We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good Location, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1305-11 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%!
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Philadelphia
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Good Location, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel had a clean lobby, clean room with a view of the city and even the top of the City Hall monument. The parking was a bit hectic. Nothing spectacular about it. But it's a good location right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Potonka,

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We wil pass them on to our staff. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the parking. We are sorry for any inconvenience that you were caused. We will pass this feedback on to our staff. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    291
    99
    35
    13
See reviews for
169
139
46
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night to see an eagles game. Not bad location but a decent walk to main tourist sites. Long wait to check in. Rooms clean. Very nice bell hop. Free breakfast was amazing! For dinner check out moriartys down the street, really awesome wings and cheap beer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear MMansfield,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We hope you enjoyed your time in Philly. We appreciate all of your comments. We will pass them on to our staff. Thanks for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We took a road trip from Pittsburgh to Philadelphia and ended up staying at this hotel. The hotel in itself is nice, rooms were clean, decor is average for a Holiday Inn Express. The location for this hotel was worth it to us. Once we parked our car, we never looked at it again. We could walk anywhere - to all the historical sites. It was easy and convenient. The only complaint I have is the parking garage. If you are driving to Philadelphia, I would be wary of this hotel just for that reason. The garage was overcrowded, small, and nobody was available to help when we parked our car. In addition, they double park cars, so if someone parks in front of you, you are stuck. We were fortunate when we left that a car was not in front of us. I can honestly say I don't know what we would have done if there would have been one there. Other than that, the hotel itself was fine and the location was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear mhg12,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns about the hotel. Thank you for telling us your concerns about the parking garage. We would like to let you know that in the event that there is a car double parked and a guest needs to get out that we will make arrangements for the car to be moved. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. Our guest feedback is very valuable to us. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place seemed pretty sparse for the cost, compared to the really nice hotels just a few blocks away. But the friendly, accommocating staff and the great breakfasts made up for the lack a large, beautiful foyer and high-priced gift shop.There is free internet access in the lobby, and the walk to the convention center is pleasant. There is a convenience store across the street and there are several restaurants - ethinic and otherwise - within a couple short blocks.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Flowergirl1165,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and concerns. We are sorry if your were inconvenineced at all. Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate guest feedback because, it allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was a little nervous to stay at this hotel after reading some of the reviews, but it turned out to be a very pleasant experience. The staff (except for one of the bellmen who was a bit grumpy when he was helping to store our bags for the day before our flight) was extremely friendly and helpful. They were willing to answer questions and assist in any way that they could. The room was very spacious (two double beds) and clean, which is a number one priority for me when staying at a hotel. On the first morning, the tub filled up with water during our showers (we were all ankle-deep in water by the end). I called down to have someone come up to fix it, and within 10 minutes, the maintenance man arrived and fixed the problem. Also, on Sunday, apparently the housekeepers don't arrive until later in the day, but even at 5:00 pm, our room had not been cleaned. Again, I called down about this, and within 10 minutes, the housekeeper arrived and apologized profusely for not having gotten to our room. She was very gracious to change out our towels and take out our trash (that's all we really needed anyway). The next day, the housekeeper did come to our room, gave us new towels, but she didn't remove the dirty ones that were piled on the bathroom floor. Whenever I called down for extra towels, they accommodated the request within minutes. The breakfast isn't all that great. The coffee is awful! It tastes like the coffee maker has never been cleaned in addition to the poor quality coffee that is being brewed. We just ended up going to Starbucks instead, which there are a few within walking distance of the hotel (I recommend the one attached to Macy's). The hotel is situated in the LGBT district, so be aware of this, especially for those traveling with children. During the day, it wasn't that obvious, but at night, it was very evident. But, it is very close to numerous restaurants and is within walking distance of the convention center (about 6 or so blocks) and the Liberty bell (about a mile, which is very doable). There a huge street party going on over the weekend right outside the hotel, which was a bit noisy, but it didn't really disturb us at all. The hotel, though busy from the convention in town that we were attending, was very quiet. The Internet is free, which was so nice. It was a bit spotty at times, as some other posts mention, but it wasn't a big problem at all. Overall, it was a good experience, and I would be willing to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Deborah H,

Thnak you for telling us about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate all of comments and concerns about the hotel. We are sorry for the housekeeping service that you received. We are sorry for the inconvenience that this may have caused. We would aslo like to let you know guest safety at the hotel is our number one priority. We strive as a hotel to make sure that is always the number one priority. Thank you for bringing your concerns to us. We appreciate all guest feedback because, it allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and future guests to the hotel. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here while on business... Great location... close to a lot of authentic places to eat. Hotel has free breakfast on site in the morning - which was a nice touch (including glazed donuts, which I had never seen on the HI Express breakfast bar menu).

Teri - who checked me in - was super friendly and gave me a nice rundown of what the hotel had to offer and what was nearby.

Overall - great experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear jacobandjune,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about the hotel. We are so glad that we could accommodate your business trip. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for all of your comments. We appreciate all guest feedback. Thank you for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at the HI Express while attending a conference at the nearby Conference Center. I can't say enough about the friendly, helpful staff and the comfortable facilities. The hotel was full but staff did all they could to keep all the guests happy. Next time I'm in Philly I'll be looking forward to staying at the HI Express.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear beenthere069,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments. Guest feedback is very important to us. Thank you for staying with us. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Address: 1305-11 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#31 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.