We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Weekend, December 3, 2011.....Good Times....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 South Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106 (City Center East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Wedding Weekend, December 3, 2011.....Good Times....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Spent the weekend in Philadelphia for my wedding. Stayed in the VIP suite on the 22nd floor and had about 50 wedding guests from out of town staying at the hotel. Great stay!

First, I have very realistic views when staying at lodging properties. I travel quite a bit on business and pleasure. I am surprised there are so many negative reviews for this property after my recent stay.

I would certainly stay here again. And, many of our wedding guests made it a point to mention to me that the hotel was a great choice for our “host” wedding hotel. I can stop there, however some specifics….

LOCATION – Some reviews complain about the location. I have no idea what these guests are talking about. Within minutes, you can walk to Old City and the Constitution Center. If you like to drink, South Street is about a 15 minute walk away. I felt I was in the middle of one of the nicest areas of Philadelphia (Penn’s Landing). You also have the waterfront right at the doorstep. Personally, I thought the location was awesome, and if you needed to get beyond walking distance, it seemed that you were within a $10 cab ride from the entire city of Philadelphia.

PARKING – Yes it is expensive, but what do you expect??? You are parking in a covered, attached garage in one of the nicest areas of Philadelphia. Parking in any major metropolitan area is going to cost you, especially if it is gated and covered. If you aren’t happy with the daily parking fee, park on the street and see how well you sleep that night…..

SERVICE – I travel a lot for business and have the opportunity to stay in some pretty decent hotels from time to time. The service here was pretty decent. Prepare to tip, but the staff earns it. The Bellhop staff was especially helpful and courteous from the minute I pulled up. Again they are working for tips, but I thought they were very friendly.

ROOMS – Clean and well appointed. Again I stayed in the VIP suite, and everything was obviously wonderful on the 22nd floor. Beyond that, I heard nothing but positive comments from our wedding guests.

VIEW – Unbelievable! Try to get one of the upper floors if possible. Either way, you are pretty much guaranteed a great view no matter what room you get.

FOOD & BEVERAGE – The only meal I had at the hotel was breakfast the following morning with my family. It was very good. Perhaps a little pricy, but you have to remember you are having a meal within the hotel property and you have to expect to pay for this convenience. The breakfast was served hot and tasty and the service was decent as well.

ELEVATORS TO THE PARKING GARAGE – I think that it is funny that some reviewers are complaining that you have to take up to three elevators to get to the parking garage. Give me a break. Is it going to kill you that you have to walk an extra 4 minutes and take an additional elevator ride to get to your car, in a parking garage, attached to the rear of a major hotel property? As I stated earlier, if you are worried about elevators, you are focusing on the wrong things.

In the end, I would stay here again. It is a modern, business class hotel that will satisfy most every guests. The location is great, the service is friendly and the views are incredible.

Room Tip: Try to get a room high up in the tower....the views are incredible. Tip the bellhops....they will t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear Mr. Rohman,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for staying with us! Appreciate your taking the time to share your views. Great to learn you enjoyed the hotel, our location and the associates took great care of you.

Come back and see us sometime. All the best to you.

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    486
    168
    97
    55
See reviews for
278
349
73
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Traveled with a tour group there, impressed by the harbor view on the way there. The room is clean and big have an excellent view over the harbor. A few nice restaurants just in front of the hotel. Haven't got a chance to try them but all of those restaurants looks elegant and up tot the class. Not sure how good the hotel's location is in Philly, but it seems there is 10mins bus ride to the central (for me it is the liberty square).
The poor also has a nice view, i was the only person using it during the visit. However, i found the water was not as clean as i expected. Probably due to winter not many people using it. Internet is not free.
overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear StartAdventure,

Great to read you enjoyed the hotel. Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Philadelphia. Glad you enjoyed the rooms and the views of the water.

You'll have to come back for more exploring. There is easy access to Old City, restaurants,shopping and the historic attractions from the hotel. Easy walk or we'll bring a cab around for you.

The pool has dark tiles which give it a darker look than some pools with light colored walls and pool bottom. We have a regular maintenance and cleaning schedule but we'll check it out. Thanks for sharing your comments.

Regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

This is a hotel that is very new with LCD TV and all. Bell staff was very friendly and was even willing to pick up the luggages from the main road where we were dropped off. We had a room with a great view of the Benjamin Franklin bridge. Only gripe is the sirens we hear throughout the night. Since I stayed only one night, this could be incidental and not a chronic issue. The bed was comfortable but a bit too soft for my liking.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the bridge or city for a great night view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear MarkoRamius23,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.Appreciate it. Glad you enjoyed the visit to Philadelphia. Thank you for the kind words for the bell staff. We'll let them know.
Come back and see us again.

Regards,


Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I have had the opportunity to stay at the Hyatt at Penn's Landing in Philadelphia on 2 occasions. The view of the waterfront is always spectacular and you are very close to a lot of different attractions. Numerous great restaurants and historical areas are within walking distance. Accessibility is also easy from I95 and parking is ample due to the attached parking garage. Rooms are very nice and comfortable. If you are coming to Philadelphia and looking for a great place to stay this is the place.

