We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing overnight in Philly with the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Rittenhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Remarkable Rittenhouse
Ranked #1 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing overnight in Philly with the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and two children (6 and a half year old daughter and 1 and a half year old son) just came back from an overnight trip to Philly. I can say, without question, that The Rittenhouse Hotel is one of the all time greats. From the minute we pulled up, we were treated like royalty. While I checked in, the Bellhop invited my children to pick a toy from the "Treasure Chest".

I explained that I was concerned that my son, a screamer, might keep people up at night. I was assured that the position of our room (one of the 08 rooms) was such that it would not be disruptive to guests nearby. The room, by the way, was an upgrade from the original room we booked. We were grateful for the additional space and the amazing view of the park across the way.

The concierge staff was extremely helpful to suggest an itinerary for our short visit, and we managed to see many of the famous sights, and ate well. We even managed to take a ride in the Jaguar to pick up a late night cheesesteak!

My only regret was that tea was not served in the Cassatt Room. It was the highlight of a previous visit, and I wanted my wife and daughter to experience it. Because of the renovation, the tea was served in a small board room. My daughter still felt like a princess, but I would have loved to see her face light up when walking into the Cassatt room.

All in all, it was a really special trip and we look forward to staying at The Rittenhouse again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Kevin,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of The Rittenhouse! We greatly appreciate your feedback and are happy to announce that our lobby renovations will be completed in a few weeks time. We will once again be offering Afternoon Tea in Cassatt and will have an additional bar on the lobby level as well.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again sometime soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    309
    78
    27
    10
    6
See reviews for
107
141
23
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I wanted to give this hotel 4 stars I really did, but in truth it falls short of 'very good'

We arrived here by happy accident. We had mistakenly booked into the Rttenhouse 'boutique" hotel a few weekends prior. (its around the corner) We were greeted with champagne and cookies at reception and on realizing our mistake, we were invited to finish our treat before heading off to the hotel we had accidentally booked.
We were so impressed by this greeting that we vowed to return and use the hotel at a later date.
When we did return for 4 nights over Easter recently, no champagne and cookies! Oh well maybe it was a one off, I'm really curious to know?

We used lots of the facilities, including the spa and the french restaurant, and here are the ups and downs we experienced:-

The rooms are extremely large, comfortable and have fabulous views of the park. Maid service was top notch. The decor is dated, though, and a few fairly simple changes could spruce them up. We also had the room next door to the presidential suite, that has a piano. There was a young child staying next door in the suite who took a liking to said piano rather early...Soundproofing is not the best:)

Likewise, the spa (where we dropped about 600 bucks for 2) was tired and NOT up to the standard of a classy hotel. Small grubby changing rooms etc. The treatments themselves were fine, but I would choose somewhere more sumptuous next time. Work on the feng shui guys.

Dinner at the French restaurant (where we also dropped about $500 for 2) was quality as expected, but it didn't end well.... We took a fairly late booking around 9. We are European, so we don't bolt our food or do the "early bird" :) As the other dinners left and the ambience drifted away we were treated to the construction site scene of the tables being broken down for breakfast all around us. It was LOUD! It made us feel most unwelcome and "in the way" so we headed to the bar with our drinks. The waiter clocked what had happened and was most apologetic. As was the manager/sommelier who appeared. The right things were said, and they have noted that this should not happen. I truly believe they will put a stop to it, but alas for us, instead of staring into each others eyes amorously after a nice meal, we were discussing restaurant etiquette with the staff, the moment gone.

On the first night we arrived back at the hotel looking for the hotel bar for a nightcap. (Not terribly late, perhaps 10.45pm.) There is a bar in the french restaurant up on the second floor, but it is around the corner and you have to pass the host/hostess table to access it. We asked the guy on duty where the bar was as we wanted a nightcap and he said it would be closing shortly. When we exclaimed that a large hotel in a city closing its bar so early was not up to par, there was much back tracking and descriptions of how how the bar was often open until 1.am. We left, headed downstairs and found the bar in the steakhouse adjoining.
A bar in the lobby, (which is the heart of a hotel no?) would be most welcome.

We had rented bicycles that were delivered to the hotel. All went well there in retrieving and dropping off from the concierge to the bellmen, to the doormen.

