We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT WORTH THE MONEY!! GO ELSEWHERE!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing to your Saves list
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing) (City Center East)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
1,000 HHonors Bonus Point
Ranked #33 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
1 review
“NOT WORTH THE MONEY!! GO ELSEWHERE!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I WILL NEVER STAY IN THIS HYATT AGAIN AND WILL NEVER RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE.
My husband and I booked the Hyatt for the Memorial Day Weekend. We arrived at 2:40 - since check-in was 3PM. The room wasn't ready so we told the young lady who was helping us we would wait in the bar. She said she would call us as soon as out room was ready. I guess her shift ended at 3 because she never called and never relayed the information that we were waiting. When we went back to check at 4PM, the gentleman who took her place upgraded us from corner city view to corner water view since our room was still not ready. This was the first in a series of weekend long mess-ups by the hotel.
The room itself was decent - but not amazing. Bathroom was nice - but no place to hang towels.
If you looked closely at the rest of the hotel you could see signs of wear in the furnishings and decor.
We had breakfast in the hotel both mornings. We expected to pay more in the hotel but also expected good service and good food. Most of the staff in the restaurant was inattentive, rude, or downright incompetent. Over easy eggs were undercooked. Scrambled eggs and bacon were overcooked and barely warm. Our waiter the second morning managed to spill orange juice, water, and coffee but never asked if we wanted to see a menu. The check came before we had finished eating.
Concierge service was laughable.
Philadelphia is a great place. This hotel is not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    507
    182
    101
    55
See reviews for
291
359
74
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights while I was in Philadelphia for a conference. People who work at the hotel are very nice. Penn's landing, which is the waterfront area where the hotel is located, is pretty nice too. However, you have to walk a bit to get to center city. South street is a 10-15 minute walk as well.
The gym was pretty nice and the pool was ok. The water was kind of warm and ? murky so I didn't feel comfortable staying in the pool for too long.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange NJ
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Did our best to survive our two nights at the Hyatt Regency Philadelphia. Hotel is in a good setting at Penns Landing and is convenient to many attractions within walking distance. Nice area of the town with so much to offer. The concierge at the hotel David is a prize and is the most helpful person we ever encountered in such a slot. The double beds were most uncomfortable for the four of us and the staff had nothing else available to upgrade or change our room to so we lived with it. The hotel manager tries to assist us, but it was in vain at that stage. Overall a nice hotel with some very nice people who work there. Enjoyed the town thoroughly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed four nights at the Hyatt because I was attending a conference in the hotel. We very much enjoyed our stay as the room was well designed, clean and quiet. Even though it was right across from the elevators, we were never disturbed by noise. The wifi was free and fast. The restaurant was a good choice for dinner one night and breakfast a couple of times. The conference was very well managed and the meeting rooms and food were excellent. Our only criticism would be the location. The hotel is by the river on edge of the downtown area. There are plenty of restaurants around Chestnut Street, an easy ten minute walk and the Independence Hall area is another five minutes on. However, compared to the locations of the Courtyard and the Marriott, you do feel isolated.

Room Tip: Our room had a river view. Folks that stayed on the city side reported a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
293 helpful votes 293 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The setting: Penn's Landing is along the riverfront, about fifteen minutes by foot from the heart of the downtown core. This hotel is very conveniently located right off the highway, for those driving to Philly. This Hyatt Regency is quite massive, with a large parking structure attached, rates being a steep $30/day. The lobby is generically nondescript, like the rest of the hotel. There is a bar and restaurant, and a coffee shop in the lobby.

The rooms: Mine was on a high floor, a city-view corner king, with two walls of windows and a nice view. The bed was plush, the TV large. The rest of the amenities were just like the lower end Hyatt Place hotels: cheap industrial carpeting, one-cup coffee maker, generic toiletries. The bathroom was spacious but the shower/tub with a plastic curtain was an unexpected let down. The water pressure was abysmally low, a trickle from the bath faucet and only slightly improved flow from the shower-head. This place is by no means worth the $250+/night that it charges

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My son and I stayed here for the weekend. We stayed at the hotel because it was near Thomas Jefferson Hospital, where a family member was having an operation. Check in was easy and our room was clean and very comfortable. We ate and had a few drinks in the lobby bar and were really impressed by the great service. The bartenders were very friendly and engaging. The staff at this hotel made us feel very welcome and I think this is not always the case when you visit a hotel in a big city. The next time I am in Philadelphia I will stay at this Hyatt.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I went to Philadelphia recently for a conference and stayed at the Hyatt at Penns Landing. I was made to feel at home right away and the friendly staff went out of their way to see to my needs. The location was great, I walked the riverside and visited several shops and restaurants/pubs nearby. After an evening on the town I came back to a freshly made up room, great room service (very quick) and a quiet nights sleep. I found the amenities to be top shelf and the restaurant & bar excellent as well.

I highly recommend staying at the Hyatt, you get what you pay for and a lot more.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river, its a great sight to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Address: 201 South Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront property. Neo Modernist Highrise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia At Penn`s Landing Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Regency Penns Landing
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia Hotel
Hyatt Philadelphia
Hyatt Penns Landing Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.