We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rittenhouse was a delight for my wife's birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Rittenhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Rittenhouse Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Rittenhouse was a delight for my wife's birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Rittenhouse was perfect for a special birthday weekend. Comfortable, great location, pleasant, sunny breakfast room and my wife was even able to watch a part of the Academy Awards while in a bubble bath!

Room Tip: Views toward the park are likely the best - but would be more expensive. We had a "City View&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Whether is for a special occasion or not, there is nothing like a bubble bath or leisurely stay in our hotel to relax and re-energize you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us...we hope to see you again whenever it is convenient for you. We truly appreciate your feedback on your visit.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    96
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
134
195
27
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed over for a night in the city. The location on Rittenhouse square is one of a kind; it is such a beautiful part of Center City. We had brunch the following morning. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Sharon,

Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and Sunday brunch. We truly pride ourselves on delivering on our promise of memorable experiences. Please continue to make us your hotel of choice in Philadelphia.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Since my guy’s birthday is just two days before Valentine’s Day, we started the tradition of taking a romantic 24 hour trip each year. This year was a little different because David will be spending his birthday and Valentine’s Day getting a new hip. It seems that over 40 years of drumming (30 years with The Hooters) has taken its toll.

What a treat it was to stay at Philadelphia’s premiere hotel, The Rittenhouse. We had a room with a view of beautiful Rittenhouse Square. We heard that Lacroix at The Rittenhouse is one of the best restaurants in Philadelphia! So, we took a look. The dining room also has a beautiful view of Rittenhouse Square. But, we had already made plans for dinner at Rouge. So, maybe next time.

It was Super Bowl Sunday and David started hinting that he wanted to head back to The Rittenhouse for a little pre-game action (yawn). When we returned to the room, a cold bottle of champagne and a little blue Tiffany’s birthday cake awaited us! David went for the TV. I went for the cake and champagne!

It was a great overnight getaway. A really special night for us...You can see all of my photos here:
http://thelatestdish.wordpress.com/2013/02/05/24-hours-on-philadelphias-rittenhouse-square/

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review of your recent stay. We truly appreciate your feedback and are heartened to hear that your weekend was so pleasant. Please join us again soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Not the first time I have stayed here and excellent as always. Unexpectedly upgraded as it was our anniversary to a larger room overlooking the park and a complimentary bottle of bubbly with some chocolate coated apricots; a very nice touch! Room was great and the food in Lacroix was superb. Dont miss the Sunday brunch which has a huge selection of unusual and delicious things ....not cheap at almost $70 a head but you wont have to eat for a week after it! Staff are unfailingly helpful. My only complaint would be there is no coffee maker in the room but that's just picky!

Room Tip: If you can afford it choose a room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Cathy,

It was a pleasure to have you with us again. Coming from an experienced traveller such as you, your comments are especially gratifying. We will continue to work hard to earn your loyalty--especially on the creativity side with our culiary offerings.

All the Best,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

All staff was pleasant. Only stayed for one night. If i catch myself in Pennsylvania I will be staying here. Nothing negative to say about this hotel. We are from FLorida but we had a family memebr to visit in Penn. but she didnt have room for us . Luckily the Rittenhouse did ! Thank You !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Jen,

Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed Philadelphia and the Rittenhouse! We will always have a room for you whenever you visit so please consider us your home while you are in the area.

Thank you for yor thoughtful review.

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our second stay at the Rittenhouse in the last year, and both trips were equally enjoyable. Excellent service level of each and every employee with whom we came in contact. We have stayed at some very elegant and exclusive hotels over the years, and to a person, the Rittenhouse staff has a unique blend of elegant, deferential service and warm engaging personalities. Not easy to do. Bravo!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Mink80,

Thank you for your recent second visit; we hope to be your go to hotel in Philadelphia for years to come. Your assesment is will be shared with all assosiates who will be greatly encouraged by your remarks. All the best to you and thanks again.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

My spouse and I stayed at the wonderful Rittenhouse Hotel on the day of the company Christmas party for our employees. We stayed on the 5th floor in a corner suite, which I believe was room 500. The suite was very spacious and the furnishings were comfortable and very clean. The make-up vanity was an added bonus for me and the bathroom was great, with the exception of a very small shower stall. The bed was too soft for our preference as well. The room service was amazing... I highly recommend the truffle french fries. Of course it should be known that the staff are well groomed and extremely accommodating. Gida, who works at the front desk is very polite and catered to our every need. We even managed brunch reservations at the absolute last minute, after being on the waiting list on our own, thanks to her.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Andrea N,

It is a pleasure to hear about your recent experience at The Rittenhouse. Thank you for recognizing Gida's efforts, she is truly dedicated and a wonderful addition to our team.

Please know that we are in the process of switching to firmer mattresses throughout and have many other upgrades scheduled this year. Please come back to visit at your earliest convenience.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star and AAA Five Diamond award winning Rittenhouse Hotel (25 years consecutively) is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Our Sunday Brunch is rated #1 in Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rittenhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.