We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Latham Hotel

Save Saved
You added Latham Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Latham Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Washington D.C.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our room was small, but really beautifully decorated. My husband wanted to take some of the design elements and use them in our own bathroom. The bed was big and comfortable. The service was very friendly, but above all, you can't beat the location. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Gwyneth,

Very glad to hear that both you and your husband were able to enjoy time here in Philadelphia. Thank you for your feedback regarding the property's design elements. During our recent restoration, we employed a renown local designer who was able to put together the wonderful guestroom and lobby decor our guests enjoy today. I also want to thank you for recognizing two of the most commonly mentioned features that keep our guests coming back year after year, our location and service!

Thank you again for your time and feedback. I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Philadelphia!

Sincerely,

Michael Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    132
    31
    5
    6
See reviews for
69
147
19
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Searching for a room when Philly seemed sold out. The Latham was available at a reasonable price-$299- when average hotels were trying to charge $499. Turned out to be great boutique little hotel, positive surprise. Honestly prefer the four seasons, but this was a good value and would return. The bell hop did a very good job handling the car as they do not have a driveway. Room looked fairly new and fresh. Bathroom was compact but had excellent lighting for mirror usage.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear D0c,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our property underwent a complete restoration in 2012, we now boast some of the best accomodations in Center City at competitive prices. Many of our guests do not realize we have a full service restuarant and wine bar located on property (including 24 hour room service), as well as a luxury sedan service available free of charge for our guests. Both luxury amenities you will be hard pressed to find in Center City. Our bellstaff, including Joe who has provided 42 years of service here at the Latham is unmatched! Thank you for your time and feedback, and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelGirlWDC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I travel quite a bit for work and travel abroad once a year for vacation. I tend to stay at boutique hotels when on personal leave and have high expectations and expect attention to detail. The room was okay and honestly I've had nicer rooms at a Marriott. The restaurant/bar was nice and the front desk staff was friendly, although we did have to wait almost 20 minutes to check in. The one plus is the location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear TravelGirlWDC,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased to see there were several positive aspects of your stay, though apologize that we were unable to offer an all around better experience. After a long day, I can understand the importance of an efficient check in process, and will work to ensure our guests have the most efficient check in process possible. Thank you for recognizing the convenience of our central location here in Rittenhouse Square, as well as our staff as positive aspects of your time here at The Latham.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Michael Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice hotel in a great location. Received a great deal on it and was able to walk to business appointments, meals and even a haircut. Only bummer is that we had a slight electrical issue one evening that maintenance staff corrected relatively promptly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Scott,

Thank you for the opportunity to serve you on your recent trip to downtown Philadelphia. I am pleased to see you were able to take advantage of our convenient location between the financial district of Philadelphia as well as the shops and restaurants of the Rittenhouse Square. Many of our guests are able to walk to many of the local corporations in the area, and I am pleased you were able to do the same during your time with us. I also wanted to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced as a result of the electrical issue you encountered during your stay. Our engineering team understands that at times issues may arise, though take pride in offering the most efficient resolution possible to ensure a lack of interuption to your stay. My hope is we will have the opportunity to see you again on your next trip to Philadelphia, and look forward to making your next trip even better than you last!

Thank you, and have a wonderful Spring!

Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a Deluxe King at the Latham Hotel for 5 nights. The room was very nice, fairly spacious, tastefully appointed, with a comfortable bed, a small but decent bathroom. The hotel’s location is perfect, in center city just a block or so from Rittenhouse Square. The only downside was the housekeeping. The housekeeping staff must be rushing through their job mindlessly. Twice the bed was not really made, just the comforter pulled up. One day, they did not leave us a bath mat. Twice, they took away the lotion but did not replace it. On our final day, we discovered someone else’s dirty sock on the floor. Things like that. We did offer our observations to the front desk staff on day 4, but even following that it was no better. If this hotel offered more careful and thorough housekeeping, it would be near perfect. However, after this experience, we will not stay again, and instead will opt for the colder but more professionally managed Sofitel that is practically across the street (our usual hotel in Philly).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Mr. Crowther,

Thank you for choosing The Latham Hotel Philadelphia on your recent trip to the area. I wanted to personally thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at our property. I am pleased to hear the asthetics and comfort of the property exceeded your expectations. Though, I wanted to offer my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you experienced as a result of the housekeeping issues mentioned during your stay. Our Housekeeping department and overall cleanliness of our property is consistently one of the strongest areas of performance for our property, and our team will take every measure to ensure this experience is not repeated for current and future guests of our hotel. In the event you will be returning to Philadelphia in the future, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly. It would be my pleasure to ensure you have the best experience possible on your next trip to Philadelphia.

