We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Nice Stay at a Hyatt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #38 of 84 hotels in Philadelphia
Tipton, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another Nice Stay at a Hyatt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've stayed at Hyatts in at least 4 or 5 different locations over the years and have never been disappointed. This was the nicest of any them. We had a corner king room that was modern and spacious with a great view of the Delaware. The concierges were right on with their rcommendation (see my review on Restorante Panorama), breakfast at the Keatings (the hotel restaurant) was good and everything appeared and felt very clean.

The location was great for our purposes, easy walking distance of the historic district and many great places to eat.

The only possible negative from stay is the cost. Breakfast, while good, was definitely on the pricey side, and there is of course an additional parking fee. With that said I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher corner suite with view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Great to have you stay with us. Thank you for choosing Hyatt and for the great comments on your stay. Hope we'll see you again soon.

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    364
    140
    64
    43
See reviews for
202
254
51
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I understand that this is a basic hotel geared towards family tourism, but for $200/night I expected a little more. We booked on Expedia for room with a king bed and paid a price specific to that level of room. When we got there, they told us we would get a room with two doubles, even though we paid for a king room. When we brought this up, they said they didn't have visibility into what was booked on Expedia and couldn't guarantee anything. A small issue, but indicative of the general lack of helpfulness at the hotel. One morning 3 out of the 4 elevators were out of service and it took 20 minutes just to get to the lobby. Bringing this to the concierge's attention got a disinterested response.

The room itself was, frankly, dirty. The walls were all scuffed, there was mold in the caulking of the bathtub, the bathroom blinds were caked with dust and grime, and I found a toenail on the carpet (shudder). Even for a really basic hotel I would have expected more in terms of basic cleanliness.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
My apologies for the experience you had with us. Not at all up to our standards or your expectations. Unplanned issues such as the elevator scenario should never be met with anything other than concern from one of our associates.

If there is any additional review you would like to have regarding your stay please do let me know.

Thank you.

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

UI generally stay at this hotel whenever I am in philadelphia, which is at least eyarly. Located in the Penn's Landing area along the Deleware River the location is perfect. Just a few hundred yeards across Columbus Avenue from the Downtown/Old Town historic area the hotel is within very easy walking distance to both the Independence National Historic Site complex as well as the modern downtown business disgtrict. The hotel restaurant is typical Hyatt and the guest services exemplify the high standard typical of that reliable chain of hotels. Also, the hotel is located just steps away from the Maritime Museum, including the historic warship museums USS Becuna (a WW II fleet boat submarine) and the USS Olympia, famous from the Spanish American War and the Great White Fleet. Also steps away is the floating restaurant Moshulu, also very much worth a visit. Fotr centraly Philly, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough!

Room Tip: One has a choice of river or city views and on the river side one can look downriver, toward the mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Lost my power due to Hurricane Sandy and booked 4 nights here. On Thursday night, around, 9:45 pm, the hotel lost all electricity. No phone calls from staff or notices as to reason any and timeline. I called the front desk 4 times for an answer and heard the same response "we are working on it. ". Looked out my window (17th floor) and all of Philadelphia was lit up. So, obviously it was only a problem at this hotel. At midnight, still no power and went to sleep. Woke up and STILL no power!! Decided to check out. In the hotel lobby were people rightfully screaming as they had lost everything due to Hurricane and Hyatt staff could have cared less.

Beware of this hotel when looking for a place to stay in Philadelphia. Even staying there when the lights were on was not a great experience.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
A transformer suppyling power to the Penn's Landing area, which includes our hotel, exploded due to impact from the recent storm. Information on repair timelines was difficult to ascertain from the power supplier which was understandable initially as they were re deploying manpower to assist outher areas hard hit by hurricane Sandy.

We continued operations under emergency generator as best as was possible. Many people chose to stay. Those that needed to relocate to conduct meetings or due to personal preference were assisted immediately and we secured alternate accommodations for them. The staff received many comments of thnks for the assistance.

Power was restored Friday evening and we are at full operations.

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Anytime we travel we try to focus on positive features of the venues we visit - this hotel truly stretched our attempts at positivity to the limit !

Having had a pleasant flight with U.S. Airways from Dublin, we arrived at this rather soul-less tall building and the vibes were bad from the start. The Porter just about bothered to take one of our four bags into the lobby, a young Trainee recited lines (all too quickly) about whatever, a Porter couldn't be found to help bring our luggage to the 16th floor - ah yes, you can see it all began so well......

Then we had a drink at the bar, ordered food in the restaurant, sent one main course back because it was COLD - you get the picture. One of us visited an untidy / unclean washroom, adding to our already bad impressions.

Still seeking "positives" we noted that our Server, Natasha, was pleasant, personable & tried hard.(We noticed her efforts all the more as many of her colleagues stood around chatting to each other). This was definitely not the high standard customer service we're so used to experiencing in the U.S. Tired as we were, this place looked and behaved even more so - ATTITUDE + ATMOSPHERE seemed to be big issues here ! We retired to bed, reminding ourselves of the Scarlett O'Hara line : "To-morrow will be another day ....." (At least the pillows were good !)

Breakfast was a bit hit-and-miss I'm afraid : a series of people passed you on to the next one - lots of "fake sincerity" - but eventually someone eventually DID something for the guest. The coffee was o.k., the buffet was well presented, but of the cooked offerings, only the scrambled egg was hot and tasty.

We didn't eat at the hotel on the second night, but did visit the bar briefly - only one of two drinks ordered arrived initially, then we got a dirty glass with the second one - we didn't linger too long.

Breakfast on the morning of our departure was a less trying experience. It was no great surprise to us as we checked-out that nobody asked "How was your stay" ! Philadelphia is a great historic City, but we're afraid this Hyatt did its image no favours.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
I apologize for the poor experience you outline in your comments. This is not typical of a Hyatt experience in terms of facilities, food, service and hospitality. This is not the type of experience we ever want for someone and there is no excuse for missing the mark such as noted here.

Thank you for the feedback.

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nothing special about this place- but it is nice, clean, and has a good location by the river. The staff was professional- but again, just performing the usual functions. I was hoping for some acknowledgement as a Platinum member- but there are no benefits to speak of at this hotel for loyalty members.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

First of all, I did not realize that there were two Hyatt's in downtown Philly. I would have preferred the location of the other but ended up loving this hotel. The staff was super, from checking in at the front desk, to the bellman. Everyone was helpful and very upbeat. My room was 1819 at the end of the hall, great view of downtown and a sizable room.
I purchased the business package for $15 which included wifi and breakfast.....so worth the price because the breakfast buffet is $19. Breakfast was one of the best I have experienced at a hotel. Omelet station and most any food you would desire for breakfast. I lived in Philadelphia last year on a corporate assignment and this is a great walking city. I would walk to center Philadelphia alone at night from this hotel and always felt safe. Most of the historical sites are nearby.
This hotel does have a business or corporate feeling to it and there was a meeting going on while there. Without a doubt I would stay here again. The hotel arranged a car to the airport for me and the driver was so helpful with all my luggage. The fitness center was great also.

Room Tip: 1819 View of the city at night super! Very quiet at end of hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Although you had thoughts initially of being in our sister hotel we are very glad you stayed with us and that you enjoyed the stay, location and facilities so much. Thank you as well for the positive call out on the staff. We appreciate it.

If personal or business travel brings you this way in the future please give us a call. We'd love to have you with us again!

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia At Penn`s Landing Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia At Penn`s Landing Hotel
Hyatt Regency Penns Landing
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia Hotel
Hyatt Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hyatt
Hyatt Penns Landing Hotel
Address: 201 South Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront property. Neo Modernist Highrise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and TIG Global so you can book your Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing to your Saves list