We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location...location...location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Rittenhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Rittenhouse Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location...location...location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Rittenhouse Hotel is the perfect location for a Philadelphia visit. Our room overlooks the Rittenhouse Square and with the fall foliage it is a spectacular view. Room is spacious with plush towels and linens. Walking distance to the historic area (we walked to the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall today). Surrounded by dozens of wonderful restaurants. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I'm sure all views are good....but we love looking over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Lotsoftravel904,

We are certainly proud of our location on the west side of Rittenhouse Square in Philadelphia. No matter if you have a park or city view, all 111 of our guest rooms are within a stone's throw to all that Center City has to offer. We hope to see you again soon when your travel plans allow.

Thank you for posting your review based on your visit.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    96
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
134
195
27
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel truly belongs in the Leading Hotels of the World family. From the moment you enter you are treated as a welcome guest. Room was very large with excellent amenities. Housekeeping was extremely detailed. The location is excellent, within walking distance of the train station if desired. LaCroix restaurant is superb as is the service. I have always had simply an outstanding experience every time here. The bath has both a large walk in marble shower as well as a large separate tub. Beds are very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear FScfs,

We are proud to be one of the Leading Hotels of the World and very pleased to see how much you enjoyed our location, amenities and most of all service... I look forward to sharing your review with our entire team. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our efforts and please come back again soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Exceptional service and comfort. No doubt pricey, you do get what you pay for. Location is perfect, walking distance to walnut street which has heaps of eatery and shopping. A short drive to Independence Hall and South Street, about 15 minutes away. Rittenhouse Square is literally at your doorstep, beautiful park to sit and observe your surrounding. We had dinner at PARC which is across the road, exceptional french cuisine that doesn't break the pocket.

Lacroix Brunch - We were a tad disappointed by the variety of food but it was of good quality. The most memorable part for us was being in the kitchen (i.e. part of the buffet is in the kitchen) and meeting the chefs.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here even though it was just a 1 night weekend getaway. Be sure to check out the free early evening cocktail and cookies provided near the reception desk!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Essie3,

It was our pleasure to have you with us. Thank you for pointing out some of the unique and inviting features of our property. Point well taken about our Sunday Brunch... We regularly change and add to our selections and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our Executive Chef who will certainly look to local purveyors for fresh fall flavors.

Please be sure to come back whenever it is convenient. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a three day stay at The Rittenhouse. We have stayed in a variety of luxury hotels over the years, but there is an attention to detail and a warmth of service that truly sets this hotel above the rest. The rooms are gorgeous; the location on Rittenhouse Square is fantastic; the lobby area is beautiful and serene. We have stayed in two other hotels in Philadelphia but I can't imagine not coming back to the Rittenhouse on our next visit to Pholadelphia.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear State of Mainer,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you have made us your Philadelphia address due in no small part to the dedication of our team. Location and amenities are certainly important, but warmth in service is the truly our hallmark.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I as well as our two boys (ages 9 & 11) stayed at the Rittenhouse Hotel for 4 nights at the end of August. We selected this hotel based on its stellar reviews and awards that had been given to this property, as well as the location. The staff, rooms, location and service exceeded our expectations. Upon check-in the children selected a prize from their treasure chest which immediately made them feel welcome. We were then given cookies, strawberries and champagne. Turndown service in the evening with kid size slippers was an incredible touch- our children felt like royalty. The rooms were beautifully furnished and spacious. We ate at Lacroix for breakfast twice and it was wonderful. Being across from a beautiful park as well as numerous shops and restaurants was an added bonus. On the second night of our trip we had an issue with the valet, and the staff was more than gracious in trying to improve the quality of our stay after the unfortunate event we had to deal with. We were given a room upgrade to a spectacular suite as well as continued impeccable service. We had come to Philadelphia to sight see but this suite was so beautiful that we didn't want to leave! The views were gorgeous as well as the furnishings and comfort of this spacious suite. A special thank you to the entire staff- including Rosella, Andrew and Shamus for your kindness. It was very hard to leave the Rittenhouse Hotel and we hope to visit again soon. We could not imagine staying anywhere else!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are so lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Chele,

It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a pleasant visit. We try to be as child friendly as possible...many of our biggest fans are our youngest guests because of our amenities and service geared towards them. I am happy that your valet issue was resolved and that Rosella, Andrew and Shamus made such a favorable impression. I look forward to sharing your comments with them.

Many thanks for sharing your experience with others.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went to Philly for a long weekend and stayed at the Rittenhouse....It was A+ from beginning to end....I highly recommend it. The accommodations, staff and location were perfect for a visit to Philadelphia!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Linda,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rittenhouse and posting your review. We hope to have you with us whenever you visit Philadelphia. In the meantime we wish you safe travels.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Rittenhouse Hotel after a stay at Rehoboth Beach where we went to visit family. The Rittenhouse was lovely. The standard room was large with a good view. The bathroom was large with great shower. The bed wonderfully comfortable with fine linens. The concierge was so warm and helpful. We wished to stay in Philly to visit the Barnes Foundation Museum which alone was worth our flight from Colorado and to dine at Vetri which was fabulous! We loved the center location of the Rittenhouse - good shopping and restaurants (don't miss Vernick) a great little Farmer's Market set up Saturday morning, walking distance to the Barnes, and a quick cab ride to the airport. I think we will make this a tradition after coming back to visit our families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear J&KBoulder,

Thank you so much. It was our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to seeing you whenever you are in Philadelphia. Central location, room size, proximity to the airport and genuine service set us apart from other area hotels. Your comments are greatly appreciated by our entire team.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forbes Four Star and AAA Five Diamond award winning Rittenhouse Hotel (25 years consecutively) is rated one of the top hotels in the world as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or University City. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Our Sunday Brunch is rated #1 in Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rittenhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.