We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some glitches - read this review and avoid them!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Some glitches - read this review and avoid them!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

First things first - if you type 4010 City Avenue into your iPhone GPS you'll never find this place. If you come off of I-76 you want to turn left onto Presidential Blvd and then enter the CP parking lot to your right. There is actually a marker on the corner there that indicates a Presidential Blvd address, go figure. If you are coming down City Avenue "towards" I-76 you want to turn on the road between TD Bank and TGI Fridays. Hope that helps, because I was definitely lost even with the GPS!

Like a lot of Crowne Plaza's this place has a million dollar lobby. Nice bar, fixtures, nice place to lounge, etc. Check in was fast and friendly.

As a priority club member they did put me on the top floor and a king bed room. Exiting the elevator i had to smile a bit at the 70's green paint on the walls (different colors on either side of the hall) and the green carpet. If this is making a comeback put me in a coma and wake me up when it's over. But hey, the hallways aren't what we care about in a hotel anyway, right?

The room was smallish but comfortable. There was a small loveseat in the room as well. The big bonus was a nice flat screen TV, i didn't measure it but it had to be 36 inches, it was very nice feature. The shower and bath fixtures were a little older but worked fine and was no big deal.

At about $175/night I'd say this place is a bit overpriced but it was clean and it was comfortable. Parking was free. I'd recommend it as a decent place but definitely shop around for the best price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear cwbunger32,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. We strive to ensure all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased to know that you found our hotel clean and comfortable. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the location of our property and amenities. Rest assured that we take all comments and suggestions to heart so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    152
    87
    36
    24
See reviews for
111
68
51
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed two nights while visiting St. Joseph's University. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Good location. Clean and welcoming. Restaurant/bar in the hotel was fine and convenient. Beds were so comfortable!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royerford
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My son and his bride, booked a block of room for their guest to enjoy the wedding and the city of Philadelphia. The wedding was great. Sunday morning has my son was preparing to leave he came out to find his car had been robbed. Not only his car but the car of one of his bridal party wife's car as well. Personal items ,cash checkbook and garage door opener were stolen. Both cars were parked in the front of the hotel (first parking spot) within steps of the hotel entrance. The police were called and the hotel supervisor came out and wrote a report.It was said that this occurs frequently in this parking lot. You would think an up scale like the Crowne Plaza would have cameras or security if they know this is an on going situation. You would think they would value the safety of their guest and their belongings. The police officer also had no compassion. He made a comment that the checkbook is only worth ten dollars, never considering what the thieves could do with the checks. My opinion I would not stay at this hotel, why should you be worrying you entire stay if your car is safe or not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we truly understand your feelings and apologize for any issues that occurred in our parking lot. With the help of the Philadelphia Police Department we continue to investigate the occurrence to prevent this from ever happening again.

The Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West prides itself on providing a secure and safe environment for our guests and takes an aggressive stance against crime. The hotel has always and will continue to vigorously employ proactive security measures throughout the hotel for the benefit of all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I wanted to have a night in Philly and this wad one of the only hotels not booked up for the 4th of July. Other than the expensive taxi rides the hotels great and they have free shuttles that go untill 8pm, but they dont run long enough to go out late. Had fun and served its purpose, also nice pool and friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over the holiday weekend. I've stayed here before and was concerned about parking since the hotel shares a lot with TGI Friday's. But I had no problem with parking in front of the building during my stay. The room was clean and the staff was friendly. I ordered room service my first night and the food arrived in a timely manner. My only complaint is that I think that all the floors should have ice dispensers. The 3rd and 6th floors don't have one and my room was on the 6th. Inconvenient, but not a deal breaker.

Something I liked about the hotel was the restaurant campus nearby. Chipotle's, Pei Wei's and a couple of other restaurants are within walking distance. For me, that gives them the edge over the other Philadelphia hotel I've used.

Overall, a wonderful stay. I would definitely recommend the hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: 3rd and 6th floors don't have ice dispensers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Dc
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Booked this hotel through Hotwire, mainly due to free parking and rather close to Philly (about 15 minutes to downtown by car). It's right off I76 so it's very convenient if you are driving.

The bad: Parking lot is dimly lit, and cars tend to park in the front of hotel. The rear parking lot was mostly empty during out stay, and I parked in the rear lot directly under a light for security reasons. We stayed for two nights, and housekeeping did not clean our room after 1st night. I am ok with that if I was told(like timeshares do), but I wasn't. The lobby & hallway decor is dated and in serious needs of updates. You will need a car for this location to work for you.

The good: Check-in and check-out was fast & easy. Free parking & easy access to I76. 10 minutes to Manayunk, 15 minutes to downtown Philly, and right next to Fairmont Parks. Plenty of food choices: chain restaurants near by: Friday's, California Pizza Kitchen, Potbelly's. Manayunk has plenty of local options and bars available. The room and bed is comfortable, with a powerful A/C. Water pressure in the shower is great, and water is decently hot in the morning peak hours.

Will I stay here again? Hard to say. While parking is free, finding street parking in Philly can be difficult. If you park in private lots, it almost make it not worthwhile to stay at this location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Selion,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am glad to see that you left some feedback on what you liked as well as what fell below your expectations.

Whilst I am pleased with your good comments, I am disappointed to hear your troubles during your visit. I apologize for the inconvenience you had with our housekeeping services and deeply regret the issues you had in our parking area.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and will be used to reconsider improvements. We all hope that despite your dissatisfaction, you will give our hotel another try and allow us to make your stay the best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on business. Arrived around midnight, parked within full view of front door of hotel, left our surveying equipment in our car. We came out in the morning to a completely shattered rear window (used a crow bar apparently), with over $46,000 of equipment stolen. I called 911, local police number, still took almost 2 hours for a car to show up. The ONLY person who helped us at Crowne Plaza was Anthony, the security guy. He was genuinely wonderful and concerned, stayed with us the whole time until the police were finished. NO ONE ELSE WAS CONCERNED. I was told there were signs in the parking lot warning us about lack of security but there are NONE. The police officer who fingerprinted our car said activity is picking up in this area and couldn't believe there were NO SECURITY CAMERAS anywhere. We were not reimbursed by the hotel, ok fine, but when we had to extend our stay to get our car repaired, they wouldn't even give us a decent rate. Hotwire did. There were some other issues with the hotel itself but the main concern is the unsafe parking lot. There was another car broken into (shattered window too) the same night as ours. Just be sure to take everything out of your car if you stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPCA4100, Manager at Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we truly understand your feelings and apologize for any issues that occurred in our parking lot. With the help of the Philadelphia Police Department we continue to investigate the occurrence to prevent this from ever happening again.

The Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West prides itself on providing a secure and safe environment for our guests and takes an aggressive stance against crime. The hotel has always and will continue to vigorously employ proactive security measures throughout the hotel for the benefit of all guests.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West

Address: 4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Philadelphia - City Avenue Hotel, where travelers are sure to love our great location on City Avenue off I-76 and I-676, less than 15 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport (PHL) and just four miles from downtown Philly. Our hotel near the Main Line of Philadelphia offers leisure travelers easy access to many of the city's most popular attractions. Nature lovers can enjoy the great outdoors at one of the largest parks in the country, Fairmount Park, situated just one mile from our hotel. Our Philly accommodations are also near the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall, the Manayunk Historic District, the Wachovia Center, Penn's Landing and the Philadelphia Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.