We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean; nice location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
1 review
“Clean; nice location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

The location isn't bad...about ten minutes driving from south street. Free parking, and WiFi. The rooms are very clean. We paid about $170 a night for a king sized bed and fold out couch, although the standard king room is just as much money. There isn't a microwave or fridge, but there is a vanity, flat screen tv, and hair dryer. Pretty standard. We called and asked for toothpaste and about twenty minutes later we got a knock on the door. There was a very large man with a leather jacket on standing at my door and it wasn't until I opened it that the little room service guy appeared with my toothpaste. It seemed a bit excessive to need a security guard, but I guess it's better to be careful. We got a late check out of two pm which wasn't a problem and no extra cost. Breakfast buffet and room service, although we can't comment on either since we didn't do either. Comfy bed and nice little bathroom. It had a fan which is nice, but the lock didn't work. No big. Anyway, it was overall a very good experience. I wish it were a bit cheaper, but other than that I would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    152
    87
    36
    24
See reviews for
111
68
51
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from Friday-Sunday for the Philadelphia marathon. It was very nice and very clean. The front desk and the bell staff were excellent. When we needed cabs to get in to town, Jack took care of it and we did not have to worry at all that a cab would be waiting for us. Even at 5:00 am both Sunday and Monday. Enjoyed the marathon and visiting the city!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Traveling alone for the Philadelphia Marathon and could not be more pleased. Stayed on the "woman's floor" which was awesome with added amenities, extra security and couldn't be more comfortable and inviting. Jack the Bellman was just delightful and made my stay complete. He was helpful, reassuring and even hugged me after the race! What an asset he is to your establishment!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Its really not a bad hotel. Its got some good and bad points, but if you have a good rate i'd say go for it. Here's what I got:

Pro's: Good location in regards to downtown Philly, a quick drive to get to the city center. The front desk staff is very pleasant and personable to deal with. We asked for a mini-fridge and got it quickly. The maid staff were very sweet, always greeting you as you passed them, and they made up the room very well too! Comfortable beds, nice soft towels for the bathroom, great location next to a Target, Starbucks, Pot Belly, etc.. It was great to have control over the HVAC unit in our room, which has a digitalized thermostat and it worked great!

Con's: Parking is difficult on the weekends due to the hotel's parking lot adjacent to the TGI Fridays, which gets VERY busy. Good luck finding a spot after 6pm on a Friday or Saturday. The hotel really should consider figuring out how to enforce that its parking lot is for hotel guests only. The elevators are SLOW as molasses moving.

Mixed Feelings: The hotel rooms in general. You can tell that they are trying to keep up with modernizing the rooms, which is a good thing. Our room had a nice large king bed and the furnishings are more modern, but the wallpaper was already peeling off in several obvious sections of our room (and wallpaper, really?). The lighting is VERY poor in the entryway to the rooms (as evidenced by not only our room, but a few rooms we visited where friends were staying). There is actually no light in the entry way, which is where the closet is located. Its very difficult to see at all hours of the day in that area. because its just dark and quite drab. The hallways are also very, very dreary and humid (no good ventilation?) and could use some updating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I booked a 3-night stay following hurricane Sandy (we had no power or heat at our home). Major highlights - comfortable room and bed, mini fridge, microwave, free parking and wi-fi and conveniently located near Fridays, Target, Chipotle, Potbelly, Starbucks and a few other restaurants. I should also mention that we got a good price for the hotel off of hotwire!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from Thursday to Sunday as I was attending an event at this hotel on the Saturday and wanted to do some sightseeing beforehand.

Staff went out of their way to help me get my internet working as I did not have a clue that I had to turn the wi-fi button on... event called the IT guy who came up to my room to only slide the button on my laptop (of course I'm blonde).

Room service was excellent, food was good, room was very clean and bed was also really comfortable. Far from downtown Philadelphia but much cheaper.

Highly recommended if you expect to get for what you pay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here one night on a trip to visit the art museums. The hotel was a quick and scenic drive from the museums (that is, once we figured out which ramp took us across the river instead of to the highway). The hotel was very clean, had very friendly staff, offered parking (free), and served a great buffet breakfast (not free).

However, it was very loud at night and we barely slept. The hotel room doors allow a lot of sound in from the hall - we heard practically all hall traffic and slamming room doors all night long. What's worse, other guests were yelling in the halls and visiting between rooms. We were initially warned that there were several weddings or events that weekend, and when we checked out, we were told that many other guests also complained about the noise.

Not sure if we would stay here again -- if we do, we will request a "quiet floor" or an end room.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West

Address: 4010 City Avenue, Philadelphia, PA 19131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Philadelphia - City Avenue Hotel, where travelers are sure to love our great location on City Avenue off I-76 and I-676, less than 15 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport (PHL) and just four miles from downtown Philly. Our hotel near the Main Line of Philadelphia offers leisure travelers easy access to many of the city's most popular attractions. Nature lovers can enjoy the great outdoors at one of the largest parks in the country, Fairmount Park, situated just one mile from our hotel. Our Philly accommodations are also near the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall, the Manayunk Historic District, the Wachovia Center, Penn's Landing and the Philadelphia Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.