We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place. Perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Latham Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Latham Hotel to your Saves list
Latham Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice place. Perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Didn't know what to think about this place as it was identified as one of the "wedding approved" locations for our recent visit. From the arrival to the departure, everything worked just as you'd want, with special emphasis on service. Nice restaurant with casual yet smart service, good food. Oh and it's around the corner from a great restaurant - Alma de Cuba. So...go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    151
    42
    9
    6
See reviews for
79
165
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was my first trip to Philly. After staying in another hotel the first night – 3 of us decided we were staying in the wrong hotel. We went searching for a better hotel. We walked into the Latham. From the second we walked in the front door we knew this is where we should have been staying to begin with. All 3 of us work in the hotel business and we have high expectations. All of those expectations were met. A young man drove us to a meeting – we found out this young man was the GM – WOW that is service.
I will definitely stay at the Latham if I’m ever in Philly again.
Bill from Sunny Florida

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and I was really pleased. The Latham deserves its good reviews. It's in a fantastic location, is clean and has good food :)

One minor complaint; the floor my room was on absolutely reeked of cigarettes by the elevator; not sure why!! My actual room was fine and did not smell, but if you are in a room by the elevator you would probably be able to smell it through the door.

I'd happily stay here again for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room by the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Spent four nights in this hotel from May 23-27, 2013. Found the staff always courteous and interested in doing whatever they could to make us comfortable. At arrival, I expressed concern for our room location near the elevators so I was given another room to look at. Decided to keep the first room and the noise from the elevator was never a problem. The soundproofing was more than adequate. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was generously sized with nice soaps, etc. Restaurant was very nice. Had drinks and nibbles first night and then two breakfasts which were good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Centrally located, great customer service, nicely redone room. I was afraid a central city room in an older hotel bldg like this would be much smaller, and was pleased with the space we had. Very nice linens, lighting, bedding, TV---we got a decent online deal through a major travel site. My only glitch with the Latham is that their website says they'll match any deal online and take an addt'l 10% off, but when I called to tell them the price I found online, the reservationist insisted he could not find that deal to match it (which was weird, b'c I could log onto that site and find it repeatedly, no problem). Still, our room at $338 for Sat/Sun was a good price, and the location could not have been more convenient for us, since we wanted to go to Old City and out to Museum district, and have lots of walking-distance restaurant choices near our hotel. We utilized the car service they provided to go to Phil Museum on Sunday morning, and our driver was super nice, gave us a mini-tour and offered to pick us up again later, even though we were lousy tippers b'c we were low on cash!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Latham Hotel for one night in early June. We had trained from NYC, and the main train station is about a ten minute taxi ride.

The hotel is incredibly modern and spotlessly clean. The rooms are huge! The bed is incredibly comfortable, and the room was incredibly quiet. Free fast wifi in the room too. It was a faultless stay.

The hotel itself is located in a lovely part of the city, with some lovely restaurants nearby. We walked all the way down to the 'Independence Historic area' (Liberty Bell, Independence Hall etc.). It is a bit of a walk from the hotel (about 20-30 minutes), but it's all along one road and easy to find.

We were also lucky that the hotel chauffeur dropped us back at the train station the next day (yes, the hotel has it's own driver that is used on a first come first served basis). The driver couldn't be more pleasant.

Would recommend to anyone!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were in Philadelphia on a June weekend full of weddings, graduations,etc. and we needed to stay in the Rittenhouse Square area. Most hotels for that Saturday night were astronomical. This was the most reasonable we found. When we arrived, exhausted, we found a very spacious room, VERY comfortable bed. Despite being right in the middle of a major city (we were on the fifth floor) it was very quiet. Will definitely return to the Latham Hotel.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Latham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latham Hotel

Address: 135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Latham Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a landmark building that dates back to 1907, The Latham Hotel welcomes guests to a coveted Rittenhouse Square address that seamlessly blends historic elegance with modern comfort. Our boutique hotel in Philadelphia's Center City is recognized on the National Register of Historic Places, showcasing the building's exquisite Victorian exterior along with a fully-renovated interior designed for today's urban traveler. For more than 40 years, The Latham Hotel has been offering guests a distinctive lodging experience among historic Philadelphia hotels, complemented by exceptional dining and gracious hospitality. Explore the city's illustrious past with a visit to the Liberty Bell and the National Constitution Center, located just minutes away. Expand your horizons at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, or cruise through Center City in style with our chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan. Experience the historic spirit of Philadelphia at Rittenhouse Square's premier boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Latham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latham Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.