Thank you again for your time and feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future!

Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY, USA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was in Philly for one night on business and found this gem through TripAdvisor. The Latham is a boutique in the heart of the city that is more along the lines of a classic hotel as opposed to hip. Hotels in the city can be outrageously expensive but the Latham had great rate that made it very affordable. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance and I had a great dinner at Davio’s Northern Italian Steakhouse two blocks away.

The guest room was small but clean and comfortable (much like the hotel itself). There wasn’t much space for more than one person—I don’t think you could fit a rollaway in the room—but for me for one night it was fine. There is free water, free wifi, and the cabinet had a small fridge and Keurig coffee maker. The bathroom was small but well lit and had high end toiletries. The only negative was that I was woken early in the morning by the sound of creaking and whining water pipes water from nearby rooms—showers, toilets, sinks, all going off. I guess in old buildings you can modernize as much you want but you can’t do much about the plumbing.

There is a small restaurant off the lobby serving meals. I went down for breakfast and found only one waitress trying to keep up with all the tables. She apologized for the wait and the food was fine, but if you’re in a hurry you might want to try elsewhere.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Jack783,

Thank you for selecting the Latham Hotel for your one night business trip to Center City Philadelphia. We pride ourselves on offering a luxury boutique experience, in the heart of Center City, for each of our valued guests. I am pleased to see you enjoyed our recently renovated guestrooms, complimentary in room refrigerators, as well as our in room Keurig coffee makers. I did also see you experienced less than satisfactory service as a result of heavy volume in our restaurant on the morning of your departure, and wanted to ensure I offered my apologies for any inconvenience that may have resulted. I have personally followed up with our Food and Beverage team to ensure proper staffing levels are in place for high volume times, that will help ensure current and future patrons have the best possible dining experience.

I wanted to thank you for your time and feedback, and look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Philadelphia!

Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Latham Hotel has a great location, --restaurants and shopping are right outside the door -- cozy feel and top notch amenities. As other reviews have noted, it was recently remodeled with resulting modern, plush, typical big city size (not sprawling) rooms and bathrooms. Rooms include free internet, nepreso coffee machines, tea and mini refrigerators.

Rates seem much more reasonable than nearby hotels.

The staff is welcoming and professional.

Stayed 1 night in February 2013 with one teenager. Will stay again when in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at Latham Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear CalClan,

Thank you for choosing The Latham Hotel on your recent trip to downtown Philadelphia. Our entire team takes pride in exceeding expectations for each of our valued guests. I am pleased to see we accomplished our goal during your time at our property. It would be our pleasure to be your preferred hotel when visiting downtown Philadelphia. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

Michael Roberts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Latham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latham Hotel

Address: 135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#22 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Latham Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a landmark building that dates back to 1907, The Latham Hotel welcomes guests to a coveted Rittenhouse Square address that seamlessly blends historic elegance with modern comfort. Our boutique hotel in Philadelphia's Center City is recognized on the National Register of Historic Places, showcasing the building's exquisite Victorian exterior along with a fully-renovated interior designed for today's urban traveler. For more than 40 years, The Latham Hotel has been offering guests a distinctive lodging experience among historic Philadelphia hotels, complemented by exceptional dining and gracious hospitality. Explore the city's illustrious past with a visit to the Liberty Bell and the National Constitution Center, located just minutes away. Expand your horizons at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, or cruise through Center City in style with our chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan. Experience the historic spirit of Philadelphia at Rittenhouse Square's premier boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Preferred Hotels, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Latham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latham Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.