We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - close to Historical Down town, Liberty Bell, US Mint.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing to your Saves list
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing) (City Center East)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Philly Overnight Package
Ranked #30 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location - close to Historical Down town, Liberty Bell, US Mint.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is within walking distance to the historical down town (Independance Hall, Liberty Bell, US Mint.) We stayed here as they allowed "self parking" and that it was close to the areas we wanted to see. The hotel itself was large and beautiful which is what I expected for a Hyatt Regency. Unfortunately, this is where the accolades stop. I was disappointed by the following things: First the bathroom doors are two "French doors" which close together. These doors do not lock, and they have a half inch gap. Walking by you can see the person on the toilet. It's not that big of a deal if you are traveling with your spouse, but I still didn't like it. Also, this hotel has a policy of NOT replacing towels. Typically in hotels you see the "put it on the rack" if you want to use it again etc. Nope.. Not here you had to call everyday to tell them you wanted new towels/wash cloths which is redicilous for a Hyatt Regency. To add insult to injury, there were NO towel racks in the bathroom even if you wanted to re-use the towels. You had to use the shower curtain rod or the clothing hook! Really!?!?! We asked a house keeping lady in the hall for an additional wash cloth and she told us NO that she only had enough to service her rooms. I have to say it was tiring chasing after fresh towels during my week stay! Lastly, the "buffet" was not very good. While it was visually beautiful it was lacking the basics. One example was wonderful looking french toast.. I cut into it and 100 raisins leaked out in some sauce. Really?? I just want to eat and not have to pick out stuff because the hotel wants to be "gourmet." The next day I opted for the pancakes which were hard (so were my husbands.) I personally love and prefer Hyatt hotels, I was just disappointed at this one. On another note there is an out door ice skating rink within walking distance which was lovely. All of the staff was helpful (except for the housekeeping lady.)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
The lack of helpfulness from the member of the housekeeping staff isn't acceptable. This is being addressed. My apologies for this experience. It is not a standard to not replace towels unless someone chooses to re use them. Hooks behind the batroom door are available to place towels on.

Your comments on the buffet have been passed on to the Chef. The French toast is a popular item. Certainly sounds like the pancakes were sub par that day. I am sorry that was your experience with them.

I do appreciate your comments. These areas are being reviewed and your feedback helps us fine tune these areas where we fell short. Thank you.

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    564
    195
    109
    60
See reviews for
335
404
81
418
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metuchen, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a beautiful, clean hotel with great views of the river. Even though it is located at Penn's Landing across the highway from the rest of the city, it is a short, easy, direct walk right into the historic section. The restaurant was delicious and had an awesome, healthy menu for children! Staff were very nice, too.

Room Tip: Try to get river view, although the view of the city skyline at night isn't bad either!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Regency in Philadelphia from 10/29 (our anniversary) till November 1st to hide away from Hurricane Sandy. We absolutely loved it. Check-in took literally less than 5 minutes. we did self parking (even though that was the cheapest yet still expensive option) but nonetheless hassle free. We got to the room and it was pretty. The room felt comfortable and we were able to hook up our game system to the tv (which is a plus for us since we drag our Xbox on almost every vacation we go on) The food was good especially during happy hour. Everything about this hotel was perfect. Very clean and the staff was very friendly. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for staying with us during the hurricane. I hope your home didn't suffer too much damage. Glad you enjiyed the get away. Hope you can come back for another visit that isn't connected to a hurricane!

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

First, request a room with a view of the River. You might as well have a view, because you will be overpaying for what you get at this hotel. Yes, the room was clean. We paid about 200 a night, which included a lovely breakfast. Parking was 30.00 a night, which was about average in Philly - but you would think you would get some discount staying at the hotel. The hotel is within walking distance of the Old City. Most Hilton hotels give you bottles of water when you arrive, you have to beg for them at this hotel. Nothing is complimentary. We will choose another hotel in Philadelphia for our next trip. You would think that after spending 300.00 at the bar over two nights, that they would comp the parking, but NO!!! Even the parking deck near the REading market (don't miss it), discounts parking once you spend 10.00 at the market. Shameful.

Room Tip: Ask for a River View... otherwise you might get a view of I95.. and the sound of continuous traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
I am sorry to learn your entire stay didn't meet your satisfaction. The parking is lower than many hotel options in the city as well as offering the options of valet or self parking. There are package options we have that include parking which may be better alternative for future travel.

Thank you for sharing your comments.

Best regards,
Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

A beautiful, modern, very clean hotel. Every member of the staff was helpful and happy. Check in was efficient and the front desk staff was lovely. The barista in the coffee bar was delightful! Our room had magnificent views of the waterfront. We had a great time, love the hotel and would happily recommend this hotel to our friends.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite on a high floor. The water views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for the great comments and for staying with us. Glad you had a great time. Thank you for the recognition of the first rate hospitality from the staff. We appreciate it.

Look forward to your return with those friends you mentioned!

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed 3 nights for business travel. Overall the hotel and room was great. However, if you ever have to stay at this hotel,do the following.
Never, under no circumstance accept a city view or a West facing view room. Your room will be directly over I 95. Even with ear plugs and a pillow over my head the noise was relentless. Additionally, the shower was a challenge. I'm all for saving the earth but when i can't even get all of my body wet at the same time i think that is a little over doing things don't you think! Next time i will stay downtown.

Room Tip: Downtown or River view only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We haven't had any issues with water pressure and haven't adjusted the flow of the shower heads to a diminished level.

We will look into this further and appreciate your sharing the information with us.

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
135 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is an OK hotel. Have stayed there a couple of handful of times, some for business meetings, and some personal. Nice views of the river and in an area that is secure and safe for daytime walking on the boat docks and in immediate vicinity. A decent restaurant, but one that you would only use for a needed meal. Nothing great. Rooms are spacious and clean. Price is OK. Good cab service for airport and going to fine and boutique restaurants in Philly, of which there are many. Some family tourist attractions are very close on the river.

Room Tip: Riverside for views and quiet.. They have suites, which we have used many times, quite spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
City Center East
Penn's View Hotel
Penn's View Hotel
#15 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Omni Hotel at Independence Park
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#14 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 2,332 reviews
City Center East
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Address: 201 South Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#24 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#33 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront property. Neo Modernist Highrise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia At Penn`s Landing Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Regency Penns Landing
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia Hotel
Hyatt Philadelphia
Hyatt Penns Landing Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.