Room Tip: The higher up the better so you can see more of the Delaware River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Hello DirtDogDay,

Thanks very much for scheduling another stay with us. We appreciate the choices you have made to stay with us and it's great to here the stay went well.

Sounds like you have had the chance to get out and about to the attractions located nearby the hotel during your visits. Hopefully you're not done yet and we'll see you back again soon.

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Follow-up revisit review: We chose to stay again at this hotel, given our prior positive experience. We did not mind that the hotel is remote, right on the river, and this time we received a room overlooking the river. The view was of Camden, NJ across the river, and can see the retired battleship New Jersey, along with the Benjamin Franklin bridge (see attached pictures).

For those of you who don't mind being away from the hub-bub of downtown Philly, and travelling via taxi, car, or a few minutes walk to Old City or South Street (for bars, restaurants), or a little further walk, historic Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, then you can't go wrong with the Hyatt at Penn's Landing. Be aware: the seaport right below is essentially non-existent, and on other side of hotel = front, there is a full highway (I-95) sunken further below. Not very noisy, but an occasional honking, cars whizzing by, or motorcycle rumbling reminds you it's there. Don't worry, there are overpasses at street level to get past the highway. Ask for a room with a river view if you are sensitive to noise, but not a big issue as windows are thick enough.

Room was comfortable, clean and spacious. King bed on a high floor. Bathroom was clean and as expected. Standard and acceptable. Front desk is a little 'stiff' and needs a little 'warmth', but efficient.

We would continue to recommend this hotel to all, including families. Did not note a pool in the hotel, and we did not try the restaurants or bars in the hotel...we prefer not to for any hotel, given the many options in the city. Why eat at a hotel when there are so many options, cuisines in the city, within easy reach??

Happy Hotel-ing!

Room Tip: Request a room on river side ... city side is ok, but river side avoids highway noise below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Dear Unbiased & FairAdvisor,

Thanks very much for choosing to stay with us again as well as providing your commentary on your experiences. We appreciate it .

Interesting comment on the team at the fromnt desk. We've hired a number of new staff members at the desk recently. Great feedback for us. I have shared your comments with the Front Office Manager that oversees that team. This will help him fine tune. That attention together with time in position will do it. Crucial information for us.

Hope we'll see you again soon. all the best.

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I had a very nice stay at this hotel. The only thing that I really have to complain about is how thin the walls were. One of the night I was there, a large group of people came back to their rooms after the bars closed and they were loud. Now this isnt the hotels fault, but the walls are so thin, it was like the were yelling inside my room. After about ten minutes of them yelling back and forth I almost called down stairs but they left the floor before I had the chance. Other than this, the hotel was nice, could use a little touching up but the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. I would stay here again if I was ever in Philly. The biggest draw back about the city, not just the hotel is how much parking is. We paid 25 bucks a night to park at the hotel. So if you can find somewhere that had parking included, I would definitely do that instead.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear LAGirlWorldTraveler,

Thank you for staying with us. I regret some other guests returning to the hotel later at night were too loud. If it goes on for longer than you feel is acceptable please always call downstairs. our security personnel do a walk through of all floors but are often not on a floor at the moment someone is too loud. We send them back up to the floor and they address it directly with the loud group . They monitor the area for any other disturbance as well.

In regards to the parking.....seems that is somewhat of a subjective topic. We try to remain in a very competitive position relative to other similar hotels in the area. We compare very favorably on the lower end of the price points. Also, we offer self parking for a savings as well as valet parking.

Hopefully there will be another opportunity for you to head east again and we'll have the opportunity to have you with us again.

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winston-salem nc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I stayed at the Hyatt Penn's Landing for a convention in March. Check-in was quick and efficient. Room assigned was on a high floor with a king bed, as requested. While the view was nothing spectacular (city view), it suited my needs. The bathroom was nice, with granite countertop. All surfaces (shower, counter, toilet, etc) were cleaned adequately. I had the breakfast buffet at Keating's River Grill one morning. While it was very good with a nice variety, it was a bit pricey. The waitstaff was very accommodating.

The meeting facilities were fine, and the snacks provided during the breaks hit the spot. Actually, all the meals served during the meeting were good.

I really enjoyed my stay at the Hyatt Penn's Landing. I travel to Philly quite a bit and it will be one of my go-to hotels. One word of caution - this hotel is a little removed from the action. That could be good or bad, depending on your perspective.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCatHyatt, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Hello dkstyle,

Glad we had the opportunity to host the comnevtion you were in town for and have you stay with us. Thanks for sharing your feedback and it was great to read that the staff, facilities and food met all of your needs while you were here.

I hope you'll return for a leisure focused stay. The historical sites of Old City as well as great restaurants available in that part of town are close by. Cross over at the hotel driveway or take the pedestrian footbridge adjacent to the hotel. With cabs staging just across from the hotel we can also get you into one of those if preferred.

Thanks again. Enjoy the holidays. Hope you have you with us again soon.

Best regards,

Mike Costello
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing

Address: 201 South Columbus Boulevard, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfront property. Neo Modernist Highrise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia At Penn`s Landing Hotel Philadelphia
Hyatt Regency Penns Landing
Hyatt Regency Philadelphia Hotel
Hyatt Philadelphia
Hyatt Penns Landing Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Philadelphia at Penn's Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.