We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Bases Covered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Rittenhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Rittenhouse Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Barnes Museum Package
Ranked #1 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
westport
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“All Bases Covered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My little family of four just returned from 4 days at the lovely Rittenhouse. Neither child wanted to leave, both very happy in both Philadelphia and our Square view suite at the Rittenhouse.

And really, who could blame them? The suite was comfortable and reasonably spacious, sporting a foyer, a 1/2 bath, desk, couch, wingback and table for two in colonial style, sporting prints on the walls, and a gorgeous view of the budding trees in Rittenhouse park. They were treated like princesses, offered gifts on arrival, sent cookies and milk as a first night treat, were greeted with their names spelled in sponges in the tub, and played for hours in the pool. Both room service and LaCroix were extremely gracious and accomodating to their six and three year old needs.

Mom and Dad were happy, too. Our bedroom had a king bed covered in beautiful linens, its own 42" flat screen, two comfortable arm chairs, a dressing area/vanity, and a marble bath with shower and large tub. There was plenty of room to stretch out and find some personal space.

The hotel design is classic luxury, as opposed to modern, which suits the surrounding neighborhood well. The location is perfect for shopping on Walnut and Chestnut streets, and quick trips (10 mins) to the major attractions. The area is rife with excellent restaurants in all directions, and is three blocks from Capogiro Gelato, which is a must visit. But if you don't feel like walking, you won't go wrong with the two options in the hotel proper: Smith and Wollensky's steakhouse, and LaCroix for amazing continental fare.

The staff was uniformly excellent, solicitous, and personal. Housekeeping called us by name every morning. FOH staff was also excellent. Room Service was prompt, polite and friendly.


My nits were minor, and I present this list only for the most finnicky traveler. The valet parking charge is $41 per day, which I think is pretty high. There is no cordless phone in the room. Outlets are hard to find for charging electronics on the nightstands, where most travelers park their ipads and phones these days. It would be nice to have a master light switch near the bed. The curtains didn't fully black out the windows, and the heating/cooling fan is on the loud side (doesn't bother me, but I know some very light sleepers...). I suspect the rooms will be refurbished in the next few years, as some of the bath fixtures and furniture are due for updating. The flat screens in the bathrooms are nice, but take up valuable sink real estate, and there is room for two sinks in the master, but there is only one. It was a shame that the Cassat room was closed for renovations, but we'll save that for the next visit.

We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Park view is definitely worth paying extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank screwjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Your detailed and thoughtful review of The Rittenhouse also "covers all bases". Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to recognize our efforts!

In regards to improvements, much of your well taken points will be addressed as we refresh all of our guest rooms this year. The lobby and tea room are nearly complete as well. We will continuously polish our product and focus on the service levels you and your family enjoyed.

Please join us again soon.

Many Thanks,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Can't wait til all the renovations are competed. The hotel looks great and the quality of materials being used will only amplify the beauty of the hotel. As usual, service and food was excellent. Had a discussion with the Chef about sustainability and was pleasantly surprise to hear about the care taken to where food (especially meat and fish) products are purchased.

Room Tip: Within walking distance to lots of activities in Philadelphia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1pointofview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are certainly excited about our recent upgrades as well. As we enter the summer months you will note a beautified reception and lobby area as well as refinements in the guest hallways and rooms.

In the kitchen and elsewhere we are committed to sustainability through our Earthview program. Thank you for inquiring and recognizing our efforts on all levels.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I spent a night at the Rittenhouse after viewing the Barnes Collection. It was an excellent pairing. After a pleasant train ride from New York, we checked in to the Rittenhouse, went off to the Barnes Collection only several minutes cab ride away and then returned for dinner at the hotel's Lacroix restaurant and a night at the hotel, returning to New York the next morning. The Barnes Collection is an unbelievable and unique experience: the most amazing collection of art imaginable and beautifully displayed. It alone is worth the trip.

The Rittenhouse is a modern hotel with old-world intimacy and charm. The staff quickly learn the guests' names and use them. The concierge was very helpful and the other staff were very eager to please as well -- from the doormen to the bellmen to the chambermaid.

We had a delicious dinner at the hotel's Lacroix restaurant. If we had stayed another night, we would probably have eaten at the Smith & Wolensky restaurant that is also in the hotel.

We were upgraded to a large and well-furnished suite with all the expected amenities, including 3 televisions, a hi-fi to connect an iPhone or iPod, a lovely and comfortable bed with excellent linens and a duvet. The bathroom provided a large tub and a separate shower, with a dressing room en suite. Providing an iron and ironing board is a welcome extra for travelers who like to dress well after unpacking their suitcases.

