We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a few days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1776 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double HHonors Pts.
Ranked #50 of 83 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice place for a few days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for a few days to visit the museums. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The manager's cocktail hour was a nice way to catch our breath for a few minutes between sightseeing and dinner. It's not a high-end hotel but the location was great for the museums and downtown. I would definitely stay here again.
Breakfast was an exception. The flow of customers was not well planned. The food was decent but not sure it was worth it. That said, you can get breakfast at Starbuck's across the street or Subway.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    482
    281
    94
    70
See reviews for
435
220
65
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge U.K.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Very friendly front of house staff. Large apartments. Breakfast buffet and managers' reception both in the good tradition of Embassy Suites. Walking distance to art galleries etc. quite an old building but good value for city centre.

Green Features: Pretty standard. The usual stuff about towels etc.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location was very good. Right next to Franklin Institute. Rooms were good. There are only 3 elevators for 26 floors so getting in and out of hotel took longer than it should. The breakfast buffet was overcrowded and not maintained well.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesernie, Manager at Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Stephanie R, thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your most recent stay at the Embassy Suites Center City Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our supreme location with walkable attractions and restaurants in the area. We do have 3 elevators and when our hotel is sold out the wait time can be longer than normal. We are actively working on this area of opportunity for our guests to reduce the wait time. I would like to apologize for your breakfast experience during your stay. I have shared this valuable information with the restaurant manager so we can improve on our areas of opportunity. I would like to thank you again for choosing to stay at our hotel and look forward to you staying again in the near future.

James-Embassy Suites Center City Philadelphia, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a long weekend with 2 kids while visiting family nearby. Rooms are great setup for a family, with a large living area with pull out couch, plus a bedroom with a king bed. Room is a little dated and a tad bit worn, but clean and perfectly serviceable (especially for what you can expect for $200/night), and the balcony is a nice bonus. They throw in free breakfast at the TGIFriday's downstairs. Nice in concept, but we tried to get breakfast the first morning and it was so insanely crowded and understaffed we just walked around the corner to Starbucks instead, and gave up even trying every other morning. Nice to have breakfast included, but not if you have to wait for 20 minutes in line with a 3 yr old.

Most frustrating about this place--the elevator situation. The place hass 25+ floors, with only 3 very small, very slow elevators. There were a number of large groups of guests who liked to travel en masse (college gymnastics team, wedding guests, etc.), clogging up the elevator situation so badly, that 2 of our 3 mornings there, we waited 15+ minutes for an open elevator with no luck. They repeatedly arrived on our floor jam packed with people over and over again. Both of those mornings we ended up walking down 20 flights of stairs with a stroller and 2 young kids, rather than spend our entire morning waiting for an open elevator.

Would I stay here again? Perhaps--if the price was right and I didn't need to be anywhere in the morning. But on a business trip with the miserable elevator situation, never. I'd be late for every meeting!

Room Tip: If you are on a schedule, ask for a room on a lower floor and take the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesernie, Manager at Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Embassy Suites Center City Philadelphia. I am glad you enjoyed your guest suite during your long weekend in the city. I did read your comments about our elevators. Please except my apologize for your extend wait period trying to get an elevator. We are continuing to work on this area of opportunity to make it right for our guests. I would like to also let you know we will be doing a renovation on our property starting last quarter of the year. I encourage you to come back after the renovation is complete to see our improvements.

James-Embassy Suites Center City Philadelphia, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival, the front of the hotel was full of cars. Gabrielle(Valet) was professional & respectful. When we were checked in the front desk agent Kes was also kind, and helpful. Kudos to them both!!! Thank you!
Unfortunately our room was not up to par, we were unlucky in getting a room on a low floor on the busy side of the building. We were awaken by the noise pollution of the street. The bathroom door would not shut without a forceful push, and the elevators were terrible. I saw 3, but only 1 worked. The breakfast space was SO overcrowded, we just decided to eat elsewhere. Staff was great, but hotel needs major tweeks to make their guests comfortable! I would not stay there again.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamesernie, Manager at Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to recognize our team members. I do apologize if your experience was not a pleasurable one. Our goal is for our guests to have a great stay while in Philadelphia. I do understand how the city noise can be a disturbance if you are not use to hearing it all the time. We do have 3 elevators in the building and they can get very packed and wait time can be more than expected. We are continuing to work on this area of opportunity. The hotel will be going under renovation last quarter of this year. I encourage you to try our hotel again after the renovation to see the improvements for our guest. On a more positive note thank you for the kind words about our team especially Gabrielle and Kes they will be delighted to hear your comments. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

James-Embassy Suites Center City Philadelphia, Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From my room on the 25th floor, It seemed as though I could see for miles. The room was spacious and well equipped. The beds were extremely comfortable. The evening cocktail reception was a very nice added touch, as well. This hotel is in a great central location and within walking distance to nearly everything, including the train. Only negatives would be the couch could have used a cleaning and the balconies could have benefitted from some outdoor seating.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Embassy Suites Center City is not the newest or grandest hotel in Philadelphia, but it is a great choice for traveling families, especially those more than 2 kids who may have trouble getting everyone in one room in other hotels. Free full breakfast is a good value and nice time saver too.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City

Address: 1776 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#42 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite, full service hotel, TGI Friday's attached to hotel, guest laundry, fitness room, valet parking available. All suites have kitchenette area, balconies with sweeping views of the city, two televisions, two phones, living, dining, work areas, separate bedroom with choice of one king or two double bed. Queen size sleep sofa in living room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Philadelphia
Philadelphia Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Philadelphia - Center City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.