We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan your next company sales meeting at the Hyatt in Philadelphia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Plan your next company sales meeting at the Hyatt in Philadelphia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I recently ran our company's sales meeting at the Hyatt Regency in Philadelphia. It exceeded expectations. The hotel staff was extremely professional and went to great lengths to ensure our meeting success and guest comfort. The location was great - with easy access to restaurant and entertainment options in the Olde City neighborhood. The meeting rooms were beyond expectations, with each one providing a view of either the Delaware River or the Philadelphia skyline. The food was top notch and I received compliments throughout the week on how good the food was for meals and breaks. Finally, logistically it was easy for our participants from all over the country to access, as the Philadelphia International Airport is just a short 10 minute cab ride away. We experienced all of this benefit and came in under budget for the meeting. I recommend that you plan your next sales meeting at the Hyatt Regency in Philadelphia at Penn's Landing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thanks very much for the write up on your meeting held with us. We rteally enjoyed working with your team and appreciate having had the opportunity.

The easy access and close proximity to the city's sights and attractions, restaurants and night life work as well for individuals, couples and families as they do for groups holding a meeting. Thank you for recognizing and calling that out.

Safe travels. Hope we see you all again soon.

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    430
    155
    87
    49
See reviews for
248
306
59
283
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipton, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've stayed at Hyatts in at least 4 or 5 different locations over the years and have never been disappointed. This was the nicest of any them. We had a corner king room that was modern and spacious with a great view of the Delaware. The concierges were right on with their rcommendation (see my review on Restorante Panorama), breakfast at the Keatings (the hotel restaurant) was good and everything appeared and felt very clean.

The location was great for our purposes, easy walking distance of the historic district and many great places to eat.

The only possible negative from stay is the cost. Breakfast, while good, was definitely on the pricey side, and there is of course an additional parking fee. With that said I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher corner suite with view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Great to have you stay with us. Thank you for choosing Hyatt and for the great comments on your stay. Hope we'll see you again soon.

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I understand that this is a basic hotel geared towards family tourism, but for $200/night I expected a little more. We booked on Expedia for room with a king bed and paid a price specific to that level of room. When we got there, they told us we would get a room with two doubles, even though we paid for a king room. When we brought this up, they said they didn't have visibility into what was booked on Expedia and couldn't guarantee anything. A small issue, but indicative of the general lack of helpfulness at the hotel. One morning 3 out of the 4 elevators were out of service and it took 20 minutes just to get to the lobby. Bringing this to the concierge's attention got a disinterested response.

The room itself was, frankly, dirty. The walls were all scuffed, there was mold in the caulking of the bathtub, the bathroom blinds were caked with dust and grime, and I found a toenail on the carpet (shudder). Even for a really basic hotel I would have expected more in terms of basic cleanliness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
My apologies for the experience you had with us. Not at all up to our standards or your expectations. Unplanned issues such as the elevator scenario should never be met with anything other than concern from one of our associates.

If there is any additional review you would like to have regarding your stay please do let me know.

Thank you.

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

UI generally stay at this hotel whenever I am in philadelphia, which is at least eyarly. Located in the Penn's Landing area along the Deleware River the location is perfect. Just a few hundred yeards across Columbus Avenue from the Downtown/Old Town historic area the hotel is within very easy walking distance to both the Independence National Historic Site complex as well as the modern downtown business disgtrict. The hotel restaurant is typical Hyatt and the guest services exemplify the high standard typical of that reliable chain of hotels. Also, the hotel is located just steps away from the Maritime Museum, including the historic warship museums USS Becuna (a WW II fleet boat submarine) and the USS Olympia, famous from the Spanish American War and the Great White Fleet. Also steps away is the floating restaurant Moshulu, also very much worth a visit. Fotr centraly Philly, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

Room Tip: One has a choice of river or city views and on the river side one can look downriver, toward the mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Lost my power due to Hurricane Sandy and booked 4 nights here. On Thursday night, around, 9:45 pm, the hotel lost all electricity. No phone calls from staff or notices as to reason any and timeline. I called the front desk 4 times for an answer and heard the same response "we are working on it. ". Looked out my window (17th floor) and all of Philadelphia was lit up. So, obviously it was only a problem at this hotel. At midnight, still no power and went to sleep. Woke up and STILL no power!! Decided to check out. In the hotel lobby were people rightfully screaming as they had lost everything due to Hurricane and Hyatt staff could have cared less.

Beware of this hotel when looking for a place to stay in Philadelphia. Even staying there when the lights were on was not a great experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
A transformer suppyling power to the Penn's Landing area, which includes our hotel, exploded due to impact from the recent storm. Information on repair timelines was difficult to ascertain from the power supplier which was understandable initially as they were re deploying manpower to assist outher areas hard hit by hurricane Sandy.

We continued operations under emergency generator as best as was possible. Many people chose to stay. Those that needed to relocate to conduct meetings or due to personal preference were assisted immediately and we secured alternate accommodations for them. The staff received many comments of thnks for the assistance.

Power was restored Friday evening and we are at full operations.

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Anytime we travel we try to focus on positive features of the venues we visit - this hotel truly stretched our attempts at positivity to the limit !

Having had a pleasant flight with U.S. Airways from Dublin, we arrived at this rather soul-less tall building and the vibes were bad from the start. The Porter just about bothered to take one of our four bags into the lobby, a young Trainee recited lines (all too quickly) about whatever, a Porter couldn't be found to help bring our luggage to the 16th floor - ah yes, you can see it all began so well......

Then we had a drink at the bar, ordered food in the restaurant, sent one main course back because it was COLD - you get the picture. One of us visited an untidy / unclean washroom, adding to our already bad impressions.

Still seeking "positives" we noted that our Server, Natasha, was pleasant, personable & tried hard.(We noticed her efforts all the more as many of her colleagues stood around chatting to each other). This was definitely not the high standard customer service we're so used to experiencing in the U.S. Tired as we were, this place looked and behaved even more so - ATTITUDE + ATMOSPHERE seemed to be big issues here ! We retired to bed, reminding ourselves of the Scarlett O'Hara line : "To-morrow will be another day ....." (At least the pillows were good !)

Breakfast was a bit hit-and-miss I'm afraid : a series of people passed you on to the next one - lots of "fake sincerity" - but eventually someone eventually DID something for the guest. The coffee was o.k., the buffet was well presented, but of the cooked offerings, only the scrambled egg was hot and tasty.

We didn't eat at the hotel on the second night, but did visit the bar briefly - only one of two drinks ordered arrived initially, then we got a dirty glass with the second one - we didn't linger too long.

Breakfast on the morning of our departure was a less trying experience. It was no great surprise to us as we checked-out that nobody asked "How was your stay" ! Philadelphia is a great historic City, but we're afraid this Hyatt did its image no favours.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I apologize for the poor experience you outline in your comments. This is not typical of a Hyatt experience in terms of facilities, food, service and hospitality. This is not the type of experience we ever want for someone and there is no excuse for missing the mark such as noted here.

Thank you for the feedback.

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nothing special about this place- but it is nice, clean, and has a good location by the river. The staff was professional- but again, just performing the usual functions. I was hoping for some acknowledgement as a Platinum member- but there are no benefits to speak of at this hotel for loyalty members.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Address: 201 South Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#17 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront property. Neo Modernist Highrise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia At Penn`s Landing Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Regency Penns Landing
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia Hotel
Hyatt Philadelphia
Hyatt Penns Landing Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.