Our package (from American Express Platinum) included both continental breakfast and a $100 credit for either Lacroix restaurant or the 210 Bar, which was a real bargain.

There is a first class gym and spa and a very nice indoor pool on site.

The locale -- Rittenhouse Square -- offers a nice park and a nice view.

We will surely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Jacques,

Thank you very much for your take on your recent visit to The Rittenhouse. We continue to partner with the Barnes Foundation to provide access to this wonderful addition to the city of Philadelphia. The hotel itself boasts a perfect location which we try to compliment with personal service.

Please come visit us again soon. We appreciate your return business greatly.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My only criticism is that they should have informed my company's travel booking department of the renovation work going on in the common areas of the hotel. A minor inconvenience, however worth mentioning when room rates are $300 plus per night. Otherwise, they have gotten everything else right. Exemplary customer service. The concierge provided me with a tie for my meeting last minute, as I had forgotten to pack one. I gave him a small tip as I was in a rush and did not have change. As I returned the tie the next morning and attempted to give him a proper tip, he literally refused to accept it, saying it was no big deal. That is real impressive stuff, and I will absolutely be returning to stay here again for both business and pleasure. Breakfast at Lacroix is pricey, but well worth the views of Rittenhouse Square. Plenty of restaurants and night life on the Square. Room was huge, clean and very nicely appointed. Bathroom had a small tv and phone, nice touch. Great spot.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bodhi360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Knowing our Concierge, there are few lengths we would not go to look after you. Thank you for sharing your experience and for choosing to stay with us.

Our lobby renovations are nearly complete and we will continue with refreshes of guest hallways and rooms this summer. We expect this work to be much less obtrusive. Please join us again soon for a spot of tea or cool beverage in our Library Bar or Cassatt Tea Room.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
486 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is currently renovating but you would not really know. They want to make the guest experience number one. I stay here a lot and it is the nicest hotel I have found in Philly. You won't be disappointed staying at this amazing hotel

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My daughter, granddaughter and I visited Philadelphia overnight and had a lovely time at this fine hotel. Not only was the staff courteous and helpful, they went out of their way to accommodate our 7 year old. When the beds were turned down, they had a small robe and slippers on her bed. We even received delicious popcorn to accompany a free movie. We were driven to dinner in their hotel Jaguar and enjoyed every minute of their wonderful services.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 46450Patience22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We truly appreciate your thoughtful feedback on your stay at The Rittenhouse. Our youngest guests are very important to us and we try to make them feel special at every turn. It sounds as if your granddaughter is a new fan!

Thank you for bringing your family to visit. We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and two children (6 and a half year old daughter and 1 and a half year old son) just came back from an overnight trip to Philly. I can say, without question, that The Rittenhouse Hotel is one of the all time greats. From the minute we pulled up, we were treated like royalty. While I checked in, the Bellhop invited my children to pick a toy from the "Treasure Chest".

I explained that I was concerned that my son, a screamer, might keep people up at night. I was assured that the position of our room (one of the 08 rooms) was such that it would not be disruptive to guests nearby. The room, by the way, was an upgrade from the original room we booked. We were grateful for the additional space and the amazing view of the park across the way.

The concierge staff was extremely helpful to suggest an itinerary for our short visit, and we managed to see many of the famous sights, and ate well. We even managed to take a ride in the Jaguar to pick up a late night cheesesteak!

My only regret was that tea was not served in the Cassatt Room. It was the highlight of a previous visit, and I wanted my wife and daughter to experience it. Because of the renovation, the tea was served in a small board room. My daughter still felt like a princess, but I would have loved to see her face light up when walking into the Cassatt room.

All in all, it was a really special trip and we look forward to staying at The Rittenhouse again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 439KevinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Kevin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of The Rittenhouse! We greatly appreciate your feedback and are happy to announce that our lobby renovations will be completed in a few weeks time. We will once again be offering Afternoon Tea in Cassatt and will have an additional bar on the lobby level as well.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again sometime soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hotel Monaco Philadelphia, a Kimpton Hotel
City Center West
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
The Logan Philadelphia, Curio Collection by Hilton
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#14 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star and AAA Five Diamond award winning Rittenhouse Hotel (25 years consecutively) is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Immerse yourself in an oasis of relaxation in Center City with a menu of massage and salon services, spa packages and fitness center at the Rittenhouse Spa, Salon & Health Club with hair by Paul Labrecque. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Amex, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing