We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great price, very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great price, very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stay here for a mini vacation, 4 days. Central location for most of the sites you'll want to see in Philadelphia. I don't mind walking, so you can get the feel and look of the area. Most sites, Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, Eastern State, Rocky Statue... All within 1/2 mile or so walking, easy to navigate to and if want to taking a cab isn't to expensive for these short trips. Like I said though, with the hotels location, walking is easy and let's you find all the hidden gems!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceansize_421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear oceansize_421,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Philly. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Very helpful front desk: Aubrey and Gwen
Hotel is pricey but that is due to its great location downtown Philadelphia. It is within walking distance of the Old City and several historic sites.
Our king room was comfortable with a spectacular view from the 18th floor. WOW
While modest and well used, the room and bath were clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable.
Free wi-fi in the room was easy to access.
When our key was accidentally deactivated, we appreciated the double layers of security to ensure safe access to the room.
A variety of hot breakfast and cold options were plentiful.
Parking is an additional $25 / day.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank McTWaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear twaid,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate hearing feedback about your stay. Thank you for mentioning our staff members Aubrey and Gwen. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I took a group of 24 seniors to Philadelphia and this hotel was perfect! Rooms were large, clean and just great. The breakfast area was large well maintained and very well staffed. The room seats about 150 and was full most of the 4 days we were there. The breakfast was a very good one with fresh pancakes, eggs, bacon or sausage, freshly made cinnamon buns, biscuits, plus cereal, toast, bagels, donuts, yogurt, juice, coffee, milk. Hotel staff from the front desk to the cleaning people were very friendly and accommodating. We had 13 rooms on two floors and everyone in our group was well pleased. It is centrally located in center city and accessible all historic areas. Security was very good as well.

Room Tip: Suggest you request a higher level floor since it is a downtown hotel the noise level will be non ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donfbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Donfbc,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you for your comments. We are so glad that we could accommodate your group. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

It is in walking distance to almost anything in center city. The staff is friendly and rooms are well maintained and very clean. It near many restaurants. The breakfast is nice to have included as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelG882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Michael G,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate all of your feedback. We will pass it on to our staff. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Recently enjoyed a two night stay here. Had stayed in a beautiful hotel in NYC so was prepared for a drop in standards but was pleasantly surprised. Generously proportioned rooms in a great location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice complimentary breakfast. Overall great value for money and would recommend for anyone stopping in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Katrina K,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We hope you and your familiy enjoyed your time in Philly. Thank you for your feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Level Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed three nights during our road trip to several cities/states. There was absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel - large, CLEAN room, comfortable beds, decent breakfast and a location that was perfect for walking all over Philly - to Rittenhouse Square, to the Historic District and other places. There were tons of shops, restaurants and bars in the nearby area; a perfect location to stay. The staff were extremely nice and friendly, esp. the lady who worked in the breakfast room.

As others noted, the bathroom is small but the sink/mirror/vanity area is outside the bathroom and is a nice size so it makes up for the small bathroom. Anyway, only one person can 'use' (if you know what I mean :)) the bathroom at one time, so how big does it have to be??? The attached parking garage was a huge plus (owned by a separate company) and the cost was lower to park there than other hotels that had garages 'attached'.

We loved Philly and would definitely stay at this hotel again! Some people complain about small things, but we found nothing wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indybindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Indybindy,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate your comments. We will pass these comments on to our staff. We hope you enjoyed your time in Philly. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The style is typical for the Holiday Inn Express properties located in the downtown areas of large cities. Old and new style mix which I happen to like. (Baltimore is similar). The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was great - walking distance to tourist sites and good restaurants. Parking was a slight pain, but typical for downtown areas. They try to smooth it out by giving you a key card that gets you in/out of the garage. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear StephenBee,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We really appreciate our business travelers. Thank you for your feeback. We will pass these comments on to our staff. Thank you so much for your time. We hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Rodeway Inn Center City
#46 of 83 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Address: 1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing