We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1305-11 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
st. clair
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in midtown on the fourth. This was our first stay in mid-town; we usually stay in old city. We were in the middle of great restaurants/shopping and with-in walking distance of historic old city. The staff was very friendly and parking in the deck next door was very convenient. We stayed on the18th floor and had a great view of the city. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room higher up for less traffic noise and a great view. The is an outdoor pool on the 10th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear gosteelers81,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really value all of your feedback. We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Philly. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    318
    106
    35
    14
See reviews for
180
156
50
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is centrally located, within minutes walk of the major sights in Philly; there is a parking garage next to it and the hotel offers parking space in that garage. Ask for instructions as they have a sort of assisted parking.

Staff is very friendly even when the check-in desk was swamped with people trying to check in.

We had a pretty big room, with comfy beds and ample bathroom space.

Free wifi connection is terribly slow most of the times. Not usable for streaming content, even onlow quality. Good enough for browsing for local restaurants and checking email.

Air-conditioning works, but is pretty loud and works on intervals, waking you up in the middle of the night. Turning it off wasn't an option as it was pretty hot.

There is a nice swimming pool outside on the 7th floor. It looked great, but didn't had a change to use it.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear ralfvd,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you for your comments and concerns. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the WIFI, and AC in your room. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We use guest feedback to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is close to everything downtown plus walking distance to the train. Great restaurants along 13th St. The staff was very friendly ensuring we had everything we needed for our stay and asking us if we needed anything else before we asked them questions.
Breakfast is complimentary and there are tons of choices which makes it great for families. If you are still unhappy, the iHop right across the street.

Room Tip: Higher floors have view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Dcark,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing about their service. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had fix to Grease at the Walnut Street Theater in Philly and the next I had a Dr appt also in Philly so we added on a nice dinner, a trip to the Barnes Foundation museum and an overnight in the Holiday Inn Express Midtown, on Walnut Street . The hotel is in an excellent location, just 5 blocks from the Walnut St Theater, 3 to the Forrest Theater. On site parking, including in-and-out was $25 and the room was $184.00. Fairly nice continental breakfast included. Not bad I guess for center city Philly. The room was large, clean with a nice bath. Bed was OK but not very comfy. A/C unit was very loud which is not unusual for those through the wall all-in-one units. Too loud for me though & I'm half deaf. Btw, I don't believe the unit was defective, just loud. The A/C noise is a trade off against the great location.

Room Tip: We had room 1001. Maybe another room has a quieter a/c unit. Loud even on low fan only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit. It is nice to hear that you had a good weekend with the exception of the HVAC. I have reported your comments to our maintenance department so steps can be taken to repair or replace the unit. We hope that the next time you come to Philly for a visit, that you will choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is in a good but busy location. Even on the 11th floor in the back I could hear the constant noise of the street.
The room was very spatious. Small but clean bathroom. No bath/shower gel but shampoo and conditioner.
Flatscreen TV.
WIFI free ; sometimes a bit slow.
Good bed.
Breakfast : lots of choices but all a bit high on fatty stuff. Bad coffee. I didn't like the fact the plates and cutlery was plastic and polysterene. It doesn't seem very green and is not appetizing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose the Holiday Inn Express.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed for four nights in June. The room was large, clean and comfortable. The only thing it lacked was a safe. (We used the complimentary safe deposit boxes at reception)

We were on the top floor with an interesting view over Philadelphia.

The staff we ever helpful, and the hotel was well located with many fine restaurants and bars nearby in and around Walnut St.. The hotel itself has no restaurant or bar.

But the breakfasts were dreadful. Mainly consisting of warm pastries, pancakes (if the machine was working) and tasteless scrambled eggs or small cheese omelettes. There were some cereals and bread but a distinct lack of protein.

But the worst thing was the plastic cutlery, yes very cheap plastic cutlery. The knives would bend and break.

We would lift a couple of bananas and leave in search of drinkable coffee elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Administrative Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your very candid comments. We are glad that the staff succeeded in so many ways during your recent and that you were pleased with many aspects of your recent stay. As an Express hotel, we do not serve any food or beverage other than the continental breakfast, which you did not enjoy. It is our goal to consistently provide superior guest service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. Thank you for your for openness and we hope that when you have the oppurtunity to return to Philadelphia, it iwll be to the Holiday Inn Express Midtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I live right across the river in New Jersey, but I needed a hotel in Philadelphia for 2 nights while having cataract surgery at nearby Wills Eye Institute. Everyone at the Holiday Inn Express made a special point of looking after me like I was a member of the family.

The room was clean and well appointed, as one would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The phone in my room didn't work quite as it should and they had a new phone up to the room in less than 10 minutes.

Because of the anesthesia for my morning surgery I wasn't allowed to eat after midnight. The staff at the breakfast room provided me with a box and sturdy bag so I could take items up to my room for later. The breakfast on the second morning was delicious and had a very large selection. There were the Holiday Inn Express's signature hot cinnamon buns, biscuits and gravy, eggs and sausage, lots of fruit and other goodies. The room was crowded but the staff kept everything well stocked, neat and running smoothly.

I requested a late checkout as I had a follow-up appointment with my surgeon the second morning. No problem. Even the attendant on the floor of the garage where I was parked arranged to place my car where it wouldn't be hemmed in by new arrivals and I could exit easily.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Philadelphia area, either for all the great historic sites or for proximity to several good hospitals.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Address: 1305-11 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#42 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.