We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer in Philly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rittenhouse Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Rittenhouse Hotel to your Saves list
The Rittenhouse Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Indulgence Spa Pack
Ranked #2 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Summer in Philly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Exceptional service and comfort. No doubt pricey, you do get what you pay for. Location is perfect, walking distance to walnut street which has heaps of eatery and shopping. A short drive to Independence Hall and South Street, about 15 minutes away. Rittenhouse Square is literally at your doorstep, beautiful park to sit and observe your surrounding. We had dinner at PARC which is across the road, exceptional french cuisine that doesn't break the pocket.

Lacroix Brunch - We were a tad disappointed by the variety of food but it was of good quality. The most memorable part for us was being in the kitchen (i.e. part of the buffet is in the kitchen) and meeting the chefs.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here even though it was just a 1 night weekend getaway. Be sure to check out the free early evening cocktail and cookies provided near the reception desk!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Essie3,

It was our pleasure to have you with us. Thank you for pointing out some of the unique and inviting features of our property. Point well taken about our Sunday Brunch... We regularly change and add to our selections and I will be sure to pass on your comments to our Executive Chef who will certainly look to local purveyors for fresh fall flavors.

Please be sure to come back whenever it is convenient. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    89
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
125
174
26
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a three day stay at The Rittenhouse. We have stayed in a variety of luxury hotels over the years, but there is an attention to detail and a warmth of service that truly sets this hotel above the rest. The rooms are gorgeous; the location on Rittenhouse Square is fantastic; the lobby area is beautiful and serene. We have stayed in two other hotels in Philadelphia but I can't imagine not coming back to the Rittenhouse on our next visit to Pholadelphia.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear State of Mainer,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you have made us your Philadelphia address due in no small part to the dedication of our team. Location and amenities are certainly important, but warmth in service is the truly our hallmark.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I as well as our two boys (ages 9 & 11) stayed at the Rittenhouse Hotel for 4 nights at the end of August. We selected this hotel based on its stellar reviews and awards that had been given to this property, as well as the location. The staff, rooms, location and service exceeded our expectations. Upon check-in the children selected a prize from their treasure chest which immediately made them feel welcome. We were then given cookies, strawberries and champagne. Turndown service in the evening with kid size slippers was an incredible touch- our children felt like royalty. The rooms were beautifully furnished and spacious. We ate at Lacroix for breakfast twice and it was wonderful. Being across from a beautiful park as well as numerous shops and restaurants was an added bonus. On the second night of our trip we had an issue with the valet, and the staff was more than gracious in trying to improve the quality of our stay after the unfortunate event we had to deal with. We were given a room upgrade to a spectacular suite as well as continued impeccable service. We had come to Philadelphia to sight see but this suite was so beautiful that we didn't want to leave! The views were gorgeous as well as the furnishings and comfort of this spacious suite. A special thank you to the entire staff- including Rosella, Andrew and Shamus for your kindness. It was very hard to leave the Rittenhouse Hotel and we hope to visit again soon. We could not imagine staying anywhere else!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are so lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Chele,

It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a pleasant visit. We try to be as child friendly as possible...many of our biggest fans are our youngest guests because of our amenities and service geared towards them. I am happy that your valet issue was resolved and that Rosella, Andrew and Shamus made such a favorable impression. I look forward to sharing your comments with them.

Many thanks for sharing your experience with others.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We went to Philly for a long weekend and stayed at the Rittenhouse....It was A+ from beginning to end....I highly recommend it. The accommodations, staff and location were perfect for a visit to Philadelphia!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Linda,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Rittenhouse and posting your review. We hope to have you with us whenever you visit Philadelphia. In the meantime we wish you safe travels.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Rittenhouse Hotel after a stay at Rehoboth Beach where we went to visit family. The Rittenhouse was lovely. The standard room was large with a good view. The bathroom was large with great shower. The bed wonderfully comfortable with fine linens. The concierge was so warm and helpful. We wished to stay in Philly to visit the Barnes Foundation Museum which alone was worth our flight from Colorado and to dine at Vetri which was fabulous! We loved the center location of the Rittenhouse - good shopping and restaurants (don't miss Vernick) a great little Farmer's Market set up Saturday morning, walking distance to the Barnes, and a quick cab ride to the airport. I think we will make this a tradition after coming back to visit our families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear J&KBoulder,

Thank you so much. It was our pleasure to have you with us and we look forward to seeing you whenever you are in Philadelphia. Central location, room size, proximity to the airport and genuine service set us apart from other area hotels. Your comments are greatly appreciated by our entire team.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

