We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great short visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Latham Hotel to your Saves list
Latham Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great short visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

beautiful boutique hotel. very convenient to attractions in philly. super clean and comfortable! recommend it highly. we were on the 12th floor so it was quiet and had a pretty view of the urban surroundings.

Room Tip: can't tell if any other room was different, but we were on the 12th floor and it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Infr,

Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review! I will be sure to share your feedback with our team, and continue to ensure our property is working hard to deliver the experience you have come to expect when visiting The Latham Hotel Philadelphia. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    157
    42
    9
    6
See reviews for
80
170
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We enjoyed staying at The Latham. I had lived/worked in Philadelphia some years ago and The Latham was a bit of a sleeper then. Now the rooms are fresh and comfortable, and the staff were generally very friendly. We had our small dog with us on this visit and that was very easy too. The shower faucet came off in our hands when we first used the shower and I would pay close attention to the white grout in the nicely re-done bathrooms! It is already starting to yellow! I would definitely stay again and recommend to others!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear lemmondd,

Thank you for staying with us here at The Latham Hotel Philadelphia on your recent visit to the area! I am glad to see you feel the same way about our recent renovations. What a difference! Any time you visit the area, we would be delighted to be your preferred hotel. Also a big thanks from our engineering department on helping us to continue to improve our property for current and future guests of our hotel!

Sincerely,

Mike Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Latham is well described on Trip Advisor. Staff is very friendly and service is great. We were able to check in early, albeit to a smaller room on the 3rd floor. But the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the water/coffee/tea was a nice touch. Both the car service, which we used to get to Independence Hall, and the valet were fast and convenient. Location is in the heart of Central Phila and close to everything. Minor issues - pipes were sometimes loud, room thermostat did not control temp and the bathroom lights were blindingly bright and hot. But overall our stay was comfortable and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Karen R,

Thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at The Latham Hotel Philadelphia! Our team does a great job of recognizing that it is the interactions we have with our guests that truly make an experience special, I am glad to see your interactions with our staff exceeded expectations. Sorry to hear of the maintenance issues you encountered in your guestroom, I have alerted our engineering department and we will work hard to ensure a flawless guestroom for future guests of our hotel.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to The City of Brotherly Love!

Thank you,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Room was lovely and very comfortable. Location was perfect short walk to everything. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear diane d,

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are thrilled you chose The Latham Hotel when visiting Philadelphia, and hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you on future visits to our great city. I will pass on your kudos to our staff on a job well done!

Sincerely,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Latham is an traditional service oriented hotel. My experience here, just felt comfortable from the time I arrived to check out and fetching a cab to the airport. I have nothing bad to say and I look forward to my next visit. Close to Rittenhouse Square, walking distance to great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear celtickirk,

Thank you for choosing The Latham Hotel on your recent visit to downtown Philadelphia! It would be our pleasure to be your preferred hotel whenever visiting The City of Brotherly Love. Please let me know if myself, or any member of our team can be of assistance today or at any point in the future!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were in Philadelphia for two days while getting our son settled into college for his freshman start. From the front desk clerk, concierge, wait staff, maid, driver and parking valet, I cannot speak more highly of a hotel staff. They were welcoming, friendly, cheerful and helpful. Location was excellent, room was very comfortable. We did have one little challenge, but the staff responded in an outstanding manner, which is all anyone can ask. That was the clincher. It's not if something happens, but when and how the staff responds to it. Next time in Philadelphia, we will certainly stay at the Latham. Can't see any reason not to continue to give them our business as they certainly earned it!

Room Tip: Executive King room on corner of building gives a great view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Robert J,

We understand that college move in can be a stressful time for students and parents alike. We are happy to do whatever we can to make the experience the most pleasant and accommodating it may be. Whenever you are in town, we certainly hope you chose to stay with us here at The Latham Hotel Philadelphia!

I hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Latham was for us a real great place, it's an old hotel, up-grated with pleasant room to enjoy after a long walk intoo the city.Of course you could hear some bathroom noise from your neighbourg or a discussion in the corridor, that's not a disagrement for us. The hotel is located in the best place surrounded by everything need for a tourist at walking distance. It's the place to stay for a great price in the heat of downtown. The Latham was perfect, one evening i ask the office man if i could find a place to reheat a pizza bought from the best pizzeria across the street. Belive it or not he find me a place to do so. Taking the time to come with me and find the place and reheating himself my pizza. It was asome for me. A top nutch service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear port0062,

Thank you for choosing The Latham Hotel Philadelphia on your recent visit to the area. Our goal is to provide the best possible experience for each of our valued guests, and I am very pleased to see we were able to make your stay memorable. Roman was the individual who reheated your pizza. He was thrilled to read your review. Thank you again for your comments and for your recognition!

Sincerely,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Latham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latham Hotel

Address: 135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Latham Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a landmark building that dates back to 1907, The Latham Hotel welcomes guests to a coveted Rittenhouse Square address that seamlessly blends historic elegance with modern comfort. Our boutique hotel in Philadelphia's Center City is recognized on the National Register of Historic Places, showcasing the building's exquisite Victorian exterior along with a fully-renovated interior designed for today's urban traveler. For more than 40 years, The Latham Hotel has been offering guests a distinctive lodging experience among historic Philadelphia hotels, complemented by exceptional dining and gracious hospitality. Explore the city's illustrious past with a visit to the Liberty Bell and the National Constitution Center, located just minutes away. Expand your horizons at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, or cruise through Center City in style with our chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan. Experience the historic spirit of Philadelphia at Rittenhouse Square's premier boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Latham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latham Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.