We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Philadelphia theater district value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1305-11 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%!
Ranked #31 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Philadelphia theater district value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I stay in the IHG properties(i.e. Holiday Inn) a majority of my hotel stays. With that said I know there is something to be said for each level of their properties. Holiday Inn express, hence the name, is not big on frills and amenities therefore when vacationing in big cities I usually look for more "bells and whistles" and want to be pampered. With all that said the value and location of the HI Express definitely make up for the lack of concierge, restaurant, and other amenities. You are in the theater district with restaurants abound and plenty of things to do. The hotel, while not opulent, is clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are of a good size and we had a great view from the 17th floor. I will be returning to this property in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Wanderlust-itis,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We value all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    296
    103
    35
    13
See reviews for
170
142
47
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel would be great except the service lacked and breakfast was terrible. I let them know multiple times that we would not be arriving until late in the evening to ensure they didn't give our room away. However, when we arrived, we were rather rudely told we had been moved to a handicapped room because they weren't sure if we were coming since we arrived so late. This is why I had told them multiple times! This wouldn't have been such a big deal except we were going to a wedding and had nice clothes that couldn't be properly hung in the short handicapped closet. So frustrating that they clearly hadn't listened and then were rude about it.

Breakfast was also horrendous! The staff serving it was great but the food was just so bad, especially the pancakes. Part of why I chose this hotel was because of the free breakfast but when it's hardly edible, it's not worth it.

Rooms were clean and location is great though!

Room Tip: If you're arriving late at night try to tell them so they don't give your room away.. Didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Jackie178,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. It is great that you recognize our clean rooms, the housekeeping team takes great pride in their work and it is lovely that it is noticed and we do boast about our superb location. I am deeply sorry for the mix up of your reservation and the lack of communication about the late check in note not being put into your account. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention and trust that we will address the issues and assure you that proper measures will be taken to ensure that there will not be a recurrence.

While I understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, I hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were there for Thanksgiving. The location is great and the rooms are big and cozy, staff friendly . The breakfast is terrible , go elsewhere (there's a great coffee shop nearby ) for breakfast.
We really enjoyed Philadelphia and the location of the hotel is so central that you can walk everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear isramedia,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your thoughts about the hotel. We hope you enjoyed your trip to Philadelphia during the holiday. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast service. We are always trying to find better ways to make this service better. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I was in town for a trade show. This Holiday Inn Express is only a few blocks from the Philly Convention Center. The neighborhood never seemed threatening and the pan-handlers that are closer to Market we not to be seen during my trip.

The workout location is around the corner, but the gym is well stocked with any kind of workout equipment that you'd need. Much better than a in-hotel gym.

@$200 pet night, it was a bit pricey for my taste, but it is in midtown.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Tubby_Rower,

Thank you for telling us about your staff. We appreciate all of your feedback. We will pass these comments on to our staff. We appreciate guest feedback, because it allow us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel had a clean lobby, clean room with a view of the city and even the top of the City Hall monument. The parking was a bit hectic. Nothing spectacular about it. But it's a good location right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Potonka,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We wil pass them on to our staff. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the parking. We are sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to see an eagles game. Not bad location but a decent walk to main tourist sites. Long wait to check in. Rooms clean. Very nice bell hop. Free breakfast was amazing! For dinner check out moriartys down the street, really awesome wings and cheap beer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear MMansfield,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We hope you enjoyed your time in Philly. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. Thanks for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We took a road trip from Pittsburgh to Philadelphia and ended up staying at this hotel. The hotel in itself is nice, rooms were clean, decor is average for a Holiday Inn Express. The location for this hotel was worth it to us. Once we parked our car, we never looked at it again. We could walk anywhere - to all the historical sites. It was easy and convenient. The only complaint I have is the parking garage. If you are driving to Philadelphia, I would be wary of this hotel just for that reason. The garage was overcrowded, small, and nobody was available to help when we parked our car. In addition, they double park cars, so if someone parks in front of you, you are stuck. We were fortunate when we left that a car was not in front of us. I can honestly say I don't know what we would have done if there would have been one there. Other than that, the hotel itself was fine and the location was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear mhg12,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns about the hotel. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the parking garage. We would like to let you know that in the event that there is a car double parked and a guest needs to get out that we will make arrangements for the car to be moved. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Our guest feedback is very valuable to us. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Address: 1305-11 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.