We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, good value, big room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1305-11 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Bristol
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice, clean, good value, big room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a great few days here. Nice central location, cheap, clean, big room.

The breakfast was okay, a bit busy and hard to find a table, but for what you pay, you really can't complain. Nice pastries, toast etc. A pretty good way to start a days sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear AmyBristol82,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns about the hotel. Thank you for telling us about your concern about the breakfast service. We will pass these comments on to our staff. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will consider us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    276
    95
    34
    12
See reviews for
156
132
45
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed a night here, booked two rooms for the kids and parents. rooms were clean and warm. location was fantastic for seeing local sites. staff are professional and helpful. I would stay again and recommend this hotel to all budget conscious travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Rick T,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We will pass all of your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights on my trip. First was when I flew into Philly to catch Amtrak up to NY the next morning. Arrived very late, took the taxi from Airport to this hotel cost about $40 and it was a 20 mins ride or so. I stayed at this hotel in the summer&so I knew the service and rooms are great.

My first room the washroom was a lil dirty but it was late&I was tired so I didnt mention it to the Front Desk. I am sure they would have moved me into another room no problem. I returned a few days later for the Lakers game and the room was clean and everything was perfect.

I love this hotel. Love the service and love the breakfast and the location aswell. Tons of shopping a couple blocks down. Will always choose to stay here when visiting Philly! Thanx for another great stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Stayed in a room near the elevator but never had any noise issues. Standard roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear west_coast22,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments. We appreciate are return guests so much. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. With that being said we would like to apologize for the bathroom in your room. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you enjoyed your time in Philly and hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

One night stay for business - was impressed with location, an easy walk to the major tourist attractions and great restaurants. Room was slightly larger than expected and beds were comfortable. The windows were a good size but the room (even moreso the hallway) had an odd odor. Breakfast was the major disappointment - some food was good, but most was not - and they kept running out of everything. Since the breakfast is the usual differentiator for HIE, this drags down my overall impression of the hotel. Public spaces look tired but not a big deal for me

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear traveltime841,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments and concerns about the hotel. Thank you for telling us about your concerns about the breakfast. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

The last five or six reviews are a great set to figure out what this hotel is about. There is definitely something to be said for its phenomenal location in Centre City at a reasonable price. Also,the staff are very friendly. However, you definitely get what you pay for. The public areas look tired and have odd odors. The breakfast is hit or miss but struggles to keep things well stocked (particularly juices). If you're familiar with other Holiday Inn properties I would describe this as a pre-renovated Holiday Inn rather than the well-run, new feeling you usually get at a Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear IL-ATL,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns regarding the hotel. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stay in the IHG properties(i.e. Holiday Inn) a majority of my hotel stays. With that said I know there is something to be said for each level of their properties. Holiday Inn express, hence the name, is not big on frills and amenities therefore when vacationing in big cities I usually look for more "bells and whistles" and want to be pampered. With all that said the value and location of the HI Express definitely make up for the lack of concierge, restaurant, and other amenities. You are in the theater district with restaurants abound and plenty of things to do. The hotel, while not opulent, is clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are of a good size and we had a great view from the 17th floor. I will be returning to this property in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Wanderlust-itis,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel would be great except the service lacked and breakfast was terrible. I let them know multiple times that we would not be arriving until late in the evening to ensure they didn't give our room away. However, when we arrived, we were rather rudely told we had been moved to a handicapped room because they weren't sure if we were coming since we arrived so late. This is why I had told them multiple times! This wouldn't have been such a big deal except we were going to a wedding and had nice clothes that couldn't be properly hung in the short handicapped closet. So frustrating that they clearly hadn't listened and then were rude about it.

Breakfast was also horrendous! The staff serving it was great but the food was just so bad, especially the pancakes. Part of why I chose this hotel was because of the free breakfast but when it's hardly edible, it's not worth it.

Rooms were clean and location is great though!

Room Tip: If you're arriving late at night try to tell them so they don't give your room away.. Didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Jackie178,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. It is great that you recognize our clean rooms, the housekeeping team takes great pride in their work and it is lovely that it is noticed and we do boast about our superb location. I am deeply sorry for the mix up of your reservation and the lack of communication about the late check in note not being put into your account. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention and trust that we will address the issues and assure you that proper measures will be taken to ensure that there will not be a recurrence.

While I understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Fitness center...
Show More
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Pool, Restauran...
Show More
Hampton Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Restaurant, Fam...
Show More
Doubletree by Hilton Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free internet...
Show More
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Independent Hot...
Show More
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#24 of 82 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Address: 1305-11 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#36 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.