We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Latham Hotel

Save Saved
You added Latham Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Latham Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Latham is well described on Trip Advisor. Staff is very friendly and service is great. We were able to check in early, albeit to a smaller room on the 3rd floor. But the room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the water/coffee/tea was a nice touch. Both the car service, which we used to get to Independence Hall, and the valet were fast and convenient. Location is in the heart of Central Phila and close to everything. Minor issues - pipes were sometimes loud, room thermostat did not control temp and the bathroom lights were blindingly bright and hot. But overall our stay was comfortable and we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Karen R,

Thank you for your positive review on your recent stay at The Latham Hotel Philadelphia! Our team does a great job of recognizing that it is the interactions we have with our guests that truly make an experience special, I am glad to see your interactions with our staff exceeded expectations. Sorry to hear of the maintenance issues you encountered in your guestroom, I have alerted our engineering department and we will work hard to ensure a flawless guestroom for future guests of our hotel.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to The City of Brotherly Love!

Thank you,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    133
    32
    5
    6
See reviews for
71
148
19
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boonton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay very much. Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Room was lovely and very comfortable. Location was perfect short walk to everything. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear diane d,

Thank you for your fantastic review! We are thrilled you chose The Latham Hotel when visiting Philadelphia, and hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you on future visits to our great city. I will pass on your kudos to our staff on a job well done!

Sincerely,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Latham is an traditional service oriented hotel. My experience here, just felt comfortable from the time I arrived to check out and fetching a cab to the airport. I have nothing bad to say and I look forward to my next visit. Close to Rittenhouse Square, walking distance to great restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear celtickirk,

Thank you for choosing The Latham Hotel on your recent visit to downtown Philadelphia! It would be our pleasure to be your preferred hotel whenever visiting The City of Brotherly Love. Please let me know if myself, or any member of our team can be of assistance today or at any point in the future!

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were in Philadelphia for two days while getting our son settled into college for his freshman start. From the front desk clerk, concierge, wait staff, maid, driver and parking valet, I cannot speak more highly of a hotel staff. They were welcoming, friendly, cheerful and helpful. Location was excellent, room was very comfortable. We did have one little challenge, but the staff responded in an outstanding manner, which is all anyone can ask. That was the clincher. It's not if something happens, but when and how the staff responds to it. Next time in Philadelphia, we will certainly stay at the Latham. Can't see any reason not to continue to give them our business as they certainly earned it!

Room Tip: Executive King room on corner of building gives a great view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Robert J,

We understand that college move in can be a stressful time for students and parents alike. We are happy to do whatever we can to make the experience the most pleasant and accommodating it may be. Whenever you are in town, we certainly hope you chose to stay with us here at The Latham Hotel Philadelphia!

I hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The Latham was for us a real great place, it's an old hotel, up-grated with pleasant room to enjoy after a long walk intoo the city.Of course you could hear some bathroom noise from your neighbourg or a discussion in the corridor, that's not a disagrement for us. The hotel is located in the best place surrounded by everything need for a tourist at walking distance. It's the place to stay for a great price in the heat of downtown. The Latham was perfect, one evening i ask the office man if i could find a place to reheat a pizza bought from the best pizzeria across the street. Belive it or not he find me a place to do so. Taking the time to come with me and find the place and reheating himself my pizza. It was asome for me. A top nutch service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear port0062,

Thank you for choosing The Latham Hotel Philadelphia on your recent visit to the area. Our goal is to provide the best possible experience for each of our valued guests, and I am very pleased to see we were able to make your stay memorable. Roman was the individual who reheated your pizza. He was thrilled to read your review. Thank you again for your comments and for your recognition!

Sincerely,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

God I truly LOVE this place! My first trip ever to Philly I remember staying here, and every time ever since!
I mean I cannot gush about how amazing this place is! First of all, the location is spectacular. Located in Rhittenhouse Square, The Latham hotel is nestled in between some of the best places to shop and eat in downtown Philly. The hotel itself is very elegant, it's recently been remodeled. I especially love the bathroom, all marble, huge all glass showers, great lighting and mirrors even on the ceiling! The room is always nice, super comfy beds, big, soft, goose down comforters. Oh, and you MUST check out their gym if you're into working out. Their fitness center is so nice and looks right over Walnut on the corner across from the Juicy store. It's got complimentary towels, headphones, and bottled water as well.
Now I find the prices to be pretty fair, I've spent anywhere from $135-$215/ night. I've also found cheaper rooms at hotels in the area, but when I actually walked by those I was considering staying at that were cheaper, I'm glad I stuck with the Latham! When I travel I like the feeling of a nice, classy place to come back to. Some people don't care about that and would rather just save the money, I get it. But I love that I can walk right out the front door and have all the best Philly has to offer right at my fingertips.
It's a short distance from the lovely Rhittenhouse square park with all the great little eateries, boutiques, shops, and bars. I HIGHLY recommend staying here when you go to Philly, especially if it's your first time and you don't know the area. When I first went I had no clue about Philly, what to do or where to go, but I quickly discovered how amazing the city is when you're in the right spot!
This place is beautiful!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Ashley M,

Thank your for taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit, and for your loyalty throughout the years! We will continue to work hard to exceed expectations for each and every visit you may have to our great city, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Thanks as well for recognizing our fantastic fitness center!

Sincerely,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Most people expect too much from hotels, so if you hear bad reviews from anyone about this hotel, then they are too picky and not someone you would want to take their advice on. I've been to many hotels across the eastern coast. This hotel has everything you need to make you feel comfortable and along with their awesome service, it is surely going to be a memorable experience. I brought my girlfriend here for her birthday, so of course I splurge a bit. I made all reservations online, and received all confirmations via email. It was quick and easy. I ordered the champagne and strawberries for her, with specific instructions to bring them at 8pm, and everything was on time, and was great. They even added a personalized card to make it even more memorable for my girlfriend. (which she kept as a keepsake). The staff went above and beyond for us. The car service is fantansic and always on time, which was great because we went out for drinks. And the restaurant there!!!! OMG... fantastic food, great prices. I would highly recommend this hotel because they know what they are doing there. Best hotel I have stayed at in Philly. My girlfriend and I already plan to come here every year for our birthdays.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear misterupset,

Thank you choosing The Latham Hotel and for entrusting us with your special occasion! I am very pleased to hear we were able to provide a memorable experience, and deliver on our promise to exceed expectations for each of our valued guests. Thank you also for your feedback on our restaurant Urban Enoteca. Chef Dan and our team work tirelessly to provide great cuisine in a modern and relaxing atmosphere. We look forward to making your visit next year just as memorable.

Sincerely,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Latham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latham Hotel

Address: 135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Latham Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a landmark building that dates back to 1907, The Latham Hotel welcomes guests to a coveted Rittenhouse Square address that seamlessly blends historic elegance with modern comfort. Our boutique hotel in Philadelphia's Center City is recognized on the National Register of Historic Places, showcasing the building's exquisite Victorian exterior along with a fully-renovated interior designed for today's urban traveler. For more than 40 years, The Latham Hotel has been offering guests a distinctive lodging experience among historic Philadelphia hotels, complemented by exceptional dining and gracious hospitality. Explore the city's illustrious past with a visit to the Liberty Bell and the National Constitution Center, located just minutes away. Expand your horizons at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, or cruise through Center City in style with our chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan. Experience the historic spirit of Philadelphia at Rittenhouse Square's premier boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Preferred Hotels, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Latham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latham Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.