We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service in lovely boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Latham Hotel to your Saves list
Latham Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service in lovely boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The staff at the Latham Hotel went out of their way to accommodate our late arriving wedding guests and to arrange a toast to the bride and groom. The hotel is in a great location, our rooms were quiet and comfortable, and the staff was very helpful with restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Carlcat 2013,

Thank you for your fantastic review. I am glad to hear we were able to make a special weekend memorable, and wish all the best to the new bride and groom! Hope to see you again for your next visit to the City of Brotherly Love!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    157
    42
    9
    7
See reviews for
81
171
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The Latham hotel is described as an "upscale", "boutique" hotel in the heart of historic Philadelphia. The terms "upscale' and "boutique" are obviously relative to frequent travelers. The location is certainly fantastic and guests are within easy walking range of historic attractions, interesting shopping destinations and great restaurants.

The rooms are nicely appointed and acceptably smaller than one might normally enjoy as the hotel is an older building. The beds are incredibly comfortable and my wife and I wanted to take one home with us. Fantastic sleeps! The daily service staff are also fantastic and deserving of any tip you might be willing to leave.

The car service that the hotel offers is fantastic and the people who drive you are fantastic to deal with.

The bar staff was excellent in every respect - very friendly, accommodating (even if you have a special drink request), and professional. Every person that worked that bar deserves a medal because they saved the day on many occasions (we were there for six days). I would like to specifically commend the manager Sara, Anastasia, Johnny D. (who could also be a first class tour guide if you really want to see Philly) and the other fellow - sorry I forgot your name.

The term "boutique' is definitely appropriate but the descriptor "upscale" is somewhat bewildering. My real issues with this hotel are simple ones that do not really detract from the entire experience but if I managed this hotel I would most certainly take steps to account for the following deficiencies: (1) some of the concierge staff is brilliantly friendly, full of knowledge, and eager to please; the younger fellow with the glasses almost seemed annoyed at actually having a job in such a nice hotel; (2) the late night room service menu is a complete disaster as everything I ordered and everything my brother-in-law ordered was obviously made well in advance and was not worthy of the pricing nor was it worthy of even eating in the end - my brother-in-law ordered a Turkey Club after hours and it arrived wrapped, ice cold, with previously cooked bacon and of course the bread was not toasted. It did not get finished. (but why bother if you're going to serve your guests a bunch of day-care sandwiches); (3) It might be nice to have some form of convenience shop on the premises if anyone needed water, snacks, Tylenol, Advil, etc as opposed to guests having to venture out, potentially in the middle of the night for such items.

In my experience "upscale" should at least cover all of the, well I don't know, "downscale" amenities that one might find at most other hotels. Still, our party of three had a wonderful time and enjoyed our stay. I'm giving this location a four out of five, but with a little more attention to detail it could easily be a five out of five. Also, do Philadelphia Police officers really need to be asleep and snoring in the guest lounge? Take out the guest lounge and install some form of courtesy shop, in my humble opinion.

If you're there for business for a day this might be your place. If you're there for a period of time, it might not be your place.

Room Tip: if you have kids and you are on a trip for pleasure, this is not your ideal destination.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear action7272,

Thank you for taking time to share feedback on your experience here at The Latham Hotel Philadelphia! What fantastic feedback on our Food and Beverage team! They work hard to deliver great service, and are excited about the feedback we have received from our new All Day Menu, Cocktail, and Wine by the Bottle list! I wanted to take a moment to briefly address each of your concerns:

1.) We understand that service is one aspect of our guests stay completely within our control, and we work hard to deliver service that exceeds expectations! I am sorry to hear you had a negative experience with a member of our team, and will work hard to coach our team members to continue to provide superior customer service to each of our guests.

2.) Due to the time frame of the selections offered on our late night menu, all items must be prepared in advance as kitchen staff is not on location at the hour. All of our late night menu selections, which we have crafted with feedback from our guests, are prepared fresh every other day, and refrigerated for our guests enjoyment. If the selections on our Late Night Menu do not appeal to your taste, our staff are happy to recommend local dining options at any hour of the day.

3.) We are fortunate to have a building with ambiance and character, originally constructed in 1907. With that said, public space is at a premium and we have chosen to utilize our limited space to allow our guests to be productive, socialize and interact during their visit. Many convenience items are available upon request, though unfortunately staff members are not able to distribute any medicinal products of any kind. Fortunately, our close proximity to Rite Aid Pharmacy (1 block away) gives our guests a close option adjacent to the hotel where most if not all, small items found in a hotel sundry shop can be acquired.

