We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at the HI Express” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1305-11 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #31 of 82 hotels in Philadelphia
Clarkston, WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay at the HI Express”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at the HI Express while attending a conference at the nearby Conference Center. I can't say enough about the friendly, helpful staff and the comfortable facilities. The hotel was full but staff did all they could to keep all the guests happy. Next time I'm in Philly I'll be looking forward to staying at the HI Express.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear beenthere069,

Thank you for telling us about your stay. We appreciate all of your comments. Guest feedback is very important to us. Thank you for staying with us. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    274
    95
    33
    12
See reviews for
152
132
44
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cordova, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We got lost!! It was on the hard side to find. The parking sucks, and that is all that is not good about this hotel.
The front desk staff are very nice and helpful. We got our room very fast, and we did call the front desk for directions to get there.
The room itself was very nice. A lot of room, and nice and quiet.
The bed was very nice and we both got a great nice sleep. We were a little worried when we were going up the elevator, and another guest said that the street side of the hotel was very noisey. Well we were on the street side and we did not hear the noise. Breakfast was nice and tastey. A lot of restaurants to choose from, so that is nice. It was all within walking distance, which was good, because again the parking was not fun. The traffic is terrible, and very hard to get around, but not the hotel's fault, and once inside you can walk to get around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear leahtots,
Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about your stay. We are glad you we could accommodate you on your trip. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your time. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerley,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Holiday Inn (Express) is my preferred choice and again I wasn't disappointed.

We've arrived before noon, but they've had a room ready for us immediately. We received information and tips for sightseeing in Philly. Generally all staff we've met were friendly and helpful.

The hotel is centrally located, we walked everywhere. The city hall was maybe a 5-minute walk and the historic area with the Bell of Liberty 8 blocks away (15-20 minutes walk).

Shops and dining options abound in the area and there is a convenience store right opposite.

The hotel has no gym, but we were given free passes every day to a very well equipped independent gym just around the corner.

The room (1715) was quite large, well equipped and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear bejo_hu,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about our hotel. We strive as hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. We will pass your comments on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing good comments. We appreciate your feedback. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Nice location,close to City Hall, and Jefferson Hospital, rooms were nice and clean. The breakfast leaves a little to be desired, but okay. We called to confirm our reservation before leaving our home. The reservation was made through hotels.com, and the hotel did not have our reservation. They called hotels.com and were able to straighten out everything very fast. Hotels.com had given Holiday Inn Express the wrong name and address for our reservation. So we were extremely happy that the front desk took their own time to fix things for us. Parking is $25 a day and the parking garage is directly at the entrance to the hotel and is a valet type. Although the garage is 5 floors, you leave your keys with them, so that they can move cars around to accomodate all of the vehicles. They really cram them in and fill up the entire garage every night.

Room Tip: AAA or AARP rates get you a cheaper rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Solojg24,

Thank you for providing us with this review. Thank you for allowing us to straighten out the issue with your check in. We apologize for the inconvenience. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Philadelphia. Thank you for all of your comments, and will pass them on to our staff. Thank you for your time. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a roomy hotel that is clean, new, and has a good free buffet in the morning. The front desk service was outstanding. Very close to restaurants. The wireless Internet connection was great. Very good help for any question.

Room Tip: All rooms are a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear mwood,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments, and will pass them on to our staff. We are glad that you enjoyed our amenities. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel was very good, had some confusions on checkin but the manager Audrey(?) came out and sorted everything out in a very polite and professional way. The room is very large could use some renovation but that is not saying that the room is dirty. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was good with large seating area. Housekeeping lady was real nice. The lady on checkout was a lil off from all the great service we've got but not terrible. Location is great, walked to the Liberty Bell safely (15-20mins). Walked down the road to some shops the next day aswell. Overall a very enjoyable stay&might be back this Dec!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear West_Coast22,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate hearing when they are doing a good job. We strive as a hotel to provide a clean, safe, and comfortable place to stay. Thank you for your time. Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad we could accommodate you, and your family. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel room was great - spacious with everything you need, while a little dated and stale in the air, I'm not really picky and it's perfect because you're not exactly shacking up in your room all day if you're visiting Philly. Great views, great location. The lobby was a disaster. It smelled like vomit when we checked in and it someone kept sprinkling that deodorizing powder on the carpets throughout our stay. They were also undergoing renovations, which was annoying but definitely necessary. It didn't ruin my trip because I'm a realistic traveler and the price, location and room fit my needs. Hopefully the renovations will have been completed and the lobby will have received a much-needed face lift before my next trip!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Jessica P,

Thank you so much for telling us about your stay with us. Thank you for all of your comments and concerns. Thank you for your concerns about the lobby. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We appreciate all guest feedback. It allows us to make the necessary changes to the hotel to make it better for you, and for future guests to the hotel. Thank you for bearing with us during the much needed renovation of the property. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown

Address: 1305-11 Walnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.