We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1305-11 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Holiday Inn Express Midtown offers a great location for all the sites in Philly! It is located just one block behind McGillin's Olde Ale House, the oldest operating tavern in Philly. It's also close to dining and shopping and one of the Hop On/Hop Off stops and all public transportation in Philly. The staff are exceptional and customer service is five star...including the hotel manager that booked transportation for us back to the airport at the end of our stay. I cannot say enough about the staff friendliness and going out of their way to help us with our stay and accommodate three people in a room. The hotel includes breakfast; but for days where the offering is not to your liking, there is an IHOP and a Dunkin Donuts right across the street. The hotel is currently being renovated ad udpated; we were fortunate to be on a floor that was already compete. Noise was not an issue, but we were out of the hotel when construction crews were working. The only drawback was the AC in the room never removed all of the mositure, so some nights were muggy while trying to sleep. I definitely recommend this Holiday Inn Express location for a stay in Philly!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
It sounds like overall you had a great stay and thank you for letting us know. We are huge fans of McGillins as well are happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Our employees are our greatest asset and they love it when a guest enjoys their stay. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    328
    106
    36
    14
See reviews for
185
159
50
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I would have to say Bria at the front desk was the nicest check in person I have ever met. Extremely helpful and so nice. She gave us so much information on the area, made our Tour bus reservations and help us with information on Colleges in the area. The hotel nice and in a great location downtown. Breakfast was ok, very busy each morning. I would have to admit the wifi is the worst. Slow, cuts out all the time, I know if free but it's slow!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
It's great to hear that Bria was such a star and so very helpful during your stay. We will let her know how you felt about the job she did. Sorry to hear about your experience with the internet, we have made changes recently that should help. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Would definitely stay again at this Holiday Inn Express. Location was perfect, close to everything you would need to visit in Philly, either by walking or tour bus. Newly renovated room was very nice, very clean. Breakfast buffet was top notch, loved the pancake machine. Stayed with the visitphilly package and our parking was included which was a real value. Didn't have to take the car out at all which was a real blessing since the garage was the craziest I've ever been in in my life. Front desk was very friendly and helpful with all our needs.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a newly renovated room. They're very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thanks for letting us know that you had such a great time, an enjoyed the hotel so much while you stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown recently. We hope that we we see you and can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The internet connection in this hotel is the worst. The engineer I spoke to on the phone also mentioned that it slows down in the evenings. Even in the mornings, the internet does not work. Business executives just can't stay at this hotel in peace without getting any work done. If you are here with your family and have kids who use electronic devices, find some other place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your problems with the internet. We are working with the Internet Service Provider and their technicians, running tests throughout the hotel. Everything seems to be working fine. Our management staff is trying to contact you and connect you directly with the ISP support staff to resolve your problems accessing the server.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have been staying at this hotel since October 2013 for work. They are nicest people - very accommodating. I stayed at 2 different hotels during that time period and both times wish I had not changed hotels and the 2nd time I actually checked out early and booked at this hotel. The location is excellent, there are many restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is about 2 blocks from city hall, and about 8 blocks from the national treasures like the liberty bell and Constitution Hall and independence hall. The hotel management has worked with me many times when I have scheduling issues arise at the last minute. The hotel is going through a remodel and I am staying in the new rooms and they are excellent. Aubry and Ashley are awesome.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger then the normal suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are very proud of our staff, and Aubrey & Ashley are a big part of that. It's so good to hear that we could help you overcome challenges during your stay, and that you enjoyed your time with us! We look forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here in late June. Great location to the historic district and plenty of restaurants along the way. Beds were comfortable and maid service was adequate. Front desk was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was the highlight with plenty of choices and helpful hostesses who assist with some special dietary needs. The kids loved the make-your-own-pancake machine as much as they did eating them.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
That pancake machine is a huge hit! and not just with the children! Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed the area, in all its aspects. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellence value. Walked to everything.

Cab from airport was 28.50 plus 1.10 per extra person. 20 minutes max per ride there and back.

Scoop De Ville Ice Cream next door. I hammered that place. Got 20% discount showing my Philadelphia Pass card. Nice girls working the counter.

Pandoras is a cafe/deli 1/2 block down. HUGE portions but tad pricy. $27 for philly cheese steak, fries and drink for 2 people. Way too much food. Nice people.

Fratelias is an Italian place a couple blocks up. Used a groupon. HUGE portions. 2 pasta dishes plus water was $51. Mike was the waiter, nice guy.

CVS right down the block.
WAWA right down the block.
Rite Aid ditto.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are happy to hear that you found everything you needed, walked to all that you wanted and enjoyed yourself while you were her with us at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Address: 1305-11 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#42 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.