salon this fall. I am certain you will find the products and services in keeping with what you would expect from us.

Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We hope to see you again very soon.

Warm Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for several nights and must say it was a real haven to return to after a busy day at the galleries, theatres and museums. The room was really very large - some 600 plus square feet with a lovely view over Rittenhouse Square.

It is the small details and thoughtfulness that separates a good hotel from a great hotel and this is truly a great hotel. Perhaps to provide an idea of the level of service, I will mention that a few hours after check-in there was a knock on the door and a request to check on the orchids that are in the room. The welcome from the doorman to the check-in was speedy, efficient and always with a smile. Our room keys even had a Canadian flag on one side! There is a turn down service every evening, 2 squares of dark chocolate and 2 bottles of complimentary water left along with a card giving the weather forecast for the following day.

The bathroom was also quite large, with a separate shower and tub, a TV by the sink and all the lotions, soaps and other amenities that could be desired. The bed was comfortable and had a comforter which perhaps could have been changed for a light blanket if one was available since the weather was quite warm. Our rate included a continental breakfast in Lacroix which overlooks the Square. The service was always prompt and friendly, although the baked goods were not freshly baked.

Other reviewers have spoken about the great location and how close the hotel is for walking to shopping and restaurants so I won't go into detail on this point . All in all we very much enjoyed our stay at the hotel, our visit to the city and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit from Canada. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay and plan to return. We truly appreciate your recommending us to others.

On a side note, all of our pastries are baked in house daily. We will follow up with our Pastry Chef and Lacroix team to ensure that they are of the highest (and freshest) quality.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This place is about great location and excellent accommodations. The Rittenhouse is located on the edge of the Square and the adjacency offers numerous dining and shopping venues within short walking distances. We stayed there over the Memorial Day weekend and our room commanded a rate of $286.85 inclusive of taxes and fees. Valet parking is available for $49.00 per diem.
The room was large and tastefully furnished with a king bed, bench at the base, night stands, chest housing a mini bar/dresser with a 42” flat panel television on top, Chippendale desk and chair. An adjacent sitting area was furnished with a sofa, coffee table and Queen Anne chair. The building’s architecture embraces expansive window frontage; consequently, there is considerable natural light throughout the room. Internet access is complimentary.
The bathroom had a single basin vanity with marble counter top outfitted with a small television, separate tub and walk-in shower. The bath linens were of exceptional quality. A large closet that contained a personal safe faced the bathroom and a separate vanity counter is on the bathroom’s exterior. A complete range of complimentary toiletries and amenities is supplied.
The common area is contemporary to the point of being sterile. A very pleasant exterior courtyard is just off the main lobby. There is an indoor pool and a large spa and personal care salon. The dining venues are the hotel’s LaCroix as well as a Smith and Wollensky steakhouse located off the lobby.
The hotel had a computer work station; however, it was rendered useless by the fact that upon logging in I received an advisory the system’s firewall was off. The staff was not aware of this and didn’t seem to comprehend the implications.
The valet staff was very friendly and proficient. The Front Desk experience was impersonal and marginal. Check in, and especially, check out was convoluted. I was settling the account for three rooms and the clerk had to individually review each room account and then go back through each room’s file to print the receipt.
The Rittenhouse worked for us primarily because of its location although the total experience left me with the impression a more complete Philadelphia alternative is probably close by.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear NewJerseyMember,

Thank you for joining us over the recent holiday. We hope on future visits our service levels will rival our location and accommodations. We will follow up on streamlining our arrival and departure process which is generally very smooth. More importantly, personalization is extremely important and we will refocus our efforts in this area.

Otherwise, our IT team checked and confirmed the existence and functionality of a firewall for the shared computers just off our lobby. Please feel free to contact me directly if I may assist with future bookings. Your business is important to us and we greatly appreciate the time you took in writing your thoughtful review of your stay.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five Diamond Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel (23 years consecutively) is rated one of the top hotels in the World as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or the city. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Our Sunday Brunch is rated #1 in Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LHW, Loews Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rittenhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.