Thank you again for taking the time to share feedback on your experience. We hope to have the opportunity to be your hotel of choice for any visit you have to our great city!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The staff at the hotel were not uniform in their knowledge of policies. I received several different answers regarding the parking policy and the amount of time that I would be charged for based upon my stay. The hotel also would not provide us silverware to eat food that we had brought in from outside of the hotel. The room was clean, but overpriced for the size.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Jenn1030,

Thank you for choosing The Latham Hotel Philadelphia on your visit to our great city this past August. Sorry your experience did not meet expectations, and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Since your visit a few months ago, we have instituted a uniform policy regarding our parking policy and ensured all staff members are trained and properly prepared to inform our guests. Our staff is also happy to provide cutlery upon request to any of our guests. I am confident if you were to return for a future visit, you would experience that your previous stay was not consistent with the level of service our team works hard to provide to each of our valued guests. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with the experience you deserve!

Thank you again for your time and feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Latham in Philadelphia was a disappointment to us. The location of the hotel is terrific but the lobby was cramped and unwelcoming. Our room was small which is fine but the problem was there wasn't a lamp on the desk; there was only one bedside table with a lamp (and it wasn't on my side of the bed) so I had to turn the trash can unside down to make a little table for my bottled water!! Also, the shower leaked and there was pubbles of water on the bathroom floor; the toilet paper holder wasn't secure in the wall so the toilet paper roll kept falling off (and once went into a pubble from the shower! There was no station listing for the TV which was a hassle trying to find a particualr channel and no luggage stand for your suitcases so we had to use the only chair in the room for a suitcase. Overall the hotel seemed to have that tired look which was a disappointment. I was expecting something with more pedigree then what we got. There was one great feature and that was their car and driver. It was available on a first come first serve basis but it was very helpful. We stayed only one night and we survivied but I won't be going back to the Latham.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Grace H,

Thank you for choosing The Latham Hotel on your recent visit to Philadelphia. I am concerned after reading your review and would like to speak with you directly to ensure your experience is consistent with the level of service and accommodations we are known to provide. I would appreciate it if you would contact me on my direct line at 215-825-3581, at a time that would be convenient for you.

Thank you again for being a guest of our hotel, and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spent a weekend at the Latham - perfectly located for a visit to the center of Philadelphia. Not a massive new hotel; the renovations within the last 2 years were done well. Rooms are a bit small, but very tastefull. Modern bathrooms - good AC. Fridge in the rooms, Very attentive service at the front desk, as well as at the front door. Weekend specials can be found on the internet. Very comfortable beds! Would happily stay here again for any visit to Philly.

Room Tip: A room on an upper floor, facing 17th street, would have a nice view including a bit of Rittenhouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear msmbedford,

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for sharing your experience here at The Latham Hotel Philadelphia! You touched on many of the attributes that make our property one of the top ranked properties in the city, and ensure our guests a memorable experience. Allow me to personally welcome you back anytime you are in our great city. We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this well-located hotel and very much enjoyed our stay. Every member of the staff was super friendly and courteous, the room was well-appointed, the cleanliness was excellent, and the location cannot be beat. A plus was the Lincoln Town Car with chauffeur that was not only available to take guests to their destinations ... for free!! ... but driver also came to collect us in the rain when we called the hotel. Highly recommend this hotel. Don't miss going to the nearby Macy's (formerly Wanamaker's) for a vision of what an old fashioned department store was like, plus free organ concerts on the fabulous organ there. Philadelphia is an under-rated city. Lots to see and do and the Latham is a great home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Seniortourist,

Thank you for your 5 star review! Our team works hard to ensure each of our valued guests are provided with a memorable experience. It is great to hear when we have achieved our goal of exceeding expectations, and we hope to have earned your loyalty for future visits you may have to the area. Thank you again for your time and feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We loved this hotel! It's conveniently located, the rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious, and the staff members are very friendly and helpful. An unexpected convenience is the hotel's car that will take you to places within the city, for free!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Marcia D,

Thank you for choosing The Latham Hotel on your recent visit to Philadelphia. We are thrilled to see you rated your experience as 5 stars, and wanted to take a moment to thank you for sharing your feedback with the world! We will continue to work to ensure we are providing a memorable experience for you each time you visit our great city. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Latham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latham Hotel

Address: 135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Latham Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a landmark building that dates back to 1907, The Latham Hotel welcomes guests to a coveted Rittenhouse Square address that seamlessly blends historic elegance with modern comfort. Our boutique hotel in Philadelphia's Center City is recognized on the National Register of Historic Places, showcasing the building's exquisite Victorian exterior along with a fully-renovated interior designed for today's urban traveler. For more than 40 years, The Latham Hotel has been offering guests a distinctive lodging experience among historic Philadelphia hotels, complemented by exceptional dining and gracious hospitality. Explore the city's illustrious past with a visit to the Liberty Bell and the National Constitution Center, located just minutes away. Expand your horizons at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, or cruise through Center City in style with our chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan. Experience the historic spirit of Philadelphia at Rittenhouse Square's premier boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Otel, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Latham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latham Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.