There are some great staff in the hotel and I am sure that they work very hard, but perhaps a word of encouragement/advice from the senior management would be well placed.
An example.
In one elevator ride, a member of staff greeted me and chatted; wonderful.
On another occasion, two staff turned their back on me (the guest) and chatted together, I had to ask them to move so I could exit the elevator.
Its going that extra mile that makes the difference and in some departments things are not quite firing on all cylinders.
I hope that this criticism can be taken constructively. Its not in malice. I really was rooting for you all after the original champagne moment.

Will we go back?
Perhaps... We love Philly and the Rittenhouse neighbourhood in particular. The rooms have delightful views over the park.
On our last evening though we stopped for a drink at the Sofitel around the corner. In their "lobby bar" :)
We liked the vibe. Everything looked new, shiny and sophisticated. The barman was friendly. We will probably give them a try first.

Room Tip: We were in room 818. Wonderful views of the park but beware the grand piano next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Jonah,

We hope to earn not only "Very Good" but "Excellent" ratings from you on future visits. Many things are already in motion such as our lobby renovations complete with a new library and bar. Champagne on arrival is currently offered on weekend only but will be extended once our upgrades are complete. Further, the spa, salon and fitness area are next up for a complete face lift.

As always, we pride ourselves on service and sincerely hope that you return. Please feel free to contact me directly if I may be of any assistance whatsoever.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with a great location on Rittenhouse Square. For those familiar with the hotel's beautiful lobby--it is temporarily behind a wall while they complete renovations. We were disappointed since its one of its best features and includes the Cassatt Tea Room.
Rooms-nicely appointed. Beds--very comfortable (soft). Recommend the scrapple on the breakfast menu. Service in general seemed a bit off.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for joining us. We anticipate having our lobby fully completed in the next few weeks, complete with the Cassatt space an a new library and bar. Please forgive this short term disruption as we make permanent improvements to the property.

Looking forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My experience at The Rittenhouse Hotel was the best that I have ever experienced. This was the most expensive hotel that I have ever stayed in, and it was worth every penny. Starting with the lady who made my reservation to the young man who took care of my checkout, everything was outstanding. If I am ever in Philadelphia again, I will definitely stay at The Rittenhouse Hotel.

Room Tip: I experienced the King Suite which was first class and had a view of the Rittenhouse Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your high praise of The Rittenhouse. We are proud to have made such an impression on you and hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Amazing location, beautiful large rooms, great view, superb service. Free Jaguar, when available, to drive you to your favorite restaurant, or to your meeting! Small gym, but very well equipped. The service is among the best I ever experienced. I highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Philadelphia.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor room facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting and taking a moment to share your experience with others. Good to hear that our amenities are in keeping with what you expect. Please also note, our fitness and spa facilities will be fully upgraded and refreshed this fall. Please come back when you have the opportunity.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Having grown up in Philly, and now frequently visit my son at university of pennsylvania, i am especially aware of how special this hotel is. First the square area is easily the best location for any visitor to Philadelphia. Great shopping, wonderful restaurants, great scenery, and easy access, make this hotel the best. Beginning with the wonderful valet services, the staff are very kind and willing to provide great service. This hotel is more like a small luxury brand, despite its size. The check in is very efficient and navigating through the hotel is very easy. The restaurants are wonderful, especially you have to try the breakfast. American express has this hotel in their collection, hence, credits for food are available. All rooms are enormous, have a pull out sofa for a child, and have great bathrooms. Overall a great location, great staff, and a very comfortable experience. This is why, this is the only place to stay in philly...Very easy access to u of penn and drexel.............enjoy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Ira,

We can't thank you enough for touting our location, amenites and most of all-- service. We are a small independent hotel and truly feel this enables us to extend personal service to every guest. It means a great deal to us that you feel strongly enough to recommend us to others.

Please join us again soon!

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wow what a place. We have stayed in plenty of nice places,but this could be the best Philly has to offer. Top shelf rooms. Class and style all the way. Enjoyed this place tremendously. The decor is very high end and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was large and very well appointed. We will return here for sure. Place is close to everything and houses Smith&Wollensky and LaCroix

Room Tip: Get the 600 sq foot upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
It was a pleasure having you with us! We will continue to add to our amenities in the coming year and hope you are able to come back soon. Please continue to make us your hotel of choice and thank you for choosing to stay at The Rittenhouse...

-Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia
Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five Diamond Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel (23 years consecutively) is rated one of the top hotels in the World as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or the city. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Our Sunday Brunch is rated #1 in Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Otel, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rittenhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.