We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice smaller hotel near Rittenhouse Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Latham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Latham Hotel to your Saves list
Latham Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A very nice smaller hotel near Rittenhouse Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Spent a weekend at the Latham - perfectly located for a visit to the center of Philadelphia. Not a massive new hotel; the renovations within the last 2 years were done well. Rooms are a bit small, but very tastefull. Modern bathrooms - good AC. Fridge in the rooms, Very attentive service at the front desk, as well as at the front door. Weekend specials can be found on the internet. Very comfortable beds! Would happily stay here again for any visit to Philly.

Room Tip: A room on an upper floor, facing 17th street, would have a nice view including a bit of Rittenhouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear msmbedford,

I wanted to take a moment to thank you for sharing your experience here at The Latham Hotel Philadelphia! You touched on many of the attributes that make our property one of the top ranked properties in the city, and ensure our guests a memorable experience. Allow me to personally welcome you back anytime you are in our great city. We look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you on your next visit!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    147
    39
    8
    6
See reviews for
79
161
22
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We spent 4 nights in this well-located hotel and very much enjoyed our stay. Every member of the staff was super friendly and courteous, the room was well-appointed, the cleanliness was excellent, and the location cannot be beat. A plus was the Lincoln Town Car with chauffeur that was not only available to take guests to their destinations ... for free!! ... but driver also came to collect us in the rain when we called the hotel. Highly recommend this hotel. Don't miss going to the nearby Macy's (formerly Wanamaker's) for a vision of what an old fashioned department store was like, plus free organ concerts on the fabulous organ there. Philadelphia is an under-rated city. Lots to see and do and the Latham is a great home away from home.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Seniortourist,

Thank you for your 5 star review! Our team works hard to ensure each of our valued guests are provided with a memorable experience. It is great to hear when we have achieved our goal of exceeding expectations, and we hope to have earned your loyalty for future visits you may have to the area. Thank you again for your time and feedback and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We loved this hotel! It's conveniently located, the rooms are beautifully decorated and spacious, and the staff members are very friendly and helpful. An unexpected convenience is the hotel's car that will take you to places within the city, for free!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Marcia D,

Thank you for choosing The Latham Hotel on your recent visit to Philadelphia. We are thrilled to see you rated your experience as 5 stars, and wanted to take a moment to thank you for sharing your feedback with the world! We will continue to work to ensure we are providing a memorable experience for you each time you visit our great city. Hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Latham is located in the heart of center city and everything is close. We experienced good food - chain (IE: Chipotle, McDonalds, etc.) and local cheesesteaks (IE: Steve's on Chestnut was awesome and Federal Donuts is around the corner!) - that said, the rooms are a bit small for the price. For about the same amount, you can go a block away to a larger room at Sofitel. The upside to Latham is that it is a boutique hotel and the staff was very focused on making our trip memorable - which it was. Your call.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear ChicagoSpy,

Thank you for choosing The Latham Hotel on your recent visit to the area. We understand there are other options here in the Rittenhouse area of Center City. Though we strive to offer the best accommodations, service, and value for each guest we have the pleasure to accommodate. If future travels should bring you back to Philadelphia, we would be delighted to be your hotel of choice. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your visits more comfortable or accommodating!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
douglasville
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

from the time we pulled up in front to the time we left we were treated like someone special.the rooms are clean the staff was great and the courtesy car is an audi A8. john ,the driver took extra time to show us some sights and explained where to go and where to stay away. laction is in the middle of great part of town,we could walk to many sights. would definitely make this my hotel in philly

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper ask for backside rooms upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear destinationdeviant,

Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review! I will share your feedback with John and our entire team who work so hard to make our guests experience memorable. We will look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back, and ensure the best possible experience for each future visit you may have in our great city!


Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Enjoyed my recent stay at the Latham for business travel. Nicely appointed rooms. Bathroom in particular was quite small, but overall well designed. You cannot beat the location- it was nice to be able to talk to meetings on Broad St. while there. Only slight negatives would be that the rooms are somewhat small, as I said and I found the room service menu (for someone traveling along) to be pricey and not a great selection. But all in all I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear lindseybrow,

Thank you for choosing The Latham on your recent visit to Philadelphia. Our goal is to exceed expectations for each of our valued guests, and I am pleased to see we were able to help you achieve a successful business trip to the area. We have heard our guests feedback and will be rolling out a new dining room, and in room dining menu, that I invite you to try on your next trip whether for business or pleasure. Thank you for your time and feedback, I hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Located in downtown Phildelphia, right by Walnut St., this hotel is near many food options, that cater to many different tastes. Coffee, McDonald's, Applebee's, you name it.

The rooms are quite spacious, well kept, with free water and a cofee maker in room. The wi-fi is one of the speediest I've ever seen in a hotel, up to 14-15 mbps speeds most of the time.

One downside is that parking isn't on the premises, so you have to ask for your car to be taken to you and wait around 5-15 min for it to arrive. The doorman that takes care of this (a senior citizen I regret so much to have forgotten his name), though, provides excellent and courteous service, helping guests with luggage even in the busiest of times.

The rest of the staff provides good customer service too, making check-ins and check-outs on a fast and efficient way, with a smile.

I can fully recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Adriano G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at The Latham Hotel Philadelphia. After reading your comments, I am pleased to hear you had a positive experience. All of our guests are welcome to contact our front desk or bell staff to place an order for their vehicle, and help eliminate wait times. Thank you also for your feedback on Joe our bellman who has been with us for 43 years. He does a great job ensuring each of our guests luggage and transportation needs are taken care of in a friendly and efficient manner each day.

Thank you again for your time and feedback, we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Latham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latham Hotel

Address: 135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Latham Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a landmark building that dates back to 1907, The Latham Hotel welcomes guests to a coveted Rittenhouse Square address that seamlessly blends historic elegance with modern comfort. Our boutique hotel in Philadelphia's Center City is recognized on the National Register of Historic Places, showcasing the building's exquisite Victorian exterior along with a fully-renovated interior designed for today's urban traveler. For more than 40 years, The Latham Hotel has been offering guests a distinctive lodging experience among historic Philadelphia hotels, complemented by exceptional dining and gracious hospitality. Explore the city's illustrious past with a visit to the Liberty Bell and the National Constitution Center, located just minutes away. Expand your horizons at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, or cruise through Center City in style with our chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan. Experience the historic spirit of Philadelphia at Rittenhouse Square's premier boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Latham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latham Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.