We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not magnificent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Rittenhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rittenhouse Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Indulgence Spa Pack
Ranked #1 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Good but not magnificent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is a good hotel in a good part of Philadelphia, but it doesn't quite live up to the hype on here or the self-celebration you come upon at every turn in the hotel itself. The building is an 80s or 90s concrete and girder construction, and the dated sumptuousness of the hotel seems somewhat pasted on, and a tiny bit shabby. Rooms are large and very comfortable. Service was excellent on the whole, except when we crashed the ground-floor lounge whilst afternoon tea was being served, and collapsed onto a sofa after a long day of walking in the city. We were more or less shooed out of the room as if we were homeless tramps who didn't belong in the hallowed halls and pretentious splendour of the tea lounge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Mr. Bager,

Thank you for your thoughtful comments regarding your stay at our hotel. While our afternoon tea is quite popular at this time of year, we always reserve spots for our guests. I am truly sorry if you were made to feel unwelcome in any way. Please let me know the next time you plan to return and we will gladly arrange to have you join us with our compliments for this offering.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    87
    29
    11
    6
See reviews for
121
163
25
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I had the pleasure of a week-long business stay at The Rittenhouse, perfectly located on the northwest corner of Rittenhouse Square which is the best community in the city. It is less than five minutes to countless shops, boutiques, cafes and bars. The room itself was surprising large, and everything was very clean and comfortable. I am not sure if the service was as anticipated, it was almost as if they knew that I had a lower than average room rate and thus seemed less interested in me than some of the other guests. Steak dinner at the on-site Smith and Wollensky was excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear traveltime841,

Thank you for joining us and taking the time to review your experience. Regardless of room rate, you should expect the same levels of service throughout the hotel. I would be happy to follow up with you directly should you wish to elaborate further.

Regardless, we hope that you make us your go-to hotel in Philadelphia. Best wishes for the holidays to you and your family.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I was really disappointed! The hotel is shabby, the rooms pokey and sad (and I was upgraded to a suite) and the bathrooms were cramped and old fashioned. There is no charm --just drabness. I would pass on this experience. The valet parking is $49 and it took over 1/2 an hour to get my car in the morning and they weren't busy. Nothing was good here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Ginny00,

I am truly sorry that you came away so disappointed from your visit with us. Your point is well taken on the room product and all guest rooms are scheduled be refreshed in 2013. Regardless, all rooms at all times should be pleasantly appointed and immaculately clean despite their interior design.

Valet parking is charges are competitive with other hotels in Center City but we will happily adjust yours as a gesture of goodwill. Please join us again at your convenience. I assure you that your experience will be much more in keeping with what you expect.

Sincerely yours,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is the second stay at the Rittenhouse Hotel and, once again, we were most impressed. Everything, from reservations to departure was topnotch. The rooms were large, clean and quiet. The location is perfect, allowing easy access to the historic area and UPenn. We had breakfast at their restaurant on two occasions. Food was good, service was perfect, and the view of Rittenhouse Square was quite nice.
Although the hotel itself is exquisite, what we most appreciated was the attentive and friendly service. This staff at this hotel went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and memorable. In fact, I had asked for a fan and one was promptly brought up to our room. It was a bit noisy, so I called housekeeping and requested another. I was told that they had no more fans. When I asked them to keep me in mind when one was returned, I was dumbfounded when I was told that they'd go out and buy one. Two hours later, a brand new fan was delivered to my room. If that's not service, I don't know what is! 5 STARS!

Room Tip: Just be very specific about what you want and, from our experience, you will not be disappointed. R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Mac5Miami_FL,

We truly appreciate your review of your stay. Personalized service is very important to us and I am happy to see that you experienced this first hand.

I look forward to sharing your feedback with the entire team, who will certainly be encouraged by your thoughtful remarks.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is a lovely hotel in an excellent location. The restaurants and spa are wonderful. My room was clean and very nice. With the exception of the housekeeping staff and the bellman/valet staff, the hotel staff were not very friendly or warm. The front desk staff were slow to respond and void of personality and warmth. As a result, I did not like the feel of the hotel. I think with friendlier attentive staff this could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Katie2242,

Thank you for choosing us for your Philadelphia home. I am truly saddened to hear about your experience at the Front Desk because it certainly is not representative of how we normally treat our guests. Our emphasis is always on personal service and warmth. Clearly, we fell far short of the mark during your visit.

I will research this to find the root cause and thank you for bringing this to our attention. It is through thoughtful comments such as yours that we can improve.

Please feel free to contact me directly if I may be of any assitance going forward.

Sincerely yours,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The staff was very attentive. The rooms was large, well-appointed and clean. Turn down service was available and the room was "straightened up". The hotel is well located. The food is excellent and room service was very prompt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Bud290,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay at the Rittenhouse. I look forward to sharing it with housekeeping and our food and beverage teams. We focus quite a bit on engagement and attentiveness to expressed and unexpressed wishes. I am happy to see this quality was evident when you joined us.

We look forwrd to seeing you again in Philadelphia.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was a one night stay over the weekend and was booked via the American Express Fine Hotel and Resorts (FHR) program. My complaint is that the hotel only lets you use the special amenity of "US$100 food and beverage credit to be used during your stay" at Lacroix at the Rittenhouse and you are informed this at check-in via a letter. However, the American Express website lists BOTH restaurants at The Rittenhouse Hotel as Smith and Wollensky, and Lacroix as dinning options; thus the title of my review as you are lead to believe that F&B credit is good at either upon booking. I suggest that hotel inform AmEx of this policy to alert potential customers on the FHR website during the booking process, as I wouldn't of stayed here as solo traveler on a leisure trip.

Also, my impression was that the front desk was uninterested, but maybe this was because I was a NY Giant fan in town for the Giant-Eagle Sunday Night game.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Messina,

Thank you for your observations regarding the FHR web site and our Front Office. We will reach out to our partners at American Express this week to correct this discrepancy. I am truly sorry about any confusion and understand yur disappointment based on the information provided.

On the Front Office point, we accomodate fans from all NFL cities regardless or rivalries... In all seriousness, the fact that we weren't as warm and welcoming as we should have been is concerning and has been adressed. I appreciate you bringing these items to my attention because your comments are be taken in a constructive manner.

Please consider us you home away from home and thank you for chosing to stay with us. If I may ever be of assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five Diamond Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel (24 years consecutively) is rated one of the top hotels in the World as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or the city. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Our Sunday Brunch is rated #1 in Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LHW, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rittenhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.