We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great place to stay in the Heart of Rittenhouse Square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Latham Hotel

Save Saved
You added Latham Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Latham Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great place to stay in the Heart of Rittenhouse Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My girlfriend took me to Philly to celebrate my 50th Birthday. We enjoyed our stay at the Latham Hotel which is about two blocks from Rittenhouse Square and within walking Distance of all major attractions. The Hotel was modern and the staff was extremely friendly and outgoing. They gave us great suggestions for Brunch, lunch, Dinner & Cocktails. They have a driver on site that will take you around, just give a tip. We did not utilize as we wanted to walk, but the service was offered to us. ( first come basis) which was a nice perk. They even offered to pick us up from dinner. I really lived the vibe, friendly and modern with no pretention and very reasonably priced for a holiday weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    109
    26
    5
    5
See reviews for
59
124
16
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel has been beautifully renovated. Offers everything one expects along with a great city location. The rooms are lovely with very comfortable beds and nice bedding. The bathroom towels are thick and the shower/bathtub arrangement well done. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious, and not overpriced. The staff was helpful, friendly and well trained. Couldn't have been nicer. In addition, we got a very good rate thru the hotel. A very nice quick escape.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We got a great price on this hotel at hotels.com. Had no problems at all, the amount was paid in full when I got there, the room was beautiful and clean. We were only there one night so we didn't spend much time at the hotel. The location was great. Only issue we had was that it cost $38 to park the car for the night, even without doing the valet - ouch!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our 2-night recent stay was well worth the cost!

PROS: Superb location. Friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Decent-sized room. Very comfortable bedding. Spotlessly clean and modern room interiors. Free bottled water. Ample closet space. Shower had plenty of hot water at good pressure. Reasonable rates. 24-hour room service at a not-bad price. Very good restaurant (breakfast for 4 hungry people ~$50). Valet parking is expensive, but quite efficient - we waited only about 3 minutes during a very busy checkout time.

CONS: Car service ends at 10pm rendering it useless for most nighttime activities. TV has 2 Fox (ugh) channels and no MSNBC. No light switch on wall by entry door requiring walking through a dark room at night.

Overall: Very highly recommended. A delightful stay within a short walk of so much to do and see.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you're looking for sophisticated, low-key decor; a room that's updated and extremely clean; an impressive historic building and a great location just steps from Rittenhouse Square, The Latham is a fine choice. The beds were a dream, the room was very quiet for a city hotel, there is no charge for bottled water in the room, the Keurig machine is convenient and and the personal email sent days before our check-in asking which extra services we'd like was thoughtful. The hotel underwent a mega million dollar renovation in the past year and it shows. There are many good things to say about it. That being said, I think The Latham is scrimping in the area of 'creature comforts' and guest services. The rooms had just the minimal amenities:shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, facial tissues. At a boutique hotel, I'd expect to find cotton balls, QTips, sewing kit, body lotion, slippers and a robe. Plus, in our double room, there were only two bath towels. The hotel does not offer evening turn down service so the towels couldn't be refreshed in case they'd gotten drenched from a shower at check-in. The "Latham Signature Scent" was overpowering and unpleasant in our room. The bellmen were extremely helpful and did their jobs well, but only one was on duty at morning check-out. He was swamped with the swarm of guests. The assorted front desk workers ran the gamut from ditzy to just adequate to plain ole crabby. And, the down pillows I requested in response to that pre-arrival e-mail? We had foam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very convenient home base in Philadelphia. The location is great- right in the middle of Chestnut/Walnut Street shopping district, and an easy mile's walk to & from the Amtrak station and Independence Park. Unexpected highlights were the in-room Keurig coffee machine, free & fast wifi, and the really awesome fitness center (overlooking Walnut St with plenty of machines, towels, complimentary headsets, and bottled water). The only real downside was that the walls between the hallway & room seemed to be quite thin- I'm normally a great sleeper but woke up early when I kept hearing neighbors' doors. Overall, a decent value and a great stay in Philly!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I loved this hotel. PERIOD! Great service, knowledgeable staff, central location, and great rooms! Stayed only for one night and it was bliss! Came for a day trip to Philadelphia and left feeling like I saw it all. If you can, take the car out with Roman, he was an amazingly nice guy, and very much knows the area! It was very wonderful to start our trip with his info and insight. Great shopping around the corner and plenty of restaurants and bars near by. Stayed during the week, so nightlife was pretty sparse, but I am planning a return trip already, and will stay again!

Room was great and quite. Zero complications on any requests made, and felt like home away from home with all the thought out amenities. I regret that I forgot the FD agents name who helped me as well, medium height, dark hair, great smile and super sweet!

Room Tip: Had a rear facing room. Was quite with a great sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Latham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latham Hotel

Also Known As:
Latham Hotel Philadelphia
Address: 135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Latham Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a landmark building that dates back to 1907, The Latham Hotel welcomes guests to a coveted Rittenhouse Square address that seamlessly blends historic elegance with modern comfort. Our boutique hotel in Philadelphia's Center City is recognized on the National Register of Historic Places, showcasing the building's exquisite Victorian exterior along with a fully-renovated interior designed for today's urban traveler. For more than 40 years, The Latham Hotel has been offering guests a distinctive lodging experience among historic Philadelphia hotels, complemented by exceptional dining and gracious hospitality. Explore the city's illustrious past with a visit to the Liberty Bell and the National Constitution Center, located just minutes away. Expand your horizons at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, or cruise through Center City in style with our chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan. Experience the historic spirit of Philadelphia at Rittenhouse Square's premier boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Amex, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Preferred Hotels, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Latham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.