We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations, Great for Families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Rittenhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Rittenhouse Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Indulgence Spa Pack
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations, Great for Families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I traveled the world for 18 months and, as you can imagine, stayed in many hotels along the way - few stand out anymore now that we are home. But the Rittenhouse is an exception - the service is incredibly attentive, to giving my very sleepy kids presents from the "Treasure Box" when we arrived, to helping us with our car, directions, welcome cookies, etc.

Most recently, my husband discovered he left his shoes there, and almost a month later (of course, he didn't tell me until now) they located them and promptly put them in the mail. If you've ever lost anything in a hotel before, I'm sure you agree that this almost never happens (actually finding them, and then having them sent to you).

As for the rooms, they are big, and comfortable. Even with four of us in a deluxe room (one bed, one pullout, and a crib), we slept great. The bathrooms are large and luxurious. We had a nice view of Rittenhouse Square.

Basically, it's hard to put your finger on the one things that was great about it - because so much was - but I left the Rittenhouse feeling refreshed and happy, which is a sign of a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear walkaboutnyc,

Thank you for your thoughtful comments. We are very happy to hear about your favorable impressions of The Rittenhouse and that we were able to reunite your husband with his shoes. All of our team here truly cares about your experience. We hope to see you again when you next visit Philadelphia.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    89
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
125
174
26
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
earth
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our first time at the Rittenhouse. What a wonderful stay. I would rate this as one of the best hotel stays I've had in a very long time. Definitely five diamond five star quality.
We had a deluxe room which according to descriptions was 600 sq. ft. They weren't kidding. Granted not a great view, since we faced some buildings rather than the park, but it was just fine. The room is spacious. Furniture, older style, are kept nice and clean and well-maintained. Walk-in closet. Large flat screen TV and free wifi. King size bed is comfy, though perhaps a little soft. Bathroom is huge, with walk in shower as well as tub, and a separate aclove for the toilet. There's also, out the bathroom, a make-up area for the ladies (guys too, I suppose). Good water pressure. LATHER toiletries. Nice thick towels. Bathrobes are thick and soft. Slippers provided as well.
We did not use the turndown service, because we were tired after dinner. So can't comment.
But dinner at LaCroix is excellent. We loved every dish. A four-course dinner (with numerous choices) for $75. At this quality of restaurant, what a steal. Service is excellent too. I'd highly recommend it.
Overall, very very impressed with this hotel. Will definitely look to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
It is heartening to see that we aren't "chopped liver"! Thank you so much for taking the time to tell others about your experience here at the Rittenhouse. We look forward to seeing you whenever your travels bring you to Philadelphia.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I checked in for a romantic weekend during President's Day weekend in February. From the minute we checked in, we were treated like the most important people in the hotel and made to feel like a million dollars everywhere we went.

Our room was spacious with a wonderful sitting area and an amazing shower/bathroom. Our bed a defect in it and I complained the next morning and the staff responded by refunding us a portion of our stay. I couldn't be happier with how we were treated by this gesture by management.

The Spa was wonderful and my wife and I had great massages while we were there and I would recommend visiting the spa/workout facilities which were first class.

It is located in one of the best areas of the cities and we walked around the corner to go to dinner and lunch the next day at two of the best restaurants in the city.

Our experience could not have been better!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear cdk104,

Thank you for visiting and posting your review of the Rittenhouse. It is a pleasure to hear what a positive experience you had overall; especially since you had an issue and it was quickly resolved once brought to our attention. We often find this is the best route for speedy recovery of any glitch.

Best wishes to you and your family for the holidays! Please come back to see us again soon.

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I read mixed reviews about the Rittenhouse hotel and did not know what to expect. My stay there was amazing, excellent large rooms, very good location and excellent customer service as well. Everybody was friendly and helpful. It is definitely a hotel with special character. The rate is a little of high side but overall it is a good place to stay in Philly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear mungo777Omaha,

The vast majority of our reviews on TripAdvisor and elsewhere are overwhelmingly positive. I am happy to see that you concur with that assesment based on your recent visit.

Please consider us your home while in Philadephia. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about us.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Rittenhouse many times, and it is an excellent hotel. It has a perfect location on Rittenhouse square. The rooms are good sized and very nicely appointed. Unlike some other comments that have been posted, I think the room decor is outstanding. So many top flight hotels these days have gone metal, sterile and cold with their decor, whereas the Rittenhouse rooms have a tremendous sense of home, comfort and sanctuary. These are rooms that you actually like to spend time in on a rainy day with a good book! I hope as the hotel refreshes the decor in 2013 that it doesn't lose any of these fine qualities, and resists the urge to go trendy.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Travelpro513,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments. We will certainly keep our focus on comfort and home-like warmth when we refresh our rooms in the coming year. Our real focus will remain on personal service which will never change... no matter how many times we upgrade the product.

The fact that you are a frequent and repeat guest is very important to us. Please let me know if I may ever be of any assistance at all.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is not part of a chain, but I really enjoyed this hotel.
The rooms a re extremely well equipped, with a sitting area besides the bed room. They have great room service, including polishing your shoes free of charge and are very helpful in every way.
Considering the hotel grade, not too expensive.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear yacovk,

Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your experience at the Rittenhouse. We are an independent hotel and are therefore more flexible than others when it comes to how we approach service. I am happy to see that you found us both refreshing and welcoming.

Please make us your hotel of choice in Philadelphia. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a good hotel in a good part of Philadelphia, but it doesn't quite live up to the hype on here or the self-celebration you come upon at every turn in the hotel itself. The building is an 80s or 90s concrete and girder construction, and the dated sumptuousness of the hotel seems somewhat pasted on, and a tiny bit shabby. Rooms are large and very comfortable. Service was excellent on the whole, except when we crashed the ground-floor lounge whilst afternoon tea was being served, and collapsed onto a sofa after a long day of walking in the city. We were more or less shooed out of the room as if we were homeless tramps who didn't belong in the hallowed halls and pretentious splendour of the tea lounge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mr. Bager,

Thank you for your thoughtful comments regarding your stay at our hotel. While our afternoon tea is quite popular at this time of year, we always reserve spots for our guests. I am truly sorry if you were made to feel unwelcome in any way. Please let me know the next time you plan to return and we will gladly arrange to have you join us with our compliments for this offering.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five Diamond Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel (24 years consecutively) is rated one of the top hotels in the World as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or the city. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Our Sunday Brunch is rated #1 in Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rittenhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.