We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, amazing service, superior rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Rittenhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rittenhouse Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Indulgence Spa Pack
Ranked #2 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, amazing service, superior rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I checked in for a romantic weekend during President's Day weekend in February. From the minute we checked in, we were treated like the most important people in the hotel and made to feel like a million dollars everywhere we went.

Our room was spacious with a wonderful sitting area and an amazing shower/bathroom. Our bed a defect in it and I complained the next morning and the staff responded by refunding us a portion of our stay. I couldn't be happier with how we were treated by this gesture by management.

The Spa was wonderful and my wife and I had great massages while we were there and I would recommend visiting the spa/workout facilities which were first class.

It is located in one of the best areas of the cities and we walked around the corner to go to dinner and lunch the next day at two of the best restaurants in the city.

Our experience could not have been better!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear cdk104,

Thank you for visiting and posting your review of the Rittenhouse. It is a pleasure to hear what a positive experience you had overall; especially since you had an issue and it was quickly resolved once brought to our attention. We often find this is the best route for speedy recovery of any glitch.

Best wishes to you and your family for the holidays! Please come back to see us again soon.

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    87
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
121
163
25
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
omaha
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I read mixed reviews about the Rittenhouse hotel and did not know what to expect. My stay there was amazing, excellent large rooms, very good location and excellent customer service as well. Everybody was friendly and helpful. It is definitely a hotel with special character. The rate is a little of high side but overall it is a good place to stay in Philly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear mungo777Omaha,

The vast majority of our reviews on TripAdvisor and elsewhere are overwhelmingly positive. I am happy to see that you concur with that assesment based on your recent visit.

Please consider us your home while in Philadephia. Thank you for taking the time to tell others about us.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Rittenhouse many times, and it is an excellent hotel. It has a perfect location on Rittenhouse square. The rooms are good sized and very nicely appointed. Unlike some other comments that have been posted, I think the room decor is outstanding. So many top flight hotels these days have gone metal, sterile and cold with their decor, whereas the Rittenhouse rooms have a tremendous sense of home, comfort and sanctuary. These are rooms that you actually like to spend time in on a rainy day with a good book! I hope as the hotel refreshes the decor in 2013 that it doesn't lose any of these fine qualities, and resists the urge to go trendy.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Travelpro513,

Thank you so much for your thoughtful comments. We will certainly keep our focus on comfort and home-like warmth when we refresh our rooms in the coming year. Our real focus will remain on personal service which will never change... no matter how many times we upgrade the product.

The fact that you are a frequent and repeat guest is very important to us. Please let me know if I may ever be of any assistance at all.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is not part of a chain, but I really enjoyed this hotel.
The rooms a re extremely well equipped, with a sitting area besides the bed room. They have great room service, including polishing your shoes free of charge and are very helpful in every way.
Considering the hotel grade, not too expensive.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear yacovk,

Thank you for taking the time to let others know of your experience at the Rittenhouse. We are an independent hotel and are therefore more flexible than others when it comes to how we approach service. I am happy to see that you found us both refreshing and welcoming.

Please make us your hotel of choice in Philadelphia. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a good hotel in a good part of Philadelphia, but it doesn't quite live up to the hype on here or the self-celebration you come upon at every turn in the hotel itself. The building is an 80s or 90s concrete and girder construction, and the dated sumptuousness of the hotel seems somewhat pasted on, and a tiny bit shabby. Rooms are large and very comfortable. Service was excellent on the whole, except when we crashed the ground-floor lounge whilst afternoon tea was being served, and collapsed onto a sofa after a long day of walking in the city. We were more or less shooed out of the room as if we were homeless tramps who didn't belong in the hallowed halls and pretentious splendour of the tea lounge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mr. Bager,

Thank you for your thoughtful comments regarding your stay at our hotel. While our afternoon tea is quite popular at this time of year, we always reserve spots for our guests. I am truly sorry if you were made to feel unwelcome in any way. Please let me know the next time you plan to return and we will gladly arrange to have you join us with our compliments for this offering.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I had the pleasure of a week-long business stay at The Rittenhouse, perfectly located on the northwest corner of Rittenhouse Square which is the best community in the city. It is less than five minutes to countless shops, boutiques, cafes and bars. The room itself was surprising large, and everything was very clean and comfortable. I am not sure if the service was as anticipated, it was almost as if they knew that I had a lower than average room rate and thus seemed less interested in me than some of the other guests. Steak dinner at the on-site Smith and Wollensky was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear traveltime841,

Thank you for joining us and taking the time to review your experience. Regardless of room rate, you should expect the same levels of service throughout the hotel. I would be happy to follow up with you directly should you wish to elaborate further.

Regardless, we hope that you make us your go-to hotel in Philadelphia. Best wishes for the holidays to you and your family.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I was really disappointed! The hotel is shabby, the rooms pokey and sad (and I was upgraded to a suite) and the bathrooms were cramped and old fashioned. There is no charm --just drabness. I would pass on this experience. The valet parking is $49 and it took over 1/2 an hour to get my car in the morning and they weren't busy. Nothing was good here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Ginny00,

I am truly sorry that you came away so disappointed from your visit with us. Your point is well taken on the room product and all guest rooms are scheduled be refreshed in 2013. Regardless, all rooms at all times should be pleasantly appointed and immaculately clean despite their interior design.

Valet parking is charges are competitive with other hotels in Center City but we will happily adjust yours as a gesture of goodwill. Please join us again at your convenience. I assure you that your experience will be much more in keeping with what you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five Diamond Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel (24 years consecutively) is rated one of the top hotels in the World as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or the city. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Our Sunday Brunch is rated #1 in Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LHW, Expedia, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rittenhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.