We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value with extremely helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1305-11 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Bath, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excellent value with extremely helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel is ideal for the theater-goers, with parking attached to the hotel (fees apply.) The guest room was exceptionally clean and large. From the front desk searching for a restaurant for us, to the housekeepers who asked if we had what we needed, and the manager who immediately addressed a non-hotel guest who was loitering in the lobby, it was clear that the staff truly takes pride in service. The continental breakfast was hot and good. When I apologized for spilling a coffee on the counter, Betty said to me with great sincerity, as long as you were not hurt, nothing else matters! Nice, nice people at Holiday Inn Express. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear azzul98,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. Thank you for mentioning our great staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We are so glad that we could accommodate you and your family. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    310
    105
    35
    14
See reviews for
173
153
49
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We made reservations originally for three nights, then our plans changed and we tried to cancel the second two nights. We met with firm resistance from the booking agency (an on line company I won't name) who told us we could NOT cancel reservations, and we'd pay whether we stayed or not, claiming this was "hotel policy." Apparently it wasn't because at my insistence they called the hotel and got "approval" to cancel the second two nights. That should have been a warning.

The location was convenient: we needed to be near Rittenhouse Square and this hotel is. However, that's about all it had going for it. There is NO parking for guests. The parking garage NEXT DOOR is, we were told, "not part of the hotel," but we were offered the opportunity to pay $25 (via the hotel) and that would get us in-and-out until 3:30 PM the next day. However, since we had arrived about 6:00 PM, and since the garage only charged $22 for 24 hours, we opted to just leave the car there and pay the garage directly, which saved us $3. Now, the hotel staff was aware of this option but didn't tell us about it: I found out from the garage attendant.

The room was adequate, no different from any other hotel in this price range, but the walls were very thin, and there were noisy people in the two adjacent rooms and in the hallway someone seemed to be holding a jamboree, right outside our door. No way to shut them up, so I opted for ear plugs or I would not have got any sleep at all.

At $180 all up, with the reservation made through the online agency supposedly giving us a discount from the rack rate (which was NOT posted on the door) of $275, this place was pretty much a rip-off. That was on a Friday night: had we stayed the extra two days it would have been even more per night.

Convenient location is important and I don't mind paying for it, but the HIE Midtown is incompetently managed and overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Sciuricidus,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am so pleased you liked the fine convenient location of our property. I would like to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the parking lot. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. I am sorry you were not satisfied with our rates. Prices do vary depending on the dates and are competitive within the area. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel for work. All of the staff was very accomodating and pleasant. I was able to check in early, which is always a bonus. I hate getting the "your room is not ready, check in is at 3" speech at a hotel. There is an attached parking garage, which is great in downtown Philly. It is a bit distressing, as the lanes are small and the garage is very crowded. The price was excellent for downtown Philadelphia, and the location is amazing! Very close to tons of restaurants, bars, shopping, and theaters. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear mwallerius,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We are so glad that we could accommodate you during your business trip. We value all guest feedback. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a few times while visiting Philadelphia. Its got a great location! The cost is affordable. Staff is always friendly and rooms are always clean. Continental breakfast was plentiful and good. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear CarroeDLRDH,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback. We value all guest feedback. We hope you enjoyed your time in Philly. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you again for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Excellent hotel with good sized rooms, friendly staff, free breakfast and wifi.
Great location in heart of Philadelphia
Stayed new years eve and had a great time, was sad to have to leave
Would certainly use again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear dropswell,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your feedback regarding your stay. We hope you enjoyed ringing in the New Year in Philly. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Picked this location due to proximity to work project. Good location in Midtown Philadelphia. Rooms, very average, nothing special. Walls very thin, could hear the person next door talking on the phone as if he was in the same room.

On-site parking garage says "self parking", but you have to leave your keys with an attendant. Attendant had the impression that he was doing us a FAVOR for him allowing us to park in the garage. Hotel should find a different parking vendor for their parking garage.

Check in process was slow, but Front desk agent was polite.

I had a co-worker joining me for a project the next day and I was to pay for their room. They had reserved a room at the same location. They did not arrive until about 1am. They called me when they arrived and I called down to the front desk (from my room phone) and asked them to please put my co-workers room charges onto my credit card. They insisted I must come down to the lobby, sign the registration form in person, show my credit card and ID before giving my co-worker their room. I asked why this was necessary and only got a very rude response from La Shai that it was company policy and if I didn't do it they wouldn't get their room. I could not believe it. So, I got dressed, went downstairs, gave my CC and ID (again) to get my co-worker checked in. I once again asked why I needed to come down to the lobby and all Daniel and La Shai would say was it was strict policy. I understand a policy, but some policies (is this a high school?) I find a bit absurd. They already had all my credit card and personal information. Being a customer that stays 200+nights in hotels every year, I have never encountered such poor customer service.

I generally like staying at HI properties, but they should realize if they make a guest feel that they are a child that other hotels would gladly take their business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXmidtown, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
The Holiday Inn Express Midtown-Philadelphia greatly values both the privacy and security of our guests. Holiday Inn Express Midtown-Philadelphia also greatly values our frequent guests and Priority Club members. In this instance, a policy was upheld in order to guarantee the credit security of all of our guests. All guests using credit/debit cards are asked to present identification to validate their use of the card in question and required to have the card swiped as a record of its legitimiate use. While we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced, we stand by this policy as it protects our guests; we hope that you can see that we truly have our guests' best interests at heart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had a strange week of staying 4 nights in Philadelphia, and staying in 4 different hotels. It was over New Years, this was the first one.
And, it was fine. The location is excellent, surrounded by great options to eat, there is a restaurant called Sampan, go out the front door onto Walnut turn left, and take the first left, it's right there and EXCELLENT. They have incredible food for Happy Hour, Kobe sliders $2, delicious dumplings and fried rice, it's upmarket and really really worth a visit!
Back to the hotel. Typical of a Holiday Inn really, I thought the carpet was kind of grimy, it had stains, yuk. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom is really small, the sink is outside of the bathroom itself, my husband likes this, I don't.
It wouldn't be the top of my list of where to stay in Philadelphia but again it is in a great location.
The check in staff were extremely slow, and mixed up our booking, we had 3 rooms, so it took quite alot to sort it all out.
The breakfast, don't waste your time. VERY basic.

Room Tip: higher floors, better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Annette T,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns about the hotel. Thank you for telling us about your thoughts about the carpet and the bathroom in your room. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied. We are very sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Address: 1305-11 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.