We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Latham Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Latham Hotel to your Saves list
Latham Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103 (City Center West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had an overall very good stay at this hotel. It was marathon weekend so most hotels were booked or had very inflated rates. I was fortunate to get a good deal at this hotel, on a booking sight. The only type of room available was 2 double beds. I preferred a king but was just happy to get the reservation at a good price.

This hotel is in a great locations, it really can't be beat. Walkable to most major sights. We arrived Saturday late morning. When we check in I asked if it was possible to get a king room. At first they said no (which didn't surprise me since we got such a reasonable rate). It was our 25th wedding anniversary, so I told them and said I'd really like to have a king room if possible, and we'd be more than happy to check in later in the day, should one become available. The young ladies at the front desk, Stacia (sp?) and Stacey, checked around, and were able to come up with a king room that was available for early check-in! They then offered the free car service (provided by the hotel on first come first serve basis). We took the services to the Barnes collection (which is amazing).

The only problems, and minor at that, was that the room did not have any glasses! Only 2 paper coffee cups. Later in the evening we called and asked for some, but they weren't delivered after an hour or so and we left for dinner. When we returned, still no glasses. We called again, and this time they showed up fairly quickly. Also the bathroom door did not close completely for some reason but again, this did not create a major problem.

Overall we were very happy with the Latham Hotel. The room was nicely furnished, clean and comfortable. The front desk help was delightful, the free car service, a nice perk, and the location can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    197
    51
    13
    11
See reviews for
95
205
33
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

They have very limited street parking so it's great that they have a Valet service. Every employee we encountered was professional and courteous. The housekeeper was so sweet and helpful. The hotel is an older building that's been redone. The rooms are smallish (not tiny but not big either) but our room was immaculate and gorgeously decorated. They had a nice sized closet so we could get our suitcases out of the way and hang our clothes up. We only had breakfast at the restaurant and it was excellent but a little pricey ($35 for two) In all, a great experience -we would go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have been coming to Philly on business for many years. Last September I tried the Latham for the first time (12 nights) - and was delighted. Have just returned to UK from November stay 7 nights and equally impressed. Why??

Room decor pleasing after recent refurb
Wi-fi free and really good signal
Work desk ties in with above really well
Fridge in room a bonus
Bed is enormous, really comfortable and lots of pillows.
Dining in Room service good and affordable
Staff friendly, helpful and attentive
Great location just off Rittenhouse square
Room rates reasonable for the quality of hotel
Clock radio / Iphone dock - great sound quality
HD widescreen TV very good
Coffee machine in room really good
You can actually open the windows if you like fresh air
Gilchrist and Soames toileteries excellent
Bath towels, face towels etc of great quality
Servicing of rooms immaculate

What more can I say!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Virgin Islands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Booked on Hotwire for same day stay during October college visiting trip with my son. We arrived late at night and had to leave fairly early, but we really liked our room and the hotel. I would have happily stayed there longer. I believe the Latham is a good value for an upscale center city Philadelphia boutique hotel. I lived in Philadelphia for 23 years and the Latham is in a great location, close to upscale shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only stayed here for 2 nights, but it was a comfortable weekend stay. The neighborhood is great. Really nice to walk around, stores like juicy, coach, and places to window shop. Close to downtown activities. The area is great. food and everything is nearby. Different from other cities like NYC, Philly is an older city. The activities you may want to do may be spread out and will most likely need a taxi or public transportation. But don't stay in the outskirts. Really clean, modern, and updated the Latham I would visit again. Keurig machine in each room, but forgot cream. Also be advised... This hotel has various room sizes under the same category. Ask for a room with a bay window it's larger. I got a room under a group rate and my 2 double bed rooms was the smallest out of other guests. Kinda tight for 4 people. But otherwise alright.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Renovated boutique hotel in best part of town. Moderately priced. Very good value. Short walk to dozens of bars and restaurants. Breakfast was FANTASTIC. Recommend the Urban Breakfast. Rooms were smallish, but very comfortable. Bathrooms are basic but immaculate. Staff were super helpful and very polite. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors have less street noise, otherwise rooms are pretty much all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Do NOT waste your time or money staying at this hotel. First of all, the staff is so nasty and snobby it is embarrassing. They are rude and gave the most expensive recommendations where I have since learned "they get free services" there. Really not helpful. If you need anything it is an inconvenience to them and they do NOT know or care to know the area. As for the rooms , they were clean I will give them that but very small with very uncomfortable beds. Also, the heat blew cold air in November?? This was not specific to us ,apparently it happened to a few others as well and of course we had to ask three times for a blanket. We have traveled a great deal and stayed everywhere from great boutique hotels to the ritz carlton but this place was awful one very level. We could not wait to leave...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,402 reviews
City Center West
Radisson Blu Warwick Hotel Philadelphia
City Center West
Hotel Palomar Philadelphia - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia
Sonesta Hotel Philadelphia
#25 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#15 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,265 reviews
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#2 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Latham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Latham Hotel

Address: 135 South 17th Street, (Walnut and 17th), Philadelphia, PA 19103
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Latham Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a landmark building that dates back to 1907, The Latham Hotel welcomes guests to a coveted Rittenhouse Square address that seamlessly blends historic elegance with modern comfort. Our boutique hotel in Philadelphia's Center City is recognized on the National Register of Historic Places, showcasing the building's exquisite Victorian exterior along with a fully-renovated interior designed for today's urban traveler. For more than 40 years, The Latham Hotel has been offering guests a distinctive lodging experience among historic Philadelphia hotels, complemented by exceptional dining and gracious hospitality. Explore the city's illustrious past with a visit to the Liberty Bell and the National Constitution Center, located just minutes away. Expand your horizons at the Philadelphia Museum of Art, or cruise through Center City in style with our chauffeured 2012 Audi A8 sedan. Experience the historic spirit of Philadelphia at Rittenhouse Square's premier boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Latham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latham Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Latham Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.