We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and great service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
phoenix
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed a couple of times, the hotel is nice clean and has good service nothing out of the ordinary for a Hyatt hotel.
I recommend it for the location, you will be walking distance to all the old town, historic sites, restaurants.
You must visit south street with all the stores, and restaurants

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    428
    155
    87
    49
See reviews for
248
306
59
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for one night while in the area. It was a little pricey but considering the Philadelphia Marathon was in town I can understand why. I was disappointed in the room. It was very dusty and could have used a better cleaning job. The furniture is older and could stand to be updated. On the other hand, the concierge was very nice and extreamly helpful. They recommended a variety of places to go to dinner and helped set up our reservations without persuading us on a choice. The location was just okay. Although it is on the water it is also located right off the main highway. For the price, I'm not sure I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I apologize we didn't exceed your expectations Your comments have been shared with our managers to address the issues you mentioned.. Many of our guests enjoy our location close by so many of the city's great sights and attractions.

Thank you for commenting on the great job the concierge staff did assisting you. We get a lot of great comments on them. I do hope we'll have the chhance to see you here again and ensure you have a great stay.

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I recently ran our company's sales meeting at the Hyatt Regency in Philadelphia. It exceeded expectations. The hotel staff was extremely professional and went to great lengths to ensure our meeting success and guest comfort. The location was great - with easy access to restaurant and entertainment options in the Olde City neighborhood. The meeting rooms were beyond expectations, with each one providing a view of either the Delaware River or the Philadelphia skyline. The food was top notch and I received compliments throughout the week on how good the food was for meals and breaks. Finally, logistically it was easy for our participants from all over the country to access, as the Philadelphia International Airport is just a short 10 minute cab ride away. We experienced all of this benefit and came in under budget for the meeting. I recommend that you plan your next sales meeting at the Hyatt Regency in Philadelphia at Penn's Landing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks very much for the write up on your meeting held with us. We rteally enjoyed working with your team and appreciate having had the opportunity.

The easy access and close proximity to the city's sights and attractions, restaurants and night life work as well for individuals, couples and families as they do for groups holding a meeting. Thank you for recognizing and calling that out.

Safe travels. Hope we see you all again soon.

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've stayed at Hyatts in at least 4 or 5 different locations over the years and have never been disappointed. This was the nicest of any them. We had a corner king room that was modern and spacious with a great view of the Delaware. The concierges were right on with their rcommendation (see my review on Restorante Panorama), breakfast at the Keatings (the hotel restaurant) was good and everything appeared and felt very clean.

The location was great for our purposes, easy walking distance of the historic district and many great places to eat.

The only possible negative from stay is the cost. Breakfast, while good, was definitely on the pricey side, and there is of course an additional parking fee. With that said I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher corner suite with view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Great to have you stay with us. Thank you for choosing Hyatt and for the great comments on your stay. Hope we'll see you again soon.

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I understand that this is a basic hotel geared towards family tourism, but for $200/night I expected a little more. We booked on Expedia for room with a king bed and paid a price specific to that level of room. When we got there, they told us we would get a room with two doubles, even though we paid for a king room. When we brought this up, they said they didn't have visibility into what was booked on Expedia and couldn't guarantee anything. A small issue, but indicative of the general lack of helpfulness at the hotel. One morning 3 out of the 4 elevators were out of service and it took 20 minutes just to get to the lobby. Bringing this to the concierge's attention got a disinterested response.

The room itself was, frankly, dirty. The walls were all scuffed, there was mold in the caulking of the bathtub, the bathroom blinds were caked with dust and grime, and I found a toenail on the carpet (shudder). Even for a really basic hotel I would have expected more in terms of basic cleanliness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
My apologies for the experience you had with us. Not at all up to our standards or your expectations. Unplanned issues such as the elevator scenario should never be met with anything other than concern from one of our associates.

If there is any additional review you would like to have regarding your stay please do let me know.

Thank you.

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

UI generally stay at this hotel whenever I am in philadelphia, which is at least eyarly. Located in the Penn's Landing area along the Deleware River the location is perfect. Just a few hundred yeards across Columbus Avenue from the Downtown/Old Town historic area the hotel is within very easy walking distance to both the Independence National Historic Site complex as well as the modern downtown business disgtrict. The hotel restaurant is typical Hyatt and the guest services exemplify the high standard typical of that reliable chain of hotels. Also, the hotel is located just steps away from the Maritime Museum, including the historic warship museums USS Becuna (a WW II fleet boat submarine) and the USS Olympia, famous from the Spanish American War and the Great White Fleet. Also steps away is the floating restaurant Moshulu, also very much worth a visit. Fotr centraly Philly, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

Room Tip: One has a choice of river or city views and on the river side one can look downriver, toward the mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Lost my power due to Hurricane Sandy and booked 4 nights here. On Thursday night, around, 9:45 pm, the hotel lost all electricity. No phone calls from staff or notices as to reason any and timeline. I called the front desk 4 times for an answer and heard the same response "we are working on it. ". Looked out my window (17th floor) and all of Philadelphia was lit up. So, obviously it was only a problem at this hotel. At midnight, still no power and went to sleep. Woke up and STILL no power!! Decided to check out. In the hotel lobby were people rightfully screaming as they had lost everything due to Hurricane and Hyatt staff could have cared less.

Beware of this hotel when looking for a place to stay in Philadelphia. Even staying there when the lights were on was not a great experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
A transformer suppyling power to the Penn's Landing area, which includes our hotel, exploded due to impact from the recent storm. Information on repair timelines was difficult to ascertain from the power supplier which was understandable initially as they were re deploying manpower to assist outher areas hard hit by hurricane Sandy.

We continued operations under emergency generator as best as was possible. Many people chose to stay. Those that needed to relocate to conduct meetings or due to personal preference were assisted immediately and we secured alternate accommodations for them. The staff received many comments of thnks for the assistance.

Power was restored Friday evening and we are at full operations.

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Address: 201 South Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront property. Neo Modernist Highrise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia At Penn`s Landing Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Regency Penns Landing
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia Hotel
Hyatt Philadelphia
Hyatt Penns Landing Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.