I so wanted to be able to say wonderful things about our stay in this supposedly top hotel in my hometown, for which we uncharacteristically paid **rack rate.** There were some pros: the location can't be beat. The standard room was huge and, save for some scuffs on the walls, clean. The bathtub was deep and the shower was great. We were provided with a NY Times each morning, including Sunday. Bathrobes clean and comfy. Air-conditioning control accurate. Some really nice staff members. But mostly, things were just "off": email exchange ahead of time assured a feather-free room (allergies) yet down pillows were on the bed when we arrived; no Do Not Disturb tag, two requests to get one; some of the "luxury" towels stiff and frayed; morning room cleanup did not include water bottles in a city with notoriously awful tap water; evening turndown the last night (only time we opted for service) provided 1 water bottle and a floor mat next to my husband's side of the bed, with slippers marked "gent" on the bag, nothing on my side (weird). No yoga mats to borrow, even in fitness center (where the front desk attendant told me to go and check, rather than picking up the phone and checking for me). I could go on, but you get the picture. When visiting family in Philly, we normally stay at a Residence Inn, where a little bit of roughness around the edges is to be expected. At an expensive Center City hotel that boasts about its many awards, it is not. The hotel was recently sold. The new ownership certainly has its work cut out for it. In the meantime, if you decide to stay there, know what you're getting into.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear JesterT10,

Your observations are spot on in that while we are very good, we can and should do better. All terry is currently being replaced and there will be a series of refurbishments throughout the hotel in the coming year, including the entire fitness operation from top to bottom. Simple requests such as foam pillows and DND signs must be quickly and seamlessly fulfilled.

I hope you join us again soon. Rest assured, there will be continuous and sustained improvements to the property and our attention to detail.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I love this grand old hotel. The staff is very friendly, the lobby area beautiful, and the rooms extremely large and comfortable. The decadence of the large marble bathrooms, with separate tub and shower and television, along with separate vanity area is fun! Huge closets, robes, turn down service with bottled water, radio on, lights dimmed, bed turned down and slippers by the bed all a very nice touch.

Check in was fine. She asked if we were return guests (wouldn't that be in their system?) and then gave us a complementary upgrade to a something room. Not sure about the upgrade as it looked like all the rooms we have stayed in here. Disappointed it was not overlooking the park, I should have asked for that. Tip: ask for even numbered rooms for a view.

We received a nice fruit basket and note for being return customers. This was very nice.

Love having cocktails at the bar in Lacroix. Bartenders are always so friendly, and love the happy hour complementary snacks... yum. Did not, however, like hearing the bartender chastised by wait staff (or management?) for not cooling down a vodka correctly. If necessary, this should have been done behind the scenes, not in front of guests. I thought she was fantastic and a prime example of friendly and accommodating staff that make me want to return to this hotel again and again. For example, she made us a special favorite cocktail that was no longer on the menu. In fact she keeps some frozen grapes for it because she knows people still want this drink..

The only suggestion I would have for improvement: get different bed pillows! They are so thick, hard and unyielding they are very uncomfortable!

Wish we were staying here for son's college graduation next spring, but due to the "holiday rate" and non refundable policy for that weekend, we have to go to our number 2 favorite Philly hotel, the Four Seasons.

Room Tip: Choose even numbered rooms for a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reginald A, General Manager at The Rittenhouse Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear MelvinaSt.Louis,

Thank you for sharing your observations on your recent visit. I am happy to report that all bedding, incluing pillows, will be replaced as part of a rooms refurbishment in the coming months. Not sure about the vodka temperature in Bar 210 but we will certainly rsearch and find out.

Regardless, we are proud to be your favorite Philadelphia hotel and hope to continue to be.

Best Regards,

Reg Archambault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Rittenhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rittenhouse Hotel

Address: 210 West Rittenhouse Square, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#1 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Rittenhouse Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AAA Five Diamond Award winning Rittenhouse Hotel (24 years consecutively) is rated one of the top hotels in the World as well as #1 hotel in Pennsylvania by Travel + Leisure. The Rittenhouse has an ideal location directly on Rittenhouse Square for business or pleasure. Guests may walk out with easy access to boutique shopping, restaurants and the Center City business district is just steps away. The guestrooms at the Rittenhouse are the largest in the city, the smallest measuring 450-600 square feet, with views of Rittenhouse Square or the city. Guests enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi, overnight shoe shine and newspaper delivery to their room. Lacroix at the Rittenhouse is one of the top restaurants in Philadelphia with panoramic views of Rittenhouse Square. Our Sunday Brunch is rated #1 in Philadelphia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Rittenhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Hotel Philadelphia
Rittenhouse Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rittenhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.